We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Far from San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poway
New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Far from San Diego”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel itself is nice. It is a very well maintained older hotel that has been refurbished somewhat. The room was clean and the king size bed was comfortable with linens that did not feel cheap. All the basic necessities you would want to have in your room where there and of nice quality, the only exception for my room being the shower head which was some fancy goose neck that was impossible to move around without spraying water everywhere. Like many hotels the bathroom was small, which isnt really a bad thing but in this case the slightest turn of the shower head would cause water to bounce off the walls. The floor was soaked after each shower. This was the only item I disliked about the rooms. I had some people in the room next to mine but I never heard them or their tv, only them coming and going when their door would shut. Usually the walls are quite thin in these older hotels but that wasnt the case here.

The hotel grounds were clean and parking was plentiful. A free breakfast was served each day which was of ok quality. Warmed up sausages and pre fab scrambled eggs along with waffles and bread choices. I wasnt crazy about the breakfast but you could pay for worse and it seemed like a popular part of the hotel. It went from one person to a packed house from 7 to 730 am. The clientele while I was there was a mix of families, bikers and solo travelers. A pool and jacuzzi were availible. There was also a nice patio area on the second floor by the pool area which would be a nice place for families or groups to sit, eat and relax.

The hotel was near a car dealership and mini mall. It is near the east end of Poway and it seems mostly a residential area the further east you go. The location again is on the far east end of Poway. The next farther place you could stay away from San Diego would be in Ramona. To have the words San Diego in any part of the hotel name is misleading. It would be understandable if the hotel was along the interstate but it is several miles off the interstate and the end of town beyond numerous stop lights. The 30 minute time to San Diego mentioned by others is very generous. It would take at least 15 min from the interstate to the hotel and if the I-15 was backed up then you can add another half hour easily to your transportation time.

If driving distance or time isnt a big concern, its worth a visit if you can get a good rate like the $60 rate mentioned in another review. Anything over 80 and you could find just as good closer to San Diego but all in all you would not regret visiting Poway.

Room Tip: Did not think traffic on the road was a big deal but there is more parking on the rooms away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bliss_Blister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    47
    37
    29
    14
See reviews for
61
36
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I was very tentative about staying here at first with all the negative reviews, but honestly it was not bad. The room were quite good for the price. It was not a five star resort, but the rooms were clean and the room was nice. I would suggest it to anyone who wants a cost effective bit nice room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RacerDad0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great value for your Best Western dollar! Rooms exceptionally clean and modern, bed so comfortable I want to take it home. Full breaksfast in the morning included. They accommodated us for two rooms on a Friday last minute. Fantastic value and close to San Diego attractions too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishwine707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We found a great rate, about 60$ per night with breakfast. It's about 30min driving from San Diego. Excellent for the price and if you want to avoid the traffic of the city. In less than 30mins you are in downtown San Diego. Breakfast is good, you can find eggs and sausages, yougurt, pancake, butter, jam, coffee, tea, juices, muffins. It worth a visit. Only bad thing they charge extra 1$ per day for the use of the safety box that was actually broken, but we didn't complain with the reception, they'd have probably fixed it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJAX78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thank you very much for the the nice review of our hotel, We appreciate your feedback and we hope that we will have another chance to serve you next time you're in town.
Please feel free to call me if I can be of help in your future trip to Poway.

Sincerely,
Imelda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Don't you hate bleeding-heart reviews written by people with chips on their shoulders? This is not one of those reviews. I'm going to tell you how this hotel REALLY was (and using correct grammar and spelling, too)! And no, I do NOT work at the hotel.

My family and I enjoyed this hotel very much!

The Beds:
Very comfortable! You know how you go to hotels and your back hurts when you wake up? Not at this place! We woke up feeling refreshed, which is more than we can say about our bed at home, even.

Cleanliness/Appearance:
The hotel room was clean, and the grounds were well kept. The fixtures in the room were up-to-date and operational. The fridge, microwave and TV were all from this century as well. They even looked nice.

Bathrooms:
I have not seen many hotel bathrooms that looked this nice. The shower fixtures looked brand new, and were quite nice. Above all, they WORKED. I'm 6'1'', and I've seen shower heads that are not made for taller people. This one was perfect for me, no crouching. Water pressure and temperature were perfect. The only wanting item was a [very] low-flow toilet. Two flushes for a "twosie!"

Front Desk:
Very helpful, professional and conscientious. A class act!

Housekeeping:
Did great. Room tidied up and no items missing.

Area:
Poway is about 30 minutes from San Diego, and you'll save a ton of money staying at this place. You have easy access to the city and surrounding area. There are a lot of neat independent restaurants around the hotel too, if you're tired of McDonald's. The neighborhood appears to be safe.

Pool:
We did not use the pool because it was May and we didn't want Hypothermia. However, I glanced at the pool and it looked very clean and updated. There was a small hot tub that looked nice as well, and I did hear people enjoying it one evening.

Breakfast:
The daily breakfast was nice. Waffle iron, eggs, sausage, toast, fruit, yogurt, etc. Plenty of drink selection. We stayed three days, so on the last day I was growing a bit tired of the same spread every day, but at least this hotel didn't push out a few stale bagels and call it a 'breakfast.' This was very nice.

Also:
The hotel was undergoing renovation while we were there, right above our room as a matter of fact. The workers were very quiet and courteous to the guests. No banging or crazy noises at weird hours. The work was totally transparent.

I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Diego (or even God-forsaken Los Angeles) who doesn't mind driving a bit. This was a very nice hotel that had their stuff together. There are hotels in San Diego charging much more and providing a lot less. Check this place out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back end of the property, through the tunnel (yeah). The parking is a lot les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oklesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Oklesh,
Thank you very much for the most wonderful review you have given us.
Most of all, thank you for taking a lot of time expressing the value of our service you recieved from us. Now a days, not a lot of people will spend the time to write and share their positive experience.
So The staff and I would like to thank you very much and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Imelda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed two nights and only for sleeping. Bed is amazingly comfortable with nice pillows. Room had a musty smell that needed airing out each time we went in. Bathroom was very good size and very clean. Front desk people were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was typical and adequate to avoid having to stop in the morning and look for a place to eat. Scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, husband said coffee was instant which he didn't care for. Yogurt, cereal, juice - all typical OK fare. Room was decent size. Much of the facility is being renovated so don't know what it will be like then. We needed a clean place to sleep for two nights with breakfast if we wanted it. Didn't check out the pool. . Had to keep windows closed as street is noisy but rooms in the back were not available to avoid the noise. With windows closed, no problem. All in all OK for what we wanted.

Room Tip: Rooms in back, when renovated, will allow windows to be left open for ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imtonif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 858-748-6320

Thank You,
Imelda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2012

From reading the previous reviews, I expected this Best Western to be awesome. In reality, is was just average. I must say that the service was above-average and the women at the front desk were all very pleasant.
However, the facility is antiquated and there was a musky smell in my room and in the lobbby. The breafst was sub-par for a Best Western as the eggs were the powdered- kind and the sausages were disgusting (fatty and oily). The best part of breakfast was the freshly made waffle.
If you choose to stay here, I would suggest requesting a room in the back, not facing the front as it was very noisy.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back of the hotel facing away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENIZ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonSD12, General Manager at Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you very much for writing the review. To hear about your unpleasant stay is very upsetting to us. Sorry that you were not happy with our breakfast. Our eggs are not powdered. I'ts frozen pre- scrambled eggs. As far as the suasages, they are not low calorie breakfast items . We are sorry that you found them fatty. Majority of our guest enjoyed our breakfast because for such a small property we offer a full breakfast with out charge.


We thank you very much for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poway
1.8 mi away
Ramada Poway
Ramada Poway
#3 of 3 in Poway
304 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
6.7 mi away
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
5.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel

Property: Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel
Address: 13845 Poway Rd, Poway, CA 92064-4805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Poway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Hotel
Poway Best Western
Poway Country Inn
Best Western Poway
Country Inn Poway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing