We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing place”
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Reviewed March 31, 2014

As soon as we entered the bull hotel we felt welcome . The staff were all really friendly and our room was beautiful and really clean and tidy (the ginger biscuits were yummy) the showering facilities were spectacular (really nice shower gel ) .
The breakfast the next morning was superb and gratefully received ,
We look forward to our next stay at the bull inn.

Room Tip: Room 15 was amazing but we found out later that they have some really nice themed rooms which we mig...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for The Bull Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 477 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just a few words of thanks to the owners both my wife and I had a great stay, bedroom (the Zebra Room) very comfy and quirky, food memorable, all in all a great place to stay, reminds me of a lovely place where my wife and I used to stay in Germany. It was so good that we decided on the spur of the moment to stay another night.......it didn't take too much convincing me to do that though!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for one of the themed rooms........
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kass_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed at the Bull and was not disappointed.. Room was great and the whole hotel beautifully decorated with a modern and contemporary feel.
Staff were friendly and a really welcoming feel.
Recommend the filet steak in the bar...fabulous!
Breakfast next morning was equally good although the price ramped up on extras of juice, coffee and full breakfast - an all inclusive price for either continental or full breakfast would be more appropriate...

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank phatpasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Bull for 4 nights as it was within walking distance to my niece's home. Everything about the hotel was great! The staff was so friendly, they made you feel like family. Breakfast was included in our rate and there were many great choices to choose from on the menu. Our dinners in the pub were the best we had on our trip. Our room was very comfortable with a king bed. If you are going to be in this area of England you will not go wrong with a stay at the Bull.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Wow, what a great hotel. The staff were great, very friendly and very helpful. The food was fantastic and well worth a visit. The hotel was clean The quirky details all helped to make it a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusyMum190206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and I needed a break for a number of reasons so after visiting the Bull one lunchtime a few weeks ago, she took it on herself to book me a birthday treat.. We have stayed in many hotels over the years and this one easily sits up there at the top.
The food was exceptional, All the staff so friendly and polite but what was nice they ALL went that extra mile to make sure everything was ok for us.The gold room was done is done to a really high standard of decor and furnishing, the restaurant and bar are both candle lit so creating that special magic that only candle light can do.
To Wayne and his team we say , One big thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisRNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night over the valentines weekend. Was probably one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff were all very friendly and hardworking, this hotel has everything down to a t. I couldn’t fault one thing at all! The room (room 5) was clean and spacious with views of the courtyard, the bed was huge and as it was valentine they had also added a rose, big bow on the bed and some decorative sprinkles. . lovely little touch. .
Our evening meal and breakfast was superb and there is a great choice of wine and cocktails! There is a great atmosphere throughout the whole hotel and I would definitely recommend a visit! I will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniellenorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
1.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
108 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
911 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range: $115 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing