We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is our beautiful home away from home.”
Review of Ada's Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quincy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ada's Place
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Quincy
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I initially went on business, and now go at least once a year..it is amazing! It is peaceful and beautiful! Every detail is taken care of from the time you are personally welcomed by Michael and Valerie.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie N, Owner at Ada's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you Alma! It will be so much fun to see all three of you again soon. Spring in the Sierra is calling you and we are too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 62 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was indeed our very good fortune to find Ada's Place on our trip to Quincy. Other reviewers speak of the decor and how immaculate the cottages are...so true!! We stayed in Ruth's Garden cottage, and our stay was simply delightful. We walked to town for dinner and became acquainted with a dear couple that has lived in town for 46 years. We ate dinner together, and then were invited to walk to their home with them to continue our visit. Okay, this is why we felt like we were in Mayberry RFD. The warmth of the people, and the quiet evenings are a treat so rare, we feel quite privileged to tuck these sweet memories into our hearts. We wish we could have chatted with the hosts longer - Mike and Valerie are wonderful!!! Thank you for sharing your treasure with us!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ondegoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie N, Owner at Ada's Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you! It is always a pleasure to meet adventurous souls like you both who clearly enjoying living and exploring our universe. So glad you enjoyed your stay and our sweet little community and we certainly do hope to see your smiling faces again.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We decided to visit Quincy because it was at a good elevation to do some hiking in the winter. We booked Ada"s Place based on Tripadvisor reviews, and found it to go beyond our expectations. We stayed at Hopsing"s cottage which was ideal for our family of 5. The cottage was immaculately clean, and well equipped with a lot of thought invested in meeting any requirements for an enjoyable holiday. The hosts were charming, friendly and welcoming...... especially when we encountered some problems on a road with snow and ice which made our trip both adventurous and memorable! The cottage rates were very reasonable, and the accessability to the town was perfect.
As to the town of Quincy.....what a wonderful find! From the organic produce store, to the cafes, the ideal wool shop and finally to the modern Drunk Bush wine bar ( a taste of a city wine bar) We were impressed by all.
So many times we were asked "What brings you folks to Quincy?" Well, we can attest to it being a great place to visit, with beautiful scenery, great atmosphere and a community of helpful and welcoming people, where being friendly to others is put first. And when in Quincy, Ada's Place is top of the list for accommodation.
I give Ada"s Place a top rating. We will return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank labolsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie N, Owner at Ada's Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

HI Hillary,

Thank you for the wonderful review of Ada's Place and our sweet little community. It was great to have you and your family join us for some winter adventures. I hope to see you all again in warmer times and to take you hiking around our beautiful area. Happy new years wishes to you all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had to stay overnight in Quincy for work. Ada's was recommended to me by a colleague in Plumas County. I stayed in Ruth's Garden cabin. What a sweet place. The decor was perfect for the setting. The room had everything I would have needed (other than food) to prepare full meals. I wish I would have planned ahead. I will definatly return to Ada's with my family. Next time fun, not work :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank micki r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie N, Owner at Ada's Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Hi Micki,

Thanks for the thoughtful review! I hope to meet you and your family when you come back to play and not work. Happy holidays to you and those you love too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Visiting relatives in CA - my wife and I were on a weeklong tour to Yosemite, returning through Plumas county to see the autumn foliage.
On the Plumas County homepage we had seen several photoes posted by "Ada's Place" - so we decided to stay the night in Quincy and look up this "Ada's Place".
We now can recommend this place to anyone visiting this area ! !
Very nice place - beautiful cottage with everything you might possibly need.
The bathroom seemed to be ABSOLUTELY brand newly refurbished.
Most velcoming host, and very nice and quiet neighbourhood.
For breakfast we can equally recomment the COURTYARD CAFE - just a few 100 meters down the road.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erikdk9940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie N, Owner at Ada's Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

The absolute best part of owning a small lodging business is that we get to meet people like you who enjoy our beautiful seasons in the Sierra and staying with us while doing it! Thank you for your thoughtful review and we hope you get a chance to come back and visit. I am going to share your very nice comments about the Courthouse Cafe with them so they can start the day with a smile too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My knitting group gets together in Quincy, CA each fall. This is the second time I've had the pleasure of staying at Ada's Place. I have stayed in two of their four cabins and loved both. Felt at home from the moment I stepped in the door and put down my bag. You won't go wrong if you make this your home base while you enjoy beautiful Plumas County. They don't have a pool, but the gardens are lovely and there isn't a fitness center, but you can make that up by walking around and enjoying the town.

Room Tip: The cabin descriptions and pictures shown on their website are very accurate. Hop Sing is the large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie N, Owner at Ada's Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you Virginia for the lovely review. It is wonderful to see your smiling face and know that you are coming to town to do something you love to do...knit with extraordinarily talented Medrith at the Wool Room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Perfect location, very clean and reasonably priced. We stayed for almost a week renting both "Ruth's Garden"and "The West Wing" which connect to form a large space perfect for our family. The owners are very responsive and pleasant. We will definatley stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewHampshireDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie N, Owner at Ada's Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you Scott for taking the time to post a review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your sweet family of charming "girls" who came to visit your boyhood home and wonderful grandparents. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
24.3 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spanish Creek Motel
Spanish Creek Motel
#5 of 7 in Quincy
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Greenhorn Creek Guest Ranch
Show Prices

Been to Ada's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ada's Place

Address: 562 Jackson St, Quincy, CA 95971-9747
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Quincy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Quincy
Price Range: $100 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four, fully furnished, motel cottages provide a lovely, garden level alternative to traditional hotels, motels and B&B's in wonderful Quincy, California. Our mission at Ada's Place is to provide you with a peaceful and beautiful place to stay while visiting Quincy and enjoying the wonders of nature, visiting your families or just resting your own soul. The cottages are the perfect place to stay, right in the historic downtown area, and ideal for the business or vacationing traveler. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ada`s Place Hotel Quincy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing