We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“steak to die for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moon's

Moon's
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Quincy
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“steak to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

2nd time i've eaten here and i love it. My wife and i are on a 9 day motorcycle trip and our 1st nights stop is quincy. I was looking forward to a romantic delicous dinnr and Moon's was 1 of 3 dinners I was set on taking my wife to. We had the top sirloin steak, medium, and we were blown away. Honestly, this was 1 of the top 3 steaks I have ever eaten and I can't remember what the other 2 were. Hands down the best. Maybe we just got lucky on the cut, maybe I don't have much of a palate,maybe I don't eat out enough to be a food critic. Bottom line though, that piece of meat rocked! The potato, vegetables, salad, beer and cheesecake we had for dessert were fantastic too, but that steak......

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dave g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Moons- good food, good beer, reasonable prices, what's not to like?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We happened upon Moons while spending the night in Quincy, Ca. It's on a quiet street off the main drag, a great looking stone and plank front and an equally interesting interior. The bar area has a cool beam and plank look, pretty unusual. There is a roomy, breezy outdoor patio in the back where we chose to sit. The service was attentive and friendly, and the menu varied, offering something for everyone. My wife had a well prepared salmon dish and I opted for the Gourmet Pizza, which was great. The beer selection is pretty good and they have a nice regional wine selection. All in all, a great place to have good food in a nice, neighborly atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnP001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“6 of us all loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

It doesn't happen often where 6 go out to eat. There's usually something wrong. NOT HERE!
Outstanding food and service. We had the honey almond chicken, prime rib, salmon salad, and lasagne. All delivered hot and cooked to perfection.
We went back the next night and took our meals to go. Still yum!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PejotaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
1 review
“Small town, big taste!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We drove down here for dinner with our kids while vacationing in Lake Almanor. We arrived shortly after they opened and were seated quickly on the beautiful patio. Within a few minutes others had joined us outside and most of them seemed to be regulars who knew the staff and the owners were also walking around greeting people.

The garlic bread they brought was delicious and tasted homemade, after I finished the salad I ordered with my meal I used my leftover Italian dressing to dip the bread in, I'm pretty sure I could have just eaten that all night!

The kids shared a half plate of Fettuccine Alfredo and my husband had the Mushroom St. Thomas on a potato while I had their Honey Almond Chicken. It was all wonderful and we were all very happy with our selections. My husband had the beer on tap and I enjoyed a glass of Pinot to go with my dinner. Service was quick, the food was hot, the atmosphere was great.

We each tried different desserts- Chocolate torte, Carrot Cake and Avocado Cream pie- we all shared each others and couldn't decide who had the best! We will definitely be back on our next vacation out this way and have already recommend it to our family who also often vacation out that way!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaMPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved the Food, Service Friendly and Accommodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

There were two of us for dinner. My friend had the Honey Almond Chicken and enjoyed it immensely. I am on a special diet and they accommodated me with specially grilled chicken and steamed vegetables. It was all well prepared and tasty.

Helpful?
Thank SactoC70Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon's also viewed

Quincy, Plumas County
 
Quincy, Plumas County
Quincy, Plumas County
 
Quincy, Plumas County
 

Been to Moon's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing