We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine, friendly people in a cosy and quality environment”
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Stayed for one night with my wife. We both loved it. So many places are sterile and dull - not this one. It's busy even when we stayed in mid-week which tells you everything you need to know. We were going to eat in what looks like a lovely restaurant but chose instead to eat in the bar as the sound of laughter in there was too hard to resist. Room was good. Great access for Newmarket. Brilliant to see managers hands on and understanding what's going on. Will be staying again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 485 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2010

Stayed in room 5, which is lovely. Fantastic bathroom. Advised the hotel it was for our wedding anniversary and they had sprinkled hearts and a bow was on the bed. Lovely touch. Meal was superb and attention to detail second to none. Lovely breakfast too. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Just stayed for 1 night and had really good service from the manager Cheryl who couldn't of been more helpful. Lovely breakfast would recommend.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank loobyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I had a fantastic stay at The Olde Bull Inn! I was here a few weeks while working nearby. My stay could not have been any better and I could not have asked for anything more.

The room I was in was very clean and the bed was extremely comfy. Before going into work I was able to get a cooked breakfast every morning and if I wanted something a little light cereals, breads, fruit and yoghurt among other options were available. After work the pub was a great spot to wind down and eat dinner in a more casual setting. The dining room offers more elegance and was a great experience if you want something a little fancier. Both the pub and dining room offered daily specials cooked by their in house chef, I never had a bad meal. The Olde Bull Inn also just finished adding a new patio in their courtyard while I was there. The new patio is a great place to eat outside or relax with a pint after a long day.

The location at The Olde Bull Inn offers many options. Newmarket, Bury St Edmunds, Ely, and Thetford are all a short drive away and each offer great day or weekend activities. Mildenhall is a short walk along a river and offers many shops and restaurants.

I cannot wait to make it back to The Olde Bull Inn, I will surely return!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark23b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I stayed here for one night recently and had a fantastic stay. It was totally what we look for in a hotel, friendly, welcoming and personal. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who swiftly checked us in a and took us up to view two rooms to allow us to choose which room we preferred (nice touch we thought). We chose room two which was a great corner room decorated in purple (I think they call it Aubergine) and silver. The bed was amazingly comfy and the bathroom had some really great touches, even the LED lights in the bath panel. We ate in the restaurant and the food was outstanding, I had the Sea Bass and my partner had the Fillet Steak Tower! Breakfast in the morning was as good! Service throughout the whole stay was second to none and we couldn't have asked for more. Well done Olde Bull we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ipswich1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Arrived late on Friday night due to an accident en-route. We had a very friendly welcome and we were taken up to our room, it was fabulous and had everything you could ever want and more. The receptionst kindly arranged a sandwich platter for us as the kitchen had just closed. Our room was at the back of the hotel, away from the road and seemed freshly decorated in a very boutique way, we had a lovely new bathroom with a power shower, we had tea and coffee, hairdryer, straighteners, iron and ironing board, the bed was king size and soooo comfortable. Breakfast was freshly cooked for us which was a pleasant change from the chain hotels with their buffets, lovely local sausages, eggs and bacon, very tasty. Spent the day at the races (not so successful) and returned to have dinner in the award winning restaurant. We ordered off the daily specials menu and the food was absolutely top class, compliments to the chef. The hotel is relatively small, just 14 rooms I think, and very intimate, where the owners are very hands on, nothing was too much trouble. We have already booked a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didge77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I loved every minute of my extended stay at the Old Bull. The owners took me and my co-workers in like a second family and made us feel welcome with special treatment. The food is outstanding quality for the money, the pub is a british version of the Cheers programme with real socialization opportunities, as opposed to the hotels and bars where you're anonymous. I cant image a better run hotel after overhearing discussions of staff and menu concerns, and they do try to run a tip-top place. Anyone who disliked the Bull, simply doesnt understand why and how to travel. Its not about getting what you want like a crying baby, its about adapting to new environments and finding new friends. I will always recommend the Bull.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belay70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
1 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
322 reviews
10 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
752 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range: $119 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing