We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay.....but small details needs attention”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good stay.....but small details needs attention”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I booked this on the dinner, bed and breakfast offer which is in a house double room. There were a few problems with the room, when I told reception we were upgraded to a feature room which was lovely - we were in the Daisy Room. This was a lovely room and very quirky, I don't normally sleep well in hotel beds but I slept like a baby - the bed was exceptionally comfortable.

The dinner and breakfast were both of a high standard and I did not find the prices expensive - you get what you pay for.

The only downside to the hotel is that the decorating doesn't seem to be finished properly, the décor of the bathroom in the Daisy Room is of a high standard but it hasn't been finished properly (the windows have got all smudged black paint on them and need re-painting). I found this in our initial room as well - the small details need to be addressed as they let the rooms down.

I would stay here again if in the area but probably wouldn't pay the full price for a feature room (which do not appear to be included in any special deals). The price for the DB & B basis is a good deal and perhaps should be extended to include feature rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    89
    46
    14
    26
See reviews for
69
199
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, the bar kept a good cellar and they made great cocktails. The food was excellent, and the décor throughout the Inn is fun and quirky. Happy to recommend the Inn, and we will be staying there next time we return to that part of the world.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

A bit late getting this review up but here goes. We stayed here as we were visiting the 1000 guineas race meeting, We booked a feature room which was called the Princess room and I have to say was really funky and trendy with a great double sized bath with a headrest which was very relaxing. Loved the décor which was all cerise pink and black very girlie not sure my husband like it as much as me though! After the races we returned to the hotel and decided to eat in the pub rather than the resturaunt and I have to say the food was amazing compliments to the chefs! Breakfast the next morning was also very tasty,and as we had booked the late check out we chilled out in the courtyard in the sunshine before we headed off home. In fact we loved it so much we will be returning again next year thank you for making our stay so welcoming everyone was so friendly. Also must add one more thing alongside the hairdyer were straightners what a brilliant idea well done!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

we stayed at the bull inn for one night, the room was lovely, very uniquely decorated.
The food is of a very high standard, although a little on the pricey side, you get what u pay for.
It was a treat for my husbands birthday, and they had wrapped the bed with a big bow and sprinkled love heart confeffi over the duvet. Little touches like this make all the difference, and we enjoyed our stay with them.
All the staff seemed very friendly and what a good job they are all doing, as this hotel is lovely and worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loulou097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had booked for a sunday lunch with my nan so wanted something a little special. We were seated promptly in the restaurant with drinks, and left to choose from the menu. We both went for a roast chicken lunch which came with homemade yorkies and stuffing and some yummy roast potatoes. It also came with a delicious bowl of mixed veg. We went for creme brulee and toffee pudding to finish, both very tasty! Our waitress did a lovely job of looking after us.
We will definitely be back again for lunch soon and highly recommend the toffee pudding. Nan was also impressed by the milk bottle chandeliers and cow print wallpaper.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pimmsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Have now visited twice and ate in the bar area. Each time the bar had different beers on tap which was awesome. They are all local and it was a nice assortment.

I ordered something different each time for both apps and mains and everything was just amazing. Everyone I visited with loved their food as well. It is on a different level in my opinion! Not just generic pub food. It is now one of my favorite places to eat. I will definitely need to figure out how to save room for dessert next time because the menu choices were mouth-watering.

The staff was friendly and quick to serve. The atmosphere inside is a cool kind of vibe. The deco is really nice, too.

Seriously not one complaint!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaplywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

From the moment my wife & I entered the bull inn we were greeted with a smile & the warmest of welcomes that we have ever experienced anywhere, we were asked the purpose of our visit when we said we were down for the racing @ Newmarket they asked if we had organised a taxi which we had'nt so they arranged us 1 there & then very efficient. after a pain free check-in we went up to our room we had booked 1 of the feature rooms and was not disapointed (we had the princess room) all black & pinks with a silver leaf Versailles curved end bed with matching furniture ab-fab or what. after unpacking we headed down to the bar which serves good old proper beer with a choice of 4 hand pulled beers to chose from and this is sort public bar if your into real ale you dream of and especially in the hotel your staying in, sweet dreams are made of this. All the staff at the hotel are so pleasant and really go that extra mile to make the experience at the bull inn one you'll never forget. After a couple of drinks and chat we headed back to our room and changed for dinner, there are 2 options you can eat in the bar or in the restaurant we ate in both over the length of our stay & the standard of the food and the way it is served are impeccable in both. The bar menu is slightly different to the restaurant but by no way less exciting and not silly money for top notch food served with flair & passion with the emphasis on real local produce there is also a map on a blackboard over the bar to show the customers where the food as traveled from and is also explained on the extensive menu & the specials board so you will not go hungry. All the staff are very well educated on all the menu and are willing to help in anyway which is so refreshing with young staff Cheryl & Wayne certainly have the pick of great bunch and the training they give the staff shows through with everything they do. We have now returned home (14/07/13) and were very sorry to be leaving such a lovely place, but we do have some great memories and the pleasure of meeting Cheryl, Wayne, Sonia, Smiffy & the TOBI crew and we hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
1.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.7 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
19.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
10.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Property: The Bull Inn
Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing