We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murder Mystery at The Olde Bull”
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our first visit to the Bull and we certainly weren't disappointed! The food was fabulous and the evenings entertainment was excellent - the murder mystersy characters were really funny.

Most importantly I need to mention the staff; they were attentive, happy, caring and nothing was too much trouble. Every single member of staff looked after us from the first time I emailed the hotel for further information (they emailed straight back), to the time we left when they had been kind enough to order our taxi for us. The bar staff were fab (bringing everything to the table for us) and the meal was delivered with a smile.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: (We didn't sleep over, sadly. Maybe next time).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soz8908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 483 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights on business with long days working nearby. Nice place to come back to in the evening as bar has a "local pub" atmosphere rather than the sterile type of many hotels. Alongside this is a great range of real ales and good choice of well prepared and tasty food, served promptly. The room was very clean and nicely, even stylishly, appointed. Large comfortable bed; good power shower. Only small downsides are late start for breakfast (7.30) and bedrooms could be more sound-proofed.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank BiggestHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

After a long day Repping, It was comforting to hear Cheryl's voice confirming there was a "bed" for the night.

A pint of Adnam's finest with Sea bass off the specials and it was time to take in the banter. Sat listening to the Americans chat to the locals always brings a smile to my face.

Room 15 this time and Wow what a bed. Warm, inviting and well furnished, it was hard to go drag myself back downstairs.

Wayne's usually about for a quick catch up on the latest project he's working on.

Local produce for Breakfast completes my stay as I flick through my diary to see when's the earliest I can return.

I enjoy working this part of the country and stay here whenever possible. If you want a Boutique Hotel with a sprinkle of Magic then this is the one.
There's nothing old about the service from this Excellant team.

I look forward to room 3,5,7.........

Best Wishes

Rob

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muftie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Myself and my Partner visited Sat 22 september with a couple of Friends,had a few drinks and a fantastic meal,the steaks a highly recommended by the 4 of us ,oh and i liked the photo of Elvis Presley they had in the bar,gave it a vintage feel...nice

Room Tip: didnt stay ,just there for a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keninlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Excellent choice of recognisable dishes. Generous portions. Hot food fresh from the kitchen, all homemade with quality ingredients. Very good value for money. Even if you feel you have eaten "too much" there will always be room for a delectable dessert which you will have to share with your friend. Too hard to resist but too hard to finish by yourself!! Satisfaction every time. :o)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovesAttnToDetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Nice hotel/pub easy efficient personal check in - Good level of cleanliness bed linen was crisp and clean with nice fluffy quilt and pillows. The room itself was surprisingly compact no spare room was left over one at a time passing system needs to be maintained. Very good shower plenty of towels and nice warm room with access to a window that opens should you require fresh air -can get a little stuffy due to the room size. Free car park booking was not required in advance. The rooms are upstairs however and they are a little steep but support with lugage may be available from reception.

Nice peaceful sleep without disturbance however traffic mounts up on the Sunday morning for the close small market so perhaps the far side not court side rooms more early morning friendly. Nice cooked to order breakfast, with traditional bacon but not so good sausage. Should an evening meal be required note however to get it ordered before the tight on the dot 9pm kitchen close down as even residents will gain no leniency.
Effective checkout process no waiting experienced.

Room Tip: Court area may be more restful during the evening but early morning tends to be a little too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay186347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I travel all over the UK and stay in hotels from Scotland to the South Coast but have to say that this is by far the nicest hotel I have stayed in.
The rooms are very modern but retain the character of the "Olde" hotel and are always spotless. I stayed in the "Gold" room recently which was gorgeous and has helpful things like an iPod docking station to charge your phone up over night! (Brilliant idea). The food is superb and a great selection of good beer too and considereing you are 100yds from the A11, you really cant hear it at all.
The staff are always very friendly and everything from the rooms to the food are no where near as expensive as you would expect from a hotel of this level.
I actually diverted my trip home a few weeks ago from Chichester to the Lake District just so i could stay there again.
If staying at a really nice hotel is on your "Bucket List", make sure its this one!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
318 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
740 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range: $116 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing