We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Week-end Away!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Certificate of Excellence
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Week-end Away!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We decided to spend a day at Lakenheath watching the American Airforce. Close by we came across this quirky little gem. We prefer to stay at independently run pubs and this was no exception! We were well greeted on arrival and shown to our room (Lazy Cow!) where we had ordered champagne and flowers which were waiting for us. Over the head of the bed was a huge picture of dairy cattle which for us was like home from home as we live on the Isle of Wight and we see this out of the rear window of our apartment every day. Good sized clean room, everything you needed except bottled water, exceptional double shower. After a long journey and a quick freshen up we were down to the bar! Then came another lovely surprise. The food was absolutely tip top, could not fault it. Breakfast was no surprise after the evening meal ; everything freshly cooked to order and we were asked on more than one occasion was there anything else we needed. We will definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgehog56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    87
    46
    14
    25
See reviews for
68
198
12
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was a little apprehensive having read some of the reviews on here, but I have to say I can only assume the people who gave bad reviews were being a little too picky.

From being greeted at reception, staff were helfpul and friendly. We had booked a cosy double, but were given the option to upgrade to a house double if we'd like to wait 10 minutes, which of course we did. Everything was top-notch, the lady who booked us in let us leave our bags rather than take them into the bar, and didn't rush us once the room was ready.

The food in the pub was delicious - much more than basic pub food and priced very well, considering what was on offer. Another plus point was that everything was locally sourced. Breakfast was equally delicious, and again, we weren't rushed or hurried up to check out. We enjoyed every minute, and would like to thank the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is an old coaching inn which is clearly very loved and cared for. We loved that it was different, the food we had was superb value - there is a chalk board that tells you where the produce comes from. We loved the local "posh pops" - great alternative to the standard offering for non alcoholic drinks. I had a fillet steak burger which was to die for! I would rather pay for quality anyday and this was worth every penny - best quality burger i have ever tasted. Desserts were all homemade - my other half had the sticky toffee pudding - all i will say is OMG - WOW! We will be back really soon - keep up the good work!!! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went to the Bull for an evening meal. Everything here was ok, not great, just ok, staff were average and if you're going to charge £18 for a burger and chips it has to be a really good burger and chips - sadly this wasn't :(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wednesday7pm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeBullInn, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, I'm disappointed that you didn't discuss this with us at the time, all we would like on every occasion is for our customers to leave satisfied and happy. The burger you selected was a fillet steak burger from our specials menu hence the higher charge than our normal steak burger and of course if this was not to your taste then we could of easily resolved this issue with an alternative dish. Additionally if you have time to drop us an email direct regarding why you felt the service was average? We strive to exceed expectations on this area on every occasion and constructive feedback is always beneficial to any business. Once again thanks for taking the time to submit a review and we hope to hear back from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lake Falls, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The staff is what really made our stay wonderful. Not only were they very friendly but they went out of their way to suggest sightseeing opportunities in the area. We felt like family by the end of our week of vacation. We also liked the quirky décor and the excellent food and drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

A little disappointed by this hotel given a lot of the previous reviews. In essence a great website which sadly is not met in reality. The hotel was a lovely 16th building which sadly felt cold and with little atmosphere. I expected to receive a warm welcome and good service but on checkout was waiting to be asked if all had been satisfactory but as we had already paid cash obviously this was not important.

The positives... a very comfortable bed and nice decor in rooms. The finish was poor with peeling paint and some cheap fittings. The bathroom ceramic fittings were fab but the taps were the most frustrating and useless ever. Also no hot water at 10.30am for shower.

We had prebooked lunch but decided not to stay. Could be a slick business but a way to go yet and definitely not worth the price we paid. In essence better professionalism and in need of a few special touches.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dottiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Finally, a local pub with lovely hot food!

We came for an evening meal whilst my partners mum was visiting and it was fantastic.
The staff are very friendly and attentive and the food was tasty and hot (we've had a few experiences lately at other eating establishments where food has come to us warm,yuk).

We will most definitely be eating here again, fantastic.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fitness4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
1.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.7 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
19.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
10.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Property: The Bull Inn
Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing