We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ada's Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quincy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ada's Place
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Quincy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Way better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Made the reservation at the last minute for baseball playoffs. Owners are very friendly. Room felt like being at home. Not at all what we thought we getting, but WAY better.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jhb121299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie N, Owner at Ada's Place, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Some days are filled with luck and we were also lucky you found us! It is wonderful when guest appreciate our cottages and the effort it takes to keep them special. Thanks for taking the time to post a review and good luck with your "baseball star".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
23
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taylorsville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Ada's Place is a one of a kind treasure. Each little cottage has such a feeling of home. You feel like you are someone's special guest, like a long lost friend that's being spoiled with love. But not only are the cottages delightful, it's the gardens that really strike my fancy. Mike and Valerie Nellor are true gardeners and lovers of nature. There are little "nooks and crannies" filled with flowers, bubbling waters, a calming pond and peaceful spots just to sit and relax. If you want to get away and really feel like someone special, Ada's Place is the place to stay!

Room Tip: I think my favorite cottage is a tie between Ada's and Hopsings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trillium50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie N, Owner at Ada's Place, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you! It was a pleasure to have your family stay with us during a very special moment, your sons graduation. Having guests like you, who notice and appreciate the "details" around the cottages makes it all worthwhile. Thanks again for sharing your in sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Ada's Place is warm and inviting from the moment you walk into the "house/office" where you are greeted as if you were walking into the home of a friend. Each cottage is unique, peaceful and tastefully decorated. Equipped with every essential and comfort, Ada's is in the heart of Quincy, the gem of Plumas National Forest in Northern California.

Room Tip: just ask, all are unique, private and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLM-Madam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Beautiful gardens, immaculately maintained, super hosts would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

The cabins are squeaky clean complete with everything one might want. The owners are always right there to help also. The gardens and fountains are relaxing...and ditto for the outside rocking chairs.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knittinggrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Sobrante, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Great cottage, town with awesome restaurants a block away, genuine good people running the place and wow there's a washing machine and dryer in our little house...what more could a motorcycle touring couple want? Wifi works great, everything is clean, price is reasonable for what you get. Book now...because the place is almost always full.

Room Tip: Book early and you might get a choice of cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catmacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

How'd I end up in Quincy? I guess it was fate.

Looking forward to a solo motorcycle ride up the Feather River canyon, a quiet night and an early ride back home, I started with my usual tools...Google maps and Trip Advisor.

Quincy seemed like the logical choice and the rave reviews written about Ada's Place clinched the deal. But could the place possibly be as good as the reviews?

Bottom-line the reviews are spot on. Not only did I stay an extra night, but I've booked 4 additional nights in September with my wife.

Quincy, like most small towns in the "timber belt", has been hit hard over the years, toss in the recession and the results are easy to see. I did find dining opportunities better than I expected however. The region is ripe with great motorcycle roads, rivers, hiking opportunities and friendly locals. The town I found charming, sort of Mayberry RFD like.

I was pleased to have spent a bit of time with the owners of the inn, Mike and Valerie who added greatly to my enjoyable stay. Ada's Place is a labor of love for them and it shows at every turn. I easily give them my highest Trip Advisor rating to date.

Lastly, Moon Cafe recently reopened which was most fortunate for me. Julie and her charming staff do a fine job serving a creative menu. The locals seem to agree so you might want to call ahead.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EFW333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ada's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ada's Place

Property: Ada's Place
Address: 562 Jackson St, Quincy, CA 95971-9747
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Quincy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Quincy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four, fully furnished, motel cottages provide a lovely, garden level alternative to traditional hotels, motels and B&B's in wonderful Quincy, California. Our mission at Ada's Place is to provide you with a peaceful and beautiful place to stay while visiting Quincy and enjoying the wonders of nature, visiting your families or just resting your own soul. The cottages are the perfect place to stay, right in the historic downtown area, and ideal for the business or vacationing traveler. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ada`s Place Hotel Quincy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing