We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Food was excellent , one of the best places we have eaten, rooms were clean cosy and nicely decorated , staff were friendly and accomadating, would highly recommend :-). Looking fawards to going back again for dinner and a murder mistery dinner weekend ,

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydneybecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 483 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have stayed here for 2 nights a week for the past two weeks and i am booked in again next week for business.

What a brilliant find of a hotel. I do not know where to start with the review.

Location: is brilliant, just off the A11 and loads of parking, i was worried about the road noise but even with the window open i could sleep happily, plus they have secondary glazing to block out the noise.

Rooms: WOW, i first stayed in the Gold room which was amazing. everything was gold, brilliantly designed, spandau ballet lyrics on the wall. great comfy bed. unique 3 way bath. lovely bathroom shower gel etc. No soap but you could ask for some at reception. Tea and coffee in the room was of good quality, Only niggle was the kettle was heavily covered in limescale,However this is rife in the area due to extreme hard water.

on my 2nd visit i stayed in room one and it was just as nice. I believe it was a standard double but you would not know. Beautiful room with a beautiful bed once again.

Bar: lovely local feel bar with amazing attentive staff. The bar staff are lovely and friendly and talk to you like you have been there for years. Good selection of everything in the bar. Good selection of real ale too.

Food: Wow, this is the winning area for me. The food for me was out of this world. It is a little on the top side of what i would pay but then i am a tight yorkshire man! However worth every penny. I have had a lot of dishes but notably the chicken Parfait is beautiful. I also was naughty and had the olde bull knicker bocker glory. BEAUTIFUL!!! sticky toffee pudding yum yum.

On a side note the condiments are all local and of good quality, Asphals golden malt vineger was a eye opener. so good i have ordered some for home as it was a great vineger.

Breakfast: I had inclusive breakfast and every day have had scrambled eggs with bacon, beautiful. loverly yellow eggs on a thick slice of break. great local bacon and good local apple juice, Toast is help yourself and please please try the strawberry jam. It is amazingly good.

Staff: every staff member i met was brilliant, on a night, in a morning. the owners on check in. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Always had a smile and would do anything to help you!

A brilliant hotel. with no negative points for me. Shame it was business trips i was visiting for. I think i will take the wife down in the future and score some brownie points!

Room Tip: If you can book a feature go for it! they are so unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is fantastic, loads of great original decor with quality furnishings in all the rooms. Not what I was expecting at all. The team were really helpful, nothing was too much trouble! I had the daisy room which was cow themed, great fun, bed and linen were utterly gorgeous and really comfortable. Loads of unusual touches and well thought out detail which made it for me, bath was enormous. Food and atmosphere also very good, check out the daily update on the menu, great idea!! This is a smart, stylish place and I loved it. I travel a lot for business so turning up here made my week, wish I could have stayed longer. Drive past the rest if you are in the area, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for a theme room.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recently travelled here with my partner which wasn't too far of a journey to us, when we first arrived we got offered to upgrade our room and were shown in to both rooms, we took the upgrade, the rooms we stayed in were very girly, which i didn't mind to much, i've worked in a erotically different hotel before so i know you have to be open minded, everything was clean, working and couldn't really complain. First we went downstairs to the bar area and had a drink whilst chatting to the bar staff, which all but one were very chatty and up for a good convo. We then went for a drive around the local area and there is nothing there, so it's a good job the hotel is nice!!! The bar area and restaurant are all very nice, for a 3* inn this is defiantly worth more than that. After our drive around we went back to our room to get ready for dinner, the food was amazing, really nice, we had 3 courses each, and had a taste of everything, i had the duck breast for starter, which i was a little disappointed by, as i didn't get as much duck as i would have wanted with everything else, but it does say duck breast, that is what you get so i didn't say anything it's my personal opinion. Mains were great and so was dessert!! The meals were fairly priced, under £60 each for 3 courses and a drink, which is average for everywhere. We stayed down after dinner drinking with locals and chatting to two of the owners until close. The bed was extremely noisy just for sitting down on, but didn't bother us too much, in the morning we went down for breakfast and were treated extremely well, nothing was too much trouble and had an amazing breakfast!!! If we come back next time we would try one of the less girly rooms. Had an amazing little get away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our stay at the Bull was a first class one. Sonia made us feel very welcome and we were astounded at the decor and individuality of all the bedrooms. Each bedroom we were shown had its own wow factor and funky designs and our bed was masive and very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings of our stay and were not disappointed at all. The food was of high quality as was the service. The young staff certainly made you feel very special and whether you were served at the bar or in the restaurant there was a relaxed and happy feel about the place. It is obvious that a lot of hard work and devotion have been poured into restoring the Inn and Sonia and Cheryl and their partners are certainly providing their customers with an excellent place to stay. We enjoyed a lovely relaxed weekend and ate delicious top class food and will certainly be visiting again. We would recommend the Bull Inn to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 273janm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Attracted by the funky, colourful website, we booked in to the Bull Inn for a relaxing weekend away. With such a range of individual rooms, Sonia helped me choose one and it didn't disappoint. Distinct design and colours, a great shower and a really comfy huge bed. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food and service was excellent. We ate in the bar on sunday night but the quality was no different. Haddock and Chips for two to share is probably the biggest meal I have seen and it was so tasty. All the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were really made to feel welcome and it was lovely to have a drink and chat with Sonia and Smiffy at the end of what was a busy weekend for them and a lovely weekend away for us. I definitely want to go back and hope to introduce our friends to the Bull Inn too. Thank you.

Room Tip: Look at the website for pictures and descritptions of the individually decorated rooms. I asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 864deboraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were on our way home from a weeks holiday and decided we wanted to extend our break for another day, so we googled near by locations that we could stay at, and up popped The Bull Inn. Thank God. What a great weekend, we had the a fantastic time. Everyone there from staff to owners, where so welcoming and caring. The food was excellent, probably the best food we have had in a long time, and we have eaten at a number of places. The Room "Princess Room" was fabulous and what a bath (room for two). Overall I would reccomend this place to everyone and we will definitely be going back. "Soon Hopefully"

Room Tip: Princess Room is great, but just ask the landlady, she will help you choose the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
1.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
314 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
939 reviews
1.7 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range: $116 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing