We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haugastol, the Perfect Place to Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haugastol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haugastol Turistsenter
Ranked #1 of 1 Haugastol B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kingussie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Haugastol, the Perfect Place to Holiday”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our fifth stay as a group at Haugastol for a week of ski touring for a school group from Scotland. As ever our hosts Terje and Eldbjorg went out of their way to make sure this was a great success and all 15 of us could not have had a better time. The accommodation and food were first class and the facilities made available were amazing. Our hosts showed their usual initiative in anticipating our sometimes difficult requirements but they never failed us once. We had few other guests around which helped, as did the perfect weather after Easter. But we've been there when conditions outside were bad and we still enjoyed a very full week of outdoor teaching, thanks to the kind consideration of the family who run it so well.

Room Tip: Those facing the lake are obviously more scenic but all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
13
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice location, nice rooms with a beautiful view (2nd floor, apartment type B), good food and atmosphere. Perfect if you plan to go kiting somewhere in the Hardangervidda or if you need a place to stay before cycling Rallarvegen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank zlappfrozk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjørn K, Manager at Haugastol Turistsenter, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi!

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review!
We are all pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Haugastøl!

Hope to see you here again, and don't hesitate to call us or email us if you have any questions!

Thanks again from all the staff at Haugastøl!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

It was beautiful landscape, but the food was pretty lousy. Iam not difficult when it comes to food, but to be honest the only thing I truly enjoyed was my bottle of coke. Breakfast was much better.
Another annoying matter was an ongoing party with a bunch of drunk people having some kind of party till 3 AM right next to our room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steffen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bkaupang, Owner at Haugastol Turistsenter, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hi Steffen!

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review and telling other travelers about your experience in Haugastøl. We really work hard to give all our guests a great experience. Average is not good enough.
I am sorry if you had a bad night sleep. I have been working the night shifts myself the last 4 weeks, and if you would have told me about the noise in your room I would have had the possibility to fix this. But again, very sorry if you didn't have a good night sleep.

Regarding our food, we always appreciate all the feedback we can get. And we I am sorry it didn't meet your expectations. But that being said, the number one reason for the high amount of returning guest is our food. So from all the feedback we get from our guests (and reviews here) we believe that we serve great homemade food for a reasonable price.

Again thanks for your review, and if you have any other feedback, questions or enquiries dont hesitate to send us and email or give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night at end of august before setting out on a hut to hut trek on the hardangervidda. Comfortable room with small kitchen if needed, lovely evening meal and breakfast and friendly, helpful staff in a laid back atmosphere. Loads of bikes for hire if wanting to cycle the Rallarvegan, but we didn't have time to take advantage of this. Including the food, the overnight rate was very reasonable compared to other places we stayed in Norway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sands3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bkaupang, Owner at Haugastol Turistsenter, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hi!

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review! Great to see that you enjoyed your time in Haugastøl! Hope you had some good days on the Hardangervidda platou hiking! Hope too see you here again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Haugastøl Tourist Center (and hotel) is located at 1000 m altitude, along the spectacular railway connecting east to west of Norway. For our family, as for most other visitors, it was the starting point for an outstanding and spectacular bike trip along the old gravel road, "Rallarveien", that was build during the construction of railroad around 1900.

The hotel is family run and you feel it, you are welcomed warmly. (Two of our kids arrived by train while the rest of us arrived by car. There is a small kilometer of road between the railroadstation and the hotel, so the two kids where initially a bit lost. But then the owner of the hotel spotted them and asked if she could help in any way. They explained where they should be going and the owner drove them to the hotel. Very nice.)

There is a bike shop that sells most stuff you can find in a pro shop. The main activity is renting out of bikes and equipment for trips on the Rallarveien. Although they do a good job handing out bikes in good condition, it is worthwhile to go for a small trip to check that everything is correctly adjusted and fully working. In particular, check that the brakes and some margin, you will need them !

The hotel is nice and well-maintained, but not fashionable, if that is what you are seeking. However, the 2 course dinner we had ordered (as part of the package) was really well above our expectations. We had plentiful roast beef with asparagus, onions, wedge potatoes and two kinds of sauces. The dessert was an excellent cheese cake with caramelized apple slices and various fruits and even a scoop of ginger sorbet.

Room Tip: The hotel as rooms and apartments of different configurations, so it is worth checking that you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smbjerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is as close you get to "Hardagervidda", the best place in the world for xcountry skiing, hiking, off road cycling and kiting. The food and the atmosphere is excellent. The accomodation range from cheap and simple to expensive and luxurious, and of course you get what you pay for. Haugastøl is a good hang out for people sharing your passion for the outdoors activities.
Wath out for planned activities that might fill the whole place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rune_tomren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I completely agree with the other reviewer. We spent a week at the hotel. The food was amazing, you can make your own packed lunch at breakfast so although the accomodation is pricey (probably not really for Norway), there is no need to spend much money. We stayed in an apartment A which was lovely, and had a balcony looking out onto the lake. We were there first week in May, which was the last week of the winter season, but we still had excellent conditions (sunny, warm, good snow but light winds). The staff were friendly and helpful (particularly Hannah!) and made us feel really welcome. There is a bar, shop, sauna and gym but if you are like us you would want to spend as much time on the awesome Hardangervidda as possible, a stunny snowy wilderness without a single powerline, lift or cable to spoil the view!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctortim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bkaupang, Owner at Haugastol Turistsenter, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Hi!

Great to hear that you where happy with your stay!
The snow is still coming, so I guess we should have kept the hotel open for a few more weeks!
Hope you can make it to Haugastøl again next year!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haugastol
13.4 mi away
Finse 1222
Finse 1222
#1 of 1 in Finse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
11.9 mi away
Geilo Hotel
Geilo Hotel
#3 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
11.5 mi away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
12.2 mi away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#6 of 13 in Geilo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
11.7 mi away
Vestlia Resort
Vestlia Resort
#1 of 13 in Geilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haugastol Turistsenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haugastol Turistsenter

Property: Haugastol Turistsenter
Address: Haugastoelvegen 200, Haugastol 3595, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hol Municipality > Haugastol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Haugastol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The familiy run hotel at Haugastol, 1000 meters above sea level, offers high quality accomodation, meals in our restaurant, a coffee bar, a bike-shop and much more.We are placed just on the edge of the largest highland plateau in Northern Europe with two national parks on our doorstep. - The Hardangervidda and the Hallingskarvet National Park. We are therefore fortunate to be able to offer our guests a uniqe terrain to view and explore.We have free wireless internet for all our guests, and can offer many activities both summer and winter. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing