We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not so old”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Poway Park

Old Poway Park
Ranked #2 of 22 things to do in Poway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Poway, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“not so old”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

this is a great park. It has a working train that gives train rides on saturdays and a farmers market on saturdays. We love to ride our bikes to the park and eat at the hamberger factory!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    23
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Poway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Country Wedding in the Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Last summer I attended a country-themed wedding held at Old Poway Park. The grounds were beautifully kept and the staff of the Park was extremely helpful. The trains with the small depot added the old time feel and the big oaks and creek added the country element.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Take the family to Old Poway Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Old Poway Park is an excellent place to take the family for a picnic & BBQ The setting is very serene,shaded by several old oak trees

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank larry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park, arrive early for picnic spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a beautiful park! This is a great place for picnics and birthday parties. What is lost by the lack of playground is made up by the railroad that operates on the weekends (see separate review). I live around the corner, and everytime I walk through the park I see families and high school seniors taking photographs. In the fall, you can easily count a dozen such groups on any given weekend.

Picnic areas are enclosed by trees and fences, making it good for little kids - they won't easily run out into the street.

Come early for a good spot. The best ones are snagged during the spring, summer, and fall seasons typically before 9 or 10 am. The larger picnic areas can easily accommodate 4-6 families.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank uclalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ride the train”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

What a charming park. There is a small open air train ride that the kids (and we) were excited about riding. There was a small fee, the conductor was very nice and we stopped to chat with workers inside the station where the large locomotive was. The day was beautiful. Highly recommend this very low key attraction.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dixie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Poway Park also viewed

 

Been to Old Poway Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing