We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poway
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Let's face it folks. It's an older 2 star hotel. The walls are thin. The outside balcony to the rooms sounds like rolling thunder. The continental breakfast has powdered eggs. What do you expect for $79? It's reasonably clean and the staff is polite. Avoid the street noise with a room in the back.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaCruzPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review of our property. Your satisfaction is very important to us. Sharing your opinion on the cleanliness of our hotel and the friendly service of our employees give us a great feeling that we are doing something right. I am sorry that you are not 100 percent satisfied on some areas of our hotel. We do appreciate your comments and hope that we can serve you again in the near future.

Thank you again.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    47
    37
    30
    14
See reviews for
62
36
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I needed to be in Poway for some family stuff. But I also needed do get some significant amounts of work done right before the holidays. I booked this hotel hoping for a quiet place where I could work and sleep undisturbed for a few days. Staff was friendly and very accommodating. My room was inexpensive and clean. Bed was fine (I'm a little picky about old beds in hotels). I appeared to have a router in my room, and I never got kicked off the internet like in some hotels. A bit of a walk to the nearest restaurant. But the weather's great and you need some sun and some exercise anyway, don't you?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are glad that you have a positive experienced with us. That tells us that we are delivering a good product to our customers.
You are one of those that expressed their satisfaction by sharing it to other people .
Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We would have appreciated the TRUE cost per night. We were quoted one price then an additional fee was added to our bill. The check-out lady, on their staff, needs an attitude adjustment. The cleaning lady was friendly and she did a nice job cleaning our room during our four-night stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to appreciate you taking some time in reviewing our hotel. We also thank you for giving us your feedback and concerns as well. We apologize for the inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay. Please know that these issues will be brought up to our staff so they can be fixed immediately. Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel and we hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Excellent service, excellent room and beds. Very clean. We were very pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room. Quality of beds and excellent helpful staff. Rooms are not large but everything works and the whole property is very well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Plus Poway. We are so ecstatic to hear that we were able to provide “excellent service, excellent rooms and beds.” We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service and well maintained rooms and are glad we were able to accomplish just that. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to review the Best Western Plus Poway. We hope to see you during your next visit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valley village, ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed overnight here for a cycling event. The rooms were neat and clean with TV, microwave, refrigerator and WiFi. The staff was very helpful in extending our checkout time so that we could shower after our event. The complimentary breakfast was small but satisfied our needs. This hotel met all of our requirements and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Plus Poway. We are so happy to hear that our rooms were “neat and clean.”We are also happy that you took notice of all the amenities that we have to offer in our guestrooms. We strive to work hard in providing well maintained guestrooms and are glad you took notice of that. We are also delighted to hear that we were able to accommodate you as best as possible during your stay in San Diego. Thank you again for reviewing the Best Western Plus Poway. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Motel was a little difficult to find and not as close to the ocean as I had anticipated. Breakfast was nice and included sausage, boiled eggs, choice of cereals, juice, as well as the usual waffles.. Bed was comfortable. Staff was adequate. Main concern was the mildew or mold smell coming from the bathroom area. . I had to shut the door to the bathroom and poke my nose under the sheet to get to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and concerns as it is invaluable to us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe breakfast. We are also delighted to hear that the beds at our hotel are comfortable. We do apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay. Please know that our staff will be notified about this issue immediately and therefore get taken care of. Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuma, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for the feel of being at home. The rooms are very nice and has a real nice court yard with a well maintained pool and spa. The staff goes out of there way to make your stay a pleasant experence

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Plus Poway. We are so happy to hear that we are a “great value” hotel. We are also delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience at our hotel. We strive to work hard in proving exceptional quality and making all our guests feel right at home so we are delighted to hear that we were able to do just that. Thank you again for reviewing the Best Western Plus Poway. We appreciate you staying with us and hope that that we will see you soon during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poway
1.8 mi away
Ramada Poway
Ramada Poway
#3 of 3 in Poway
310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
6.7 mi away
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
20.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel

Property: Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel
Address: 13845 Poway Rd, Poway, CA 92064-4805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Poway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel
Poway Best Western
Poway Country Inn
Best Western Poway
Country Inn Poway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing