We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again One Word Three Syllables "FANTASTIC"”
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Again One Word Three Syllables "FANTASTIC"”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our second visit to The Olde Bull Inn.
We stayed two nights and were not disappointed.
We arrived to a friendly welcome and shown to a themed room
which gave a “Wow” factor upon entering.
The staff are attentive, smart, efficient and know their jobs.
We ate in the restaurant both days and the food was excellent;
This 17th century Inn ticks all the boxes.
We will be returning.
WELL RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeBull, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
What a great review for a return visit, we are all really pleased that you enjoyed your second stay with us as much as the first :-) Now you have tried the Gold room how about trying Aubergine next time - a big corner room with a superking bed :-) We hope to see you again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    95
    47
    15
    28
See reviews for
76
205
14
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Popped into the olde bull inn for a quick breakfast on sunday and was pleasantly suprised by the look of the building but also the staff were very friendly!the food is all freshed and locally sourced like the bread and meat and even the condiments. Would reccomend for breakfasts!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Idj89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeBull, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thanks for your review of your visit to us for breakfast, I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast . Next time you are passing why not visit us for lunch or dinner :-). See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I booked 2 nights for a surprise weekend away for my husband as we were going to the races at Newmarket. We stayed in the Princess Suite which was lovely. Each room is decorated differently. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. We had dinner there on the first night and the staff new it was my husbands birthday and put 'happy birthday' confetti on our table which was a lovely gesture. Breakfast was not included in our package but we paid more for which was reasonable. All in all a fabulous stay and we would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danidoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeBull, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back another time. Next time why not try our Daisy room or our Zebra room for something a bit different. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Bull Hotel is a good mixture of the old and new, and has some great features. Reception is welcoming and a typical example. Breakfast is very wholesome and British.
Room 12 is fairly small with the double bed against the wall, giving limited access. The room also has an awkward step before entering, although we were warned!
It has a fantastic new shower and wash facilities, really nicely done. Slightly odd that it has no toilet roll holder as yet!
It is a good alternative to the usual hotel chains, but I think it depends on the room you stay in.
We have stayed in this hotel before but were a little disappointed this time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeg_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Mike & Val

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We're really happy that you enjoyed so much about The Olde Bull Inn.

You're absolutely correct in saying that room 12 is fairly small, we call it one of our cosy doubles. I can see that you were advised of this at the time of booking and opted for that room. For an additional £15 you could of booked a house double or for an additional £30 you could of opted for one of our amazing feature rooms - again all available to view online. Room 12 is a fab little room with an amazing new bathroom, it's a great option for those on a budget or on a short stay who don't mind being cosy.

The toilet roll holder is now on the wall, we had these on back order and the bathroom had only been finished a few days before your arrival. I'm afraid with an Inn that is over 500 years old there are steps in most of the rooms, we feel it adds to the character. If you did need a ground floor room, we do have two, coach house one and coach house two - again these can be viewed on line. Just let us know which room you'd like another time.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us. Next time we hope you try one of our larger feature rooms. We look forward to seeing you again, kind regards.

Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I took a party of 16 friends to The Olde Bull Inn for lunch on 29th June 2012 prior to attending a race meeting at Newmarket..
The meal had been pre-ordered a few days before as we only had limited time if we were to arrive at the course in time for the first race.
I had been in contact by email with Sonia several times in the weeks leading up to our visit and she was really most helpful.
The food was excellent, well presented and well served. What impressed me most about our experience was the helpful and attentive staff. It seems that nothing is too much trouble. Well done and thank you.
Chris Robinson - Southend-on-Sea

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJR244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thanks for the review, I am really pleased that you all enjoyed the meal and hospitality of The Olde Bull Inn. I'm glad you picked up on the fact that nothing is too much trouble and we do everything we can to ensure that everyone in your party feels that way. Maybe next time come of an evening and try our award winning restaurant. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Don't stay at The Olde Bull for one night, stay for as many nights that you can possibly afford. We stayed Saturday night (23 June) in "Daisy" room (she's a cow!) She was everywhere all over the wall behind the bed, what a touch. How did you get a bed that size into that room, the bed was enormous. Big chandelier hanging from the ceiling, oak beams, curtains that didn't let the light in, shower head in the bathroom the size of a base drum, well nearly, good supply of teas, coffees and biscuit's, big flat screen TV, the list is endless. Bar area: Wanted to try a local lager, we were offered a small glass each to try. Could have eaten in the restaurant, settled instead for the bar menu. (it's nearer the bar!) Wife had Sea Base Fillet, followed by Pavlova (stacked). Looked delish. I went for a "T" Bone Steak, (trust me it was to die for), cooked exactly to order, followed by a cheese board, choice of several cheese's made up in the shape of a pyramid. All four sevings were faultless and presented to top London restaurant standard. Well done the chef and all kitchen staff. Will I stay again?, there are hotels nearer Newmarket racecourse, pound for pound I bet they are not as good as this one. We will return. Thank you one and all. Paul & Marian - Chafford Hundred.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard. Quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancientclev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thanks so much for taking time out of your schedule to write this review for us :-) I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. I agree with you that Daisy is an amazing room, next time you come to stay I think you should try our dramatic Princess room - I think you would love it just as much as Daisy! Hope to see you again soon :-) Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Olde Bull Inn is a great place to stay & makes a great alternative to some of those national chains. All the staff were welcoming & friendly. There was a good atmosphere in the bar & then the food & service which was again excellent. The bedroom has recently been refurbished to an excellent standard & I will certainly stay again when next in the area. It is hard to be negative but the one slight issue was due to a very warm night I had the window open & the passing traffic was quite loud but please do not let this put you off.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. On your next visit to us please let us know that you would prefer a room on the village side of the inn or even one that faces into our fab courtyard. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
1.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
293 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
898 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,184 reviews
19.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Property: The Bull Inn
Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing