We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poway
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at the BW+ in Poway. Both times we were impressed by the friendliness of the staff. The room was nice, not the Ritz, but very clean and comfortable, with free WiFi that actually WORKED! Fridge, microwave, big screen TV. The included breakfast had hot and cold cereal, scrambled eggs and sausages, Belgian waffles, toast, donuts, muffins, coffee, juices, etc. One of the better offerings we've encountered.

Room Tip: All seem to be good. We were in the back last year, and the front this year. Both were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryTimes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you very much for a wonderful feedback on our services. I hope that You won't get tired on repeatedly appreciating our property. We look forward on seeing you again next Visit. Have a wonderful Holidays.

Sincerely
Imelda Horning
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 204 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

I called late at night last minute for a room after a night out and a long drive home. The reception desk was very friendly and helpful. We got our room right away, and I was blown away by it. Felt like I was at a Marriott. Bedding was nice and plush, no ugly "hotel" comforter on it. Refrigerator with separate freezer, coffee maker and microwave, and a flat screen TV. Needless to say it was very nice and comfortable.
In the morning they had a breakfast, but I did not partake (slept too late). I loved it. I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Room 115 king size bed! Awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Raelyn0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank You very much for your recent feedback about your wonderful experince at our hotel.Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Sincerely,
Imelda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JasonSD12, Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Old motel badly needs updating. The breakfast was adequate and clean, the employees friendly, but for walkways have multiple drops and unexpected steps that require attention at all times. My husband fixed the toilet twice during our three day stay. Our room was very small and cramped, and room clean up came after noon. Next time I will search for another hotel in this area.

Room Tip: The cheapest rate is on the second floor, stairs only, so if someone wants the lower level, be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixty60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you very for your survey. Your comments means a lot to us. I am sorry that you have some issues during your stay at our property. I hoped that you let us know while you were still in the hotel so you did not have to fix the toilet problem. We were more than happy to help you.
Thank you very much for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We really liked the location of this hotel as there was great restaurants, shopping, movies, and grocery stores all within walking distance. Close by there is golfing, hiking, and many other outdoor activities. Older hotel but staff was very nice, outside seating and pool area clean and breakfast area was clean and well attended.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms, one in the front and one in the back and both were quiet. Parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunbird81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a good review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us even though it's far from the main city of San Diego. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel itself is nice. It is a very well maintained older hotel that has been refurbished somewhat. The room was clean and the king size bed was comfortable with linens that did not feel cheap. All the basic necessities you would want to have in your room where there and of nice quality, the only exception for my room being the shower head which was some fancy goose neck that was impossible to move around without spraying water everywhere. Like many hotels the bathroom was small, which isnt really a bad thing but in this case the slightest turn of the shower head would cause water to bounce off the walls. The floor was soaked after each shower. This was the only item I disliked about the rooms. I had some people in the room next to mine but I never heard them or their tv, only them coming and going when their door would shut. Usually the walls are quite thin in these older hotels but that wasnt the case here.

The hotel grounds were clean and parking was plentiful. A free breakfast was served each day which was of ok quality. Warmed up sausages and pre fab scrambled eggs along with waffles and bread choices. I wasnt crazy about the breakfast but you could pay for worse and it seemed like a popular part of the hotel. It went from one person to a packed house from 7 to 730 am. The clientele while I was there was a mix of families, bikers and solo travelers. A pool and jacuzzi were availible. There was also a nice patio area on the second floor by the pool area which would be a nice place for families or groups to sit, eat and relax.

The hotel was near a car dealership and mini mall. It is near the east end of Poway and it seems mostly a residential area the further east you go. The location again is on the far east end of Poway. The next farther place you could stay away from San Diego would be in Ramona. To have the words San Diego in any part of the hotel name is misleading. It would be understandable if the hotel was along the interstate but it is several miles off the interstate and the end of town beyond numerous stop lights. The 30 minute time to San Diego mentioned by others is very generous. It would take at least 15 min from the interstate to the hotel and if the I-15 was backed up then you can add another half hour easily to your transportation time.

If driving distance or time isnt a big concern, its worth a visit if you can get a good rate like the $60 rate mentioned in another review. Anything over 80 and you could find just as good closer to San Diego but all in all you would not regret visiting Poway.

Room Tip: Did not think traffic on the road was a big deal but there is more parking on the rooms away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bliss_Blister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I was very tentative about staying here at first with all the negative reviews, but honestly it was not bad. The room were quite good for the price. It was not a five star resort, but the rooms were clean and the room was nice. I would suggest it to anyone who wants a cost effective bit nice room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RacerDad0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poway
1.8 mi away
Ramada Poway
Ramada Poway
#3 of 3 in Poway
321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
5.5 mi away
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
6.7 mi away
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel

Address: 13845 Poway Rd, Poway, CA 92064-4805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Poway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poway
Price Range: $84 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel
Poway Best Western
Poway Country Inn
Best Western Poway
Country Inn Poway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing