We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, for a Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poway
Arnold, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty good, for a Best Western”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The room was clean, the staff was friendly. The breakfast was OK. The bed was comfortable, if the bedspread was a little worn (cigarette burn). Poor reception on the TV. The fridge and microwave were definite pluses. The electrical outlets were so worn that there were few that would actually hold a plug in them (they would always drop out). But the biggest problem was the noise - the walls and ceiling are thin - you can hear everything. Footsteps clomping around in the second floor were especially loud, as were the car noises from the parking lot. Location was pretty far from the center and not convenient to public transport (except for buses), though there is a single express bus in the morning to the center not far from the hotel.

Room Tip: I'd suggest a second floor room if you could.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strouthesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you very much for a nice review about your experienced with our hotel. I will check some of the issues and i will make that this will be corrected.We appreciate you letting us know about the deficiency and will help us provide a better service to our next guest.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    47
    38
    32
    15
See reviews for
64
36
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2013

One of the best places to stay in Poway/San Diego. I love how this hotel is so close but yet far enough away from the big city action. Downtown San Diego and the beaches are just minutes away. Easy freeway access. IF you are going to be vacationing in San Diego, Best Western Poway is the place to stay. Clean rooms, very, very comfortable beds, refrigerator, wifi access, in room safe large bathroom and the breakfast is AMAZING!! Cant wait to book my next trip out to California!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerly,
Imelda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at the BW+ in Poway. Both times we were impressed by the friendliness of the staff. The room was nice, not the Ritz, but very clean and comfortable, with free WiFi that actually WORKED! Fridge, microwave, big screen TV. The included breakfast had hot and cold cereal, scrambled eggs and sausages, Belgian waffles, toast, donuts, muffins, coffee, juices, etc. One of the better offerings we've encountered.

Room Tip: All seem to be good. We were in the back last year, and the front this year. Both were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryTimes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you very much for a wonderful feedback on our services. I hope that You won't get tired on repeatedly appreciating our property. We look forward on seeing you again next Visit. Have a wonderful Holidays.

Sincerely
Imelda Horning
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I called late at night last minute for a room after a night out and a long drive home. The reception desk was very friendly and helpful. We got our room right away, and I was blown away by it. Felt like I was at a Marriott. Bedding was nice and plush, no ugly "hotel" comforter on it. Refrigerator with separate freezer, coffee maker and microwave, and a flat screen TV. Needless to say it was very nice and comfortable.
In the morning they had a breakfast, but I did not partake (slept too late). I loved it. I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Room 115 king size bed! Awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Raelyn0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank You very much for your recent feedback about your wonderful experince at our hotel.Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Sincerely,
Imelda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Old motel badly needs updating. The breakfast was adequate and clean, the employees friendly, but for walkways have multiple drops and unexpected steps that require attention at all times. My husband fixed the toilet twice during our three day stay. Our room was very small and cramped, and room clean up came after noon. Next time I will search for another hotel in this area.

Room Tip: The cheapest rate is on the second floor, stairs only, so if someone wants the lower level, be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sixty60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you very for your survey. Your comments means a lot to us. I am sorry that you have some issues during your stay at our property. I hoped that you let us know while you were still in the hotel so you did not have to fix the toilet problem. We were more than happy to help you.
Thank you very much for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We really liked the location of this hotel as there was great restaurants, shopping, movies, and grocery stores all within walking distance. Close by there is golfing, hiking, and many other outdoor activities. Older hotel but staff was very nice, outside seating and pool area clean and breakfast area was clean and well attended.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms, one in the front and one in the back and both were quiet. Parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunbird81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a good review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us even though it's far from the main city of San Diego. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poway
1.8 mi away
Ramada Poway
Ramada Poway
#3 of 3 in Poway
315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
3.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
5.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel

Property: Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel
Address: 13845 Poway Rd, Poway, CA 92064-4805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Poway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel
Poway Best Western
Poway Country Inn
Best Western Poway
Country Inn Poway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing