We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
53
35
9
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
35
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher and dryeran hourwildcat canyontennis courtsthe kitchensan diegoelectric grillsanta ysabelhorseback ridingbeautiful areaapple piebeautiful flowersreplace towelsshuffle boardlots of hiking trailslaundry basketgolf course
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 103 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2011

When we initially checked into our 1 bedroom "condo" it was a bottom floor and it had NO view and was down below a hill... it was dark and cave-like... I was extremely disappointed. I called the front desk and they told me it was all they had. I said that was unacceptable. They offered us a 2 bdrm for $50 more per night. There were only 2 of us... this was more than we needed and we did not want to pay and additional $100 when all we wanted was a room with a little sunlight and a bit of a view. (Mind you, I ASKED the gal at the counter when we check in and she said it would be fine... it wasn't.)

We told them we were going to leave to get something to eat and would be back... we gave them our cell numbers and said to call if they found something. While we were eating (at the Oaks Grill), they called. They found a 1 bdrm on the 2nd (top) floor, with a view! We were DELIGHTED!
This room was light and bright... it felt like we were in a tree house. The places are decently decorated, clean and comfortable. They get 2 thumbs up for solving our problem!!!

There are a ZILLION tennis courts (only a couple lighted) so if tennis is your think you will be delighted!
There is no restaurant on property.
The pool is small but clean.
The clubhouse has a LOT of activities.
(Kind of out of the way to have to check in to club house to get a key to go to pool and then trudge back up the stairs to return the key at the end.)
I called about horseback riding, they never called me back. They only had 1 hour rides - with helmets. We were MUCH happier with our horseback ride up in Julian!

We would stay at this place again if we knew we could get a great 2nd story room with a view!

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor with a view! (Avoid 1st floor)
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mazmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Words cannot describe San Diego Country Estates. We were throughly impressed with everything during our stay. I have to admit when you're driving to the Estate you tend to wonder if you have driven off the correct path. But once you get there, it is well worth the drive time. Our room was spacious and furnished with everything you could possibly need; right down to a ipod charger for our teenagers. Each bedroom was like a total suite. The website pictures of the pool and tennis courts does not do it justice. We would totally recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank almast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Off the beaten trail the location disappointed me at first. But the seculsion combined with lots of recreationl activities couldn't have been better to re-connect with our teenagers. The room was clean and well decorated', the beds comfortable. Took a nice day trip to the town of Julian where we ate some of their famous apple pie and visit to the gold mine. The only drawback about this place is that the front desk closes early for checkout/use of recreation facillies and checkout of movies. No restaurants nearby. Barona casino nearby..

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank habadia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We stayed one week in a two bdrm. two bath condo. It was huge, and the sofa pulled out into a bed as well. Fully equipped timeshare property. It is a great value for the So. Cal. area. Very clean, well equipped kitchen, great for traveling with kids that are always hungry! Beautiful grounds and area, extremely quiet. Just stop in at Albertson's on Main St. to stock up on groceries, etc. then head up about 15 minutes to the place. If you like the hustle and bustle of the big city, this is not the place, but if you don't mind a pleasant drive of about 35 minutes all is at your fingertips! I enjoyed the city but was happy to trek up the hill and have a peaceful cup of coffee in the morning on the patio. Just be careful at night, after you leave the city lights it is very dark on the way back! If you are tired you must be careful, not really a hassle driving back if you think about it, in the city it is no big deal to drive 30/40 to attractions, hotels, beaches, other beach towns etc.

Daily maid service was a surprise, most timeshares are once or twice weekly only. Full size washer/dryer another plus when travelling with kids, and no ton of dirty laundry when you get home. Over all it was a very nice stay, all employees and helpful, it is very clean and the grounds are well maintained. It isn't the Ritz, but it works for families and relaxation. I would go back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AZDiane78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

This older resort is very well maintained and the grounds are beautiful. The one bedroom one bathroom unit is large and ours was very clean. Full size washer and dryer for the in-room laundry. Floors creak so neighbours below may be disturbed. Yes, housekeeping comes in every single day! They want to ensure someone hasn't done something stupid that jeopardizes the property. The bed is extremely firm and sofa bed is no more comfortable. Internet: No in-room internet and the free lobby connection is only available from 8 AM to 8 PM when the lobby is open. We really hated not having the internet. We use internet to book tours, make restaurant reservations, check maps, distances, shopping hours, weather, etc. We also post holiday pictures and email family. My spouse is up early and likes to read the local news on the internet. Phone: Free local calls and each unit has its own phone number so no switchboard. The resort is only 40-50 minutes from San Diego, 30 minutes to Wild Animal Park, an hour to the coast but if you want to see everything, the narrow winding road in and out becomes VERY tiresome. Two casinos within 30 minutes of resort. I think this resort is better for people with families who want to sit by the pool and playground or people who golf. Otherwise, you are isolated by road, distance, time and NO internet.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews