We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Priceless. What a brill Pub/Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Certificate of Excellence
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Priceless. What a brill Pub/Hotel.”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Don't stay at The Olde Bull for one night, stay for as many nights that you can possibly afford. We stayed Saturday night (23 June) in "Daisy" room (she's a cow!) She was everywhere all over the wall behind the bed, what a touch. How did you get a bed that size into that room, the bed was enormous. Big chandelier hanging from the ceiling, oak beams, curtains that didn't let the light in, shower head in the bathroom the size of a base drum, well nearly, good supply of teas, coffees and biscuit's, big flat screen TV, the list is endless. Bar area: Wanted to try a local lager, we were offered a small glass each to try. Could have eaten in the restaurant, settled instead for the bar menu. (it's nearer the bar!) Wife had Sea Base Fillet, followed by Pavlova (stacked). Looked delish. I went for a "T" Bone Steak, (trust me it was to die for), cooked exactly to order, followed by a cheese board, choice of several cheese's made up in the shape of a pyramid. All four sevings were faultless and presented to top London restaurant standard. Well done the chef and all kitchen staff. Will I stay again?, there are hotels nearer Newmarket racecourse, pound for pound I bet they are not as good as this one. We will return. Thank you one and all. Paul & Marian - Chafford Hundred.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard. Quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancientclev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thanks so much for taking time out of your schedule to write this review for us :-) I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. I agree with you that Daisy is an amazing room, next time you come to stay I think you should try our dramatic Princess room - I think you would love it just as much as Daisy! Hope to see you again soon :-) Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    89
    46
    14
    26
See reviews for
69
198
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Olde Bull Inn is a great place to stay & makes a great alternative to some of those national chains. All the staff were welcoming & friendly. There was a good atmosphere in the bar & then the food & service which was again excellent. The bedroom has recently been refurbished to an excellent standard & I will certainly stay again when next in the area. It is hard to be negative but the one slight issue was due to a very warm night I had the window open & the passing traffic was quite loud but please do not let this put you off.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. On your next visit to us please let us know that you would prefer a room on the village side of the inn or even one that faces into our fab courtyard. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Once again I find myself checking into the princess room and enjoying a refreshing Aspalls in the friendly Bar before ordering some fantastic food from the menu , If you have never stayed at the Olde Bull Inn then WHY NOT? It's worthy of a visit and dinner is a must. Looking forward to returning in August.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feefeewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
What a great review, thanks! How about a bit of a change and next time why not try our newly refurbished Gold room or even Daisy, you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed for four nights in June 2012, being in the Daisy Room. We ate in the bar on the first night and in the restaurant for the other three. The inn is old but is renovated in modern, quirky style. The room was spotless and well maintained. Two criticisms of it; the amount of storage space is very small, the wardrobe space being too high for people under about six feet tall. It took two days to discover that you could turn the bathroom mirror lights on by waving your hand down the side of it, so better tuition or instructions is needed.

Staff in the hotel were very pleasant.

Food is excellent, but there is a marked tendency for items on the menu to be unavailable. We ate at about 7.00 pm and had to modify our choice on two evenings. There is a need for the hotel to minimise wastage, but I feel that a menu is meaningless if the items aren't available.

Pop music in the breakfast room is obtrusive and disagreeable. The practice should stop immediately.

There is a constant background noise from traffic on the busy A road nearby. It didn't worry us, but other residents commented on it. Some other rooms were closer to that road than ours was.

As far as location is concerned, the hotel affords easy access to Suffolk countryside and there is much to occupy the visitor nearby. There are no shops or other facilities within walking distance.

We both enjoyed our stay and may return. We commented how well we had slept.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moultermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and most importantly for a hotel break that you slept well and that would come back to us again if in the area. With regard to the non availability of some of the dishes, we are proud to say that we operate a 100% fresh kitchen and have daily specials as well as our menu items, this in turn does mean that we only can hold so many of one item and when its gone its gone until our next delivery day. As you know the weekend which you stayed we were exceptionally busy, however I am glad that the food you did choose was described as "excellent". We do have the local radio on during breakfast as many of our guests use this time to catch up on the news and some light entertainment, however I believe that upon your request to turn down / off that the team did this for you :-) Next time you visit request our Gold room as that room looks over the village side of the building thus eliminating any road noise further! Look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Olde Bull is one of the restaurants i'd driven past many times but never stopped in, however come last Sunday when it was time to decide where to go for our Sunday Roast, I thought we'd give it a try!

On first impressions the hotel really captivates you, it's modern, very clean and the atmosphere was particularly pleasant, but overall it felt welcoming, like i'd been there a million times!!

The bar staff were all very friendly, smiley and especially polite! They showed us to our table (in the bar area) and we were presented with a broad menu with an array of locally sourced, freshly prepared dishes! I opted for the Large Mixed Roast comprising of Beef and Pork, a few extra roast potatoes, some very fluffy, large Yorkshire pudds and lashings of fresh veg - I have to admit, i'm somewhat of meat eater so thought this would be easy - but the large portions really were LARGE but that did not alter the quality of the food, it was presented beautifully and the taste was exquisite! The 2 course meal option is only £16 but for the large Roast it's a £5 supplement - but very worth it, even so for the quality and sheer amount of food we got £21 for 2 courses is a bargain!

I shall be going back again one evening to sample the delights of their other menu's aswell as returning for Sunday Roast, I highly recommend a visit to the Olde Bull, if you like good pub grub cooked amazingly then look no further!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are all really pleased that you had that welcoming and "at home" feeling that we strive to create. As you know the Sunday roasts are legendary and even if we say so ourselves delicious! Next time why not try our award winning restaurant or even one of our Murder Mystery nights. Thanks again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights during a weekend in late April and were very pleasantly surprised. This place is what it is i.e. a very relaxed and atmospheric pub/hotel with a very good restaurant. It and the owners do not pretend to be anything else and it is this genuine theme which really shines through as does the value and quality.

On arrival, we were given an upgraded room and then spent the early evening in the bar which had great atmosphere with a mixture of guests and locals. Dinner, later in the restaurant was pleasantly impressive and great value for money.

The owners could not do enough for us and we had some great banter with them during the weekend. On the Sunday morning after a lie in, we went to check out accepting that we had missed the breakfast. However, the owners asked whether we had taken breakfast and when we said that we had missed the cut off, they insisted that it was fine to have a late breakfast as the chef was on duty all day. The quality and value of the breakfast unsurprisingly was in line with everything else in this excellently run pub/hotel.

We shall return, hopefully in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshBavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
What a great review, thanks so much. Its reviews like this that really emphasise why we do what we do :-) On your next visit why not try out our pub menu for a more informal dining experience. Oh and don’t worry about breakfast we will always accommodate you even if you do oversleep ;-) Thanks again and see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

After the many positive Trip Advisor reviews, I had high expectations for the Olde Bull Inn, where I was booked into in a "Coach House" room located across the courtyard from the main building of the hotel. Perhaps the rooms in the main building of the hotel are nicer, but I was disappointed in my Coach House room. The bedroom is smallish in size, but adequate. The bathroom, however, lacks sufficient lighting and is somewhat less than functional. The bathroom is lit by a single small bulb over the shower, rendering the room dark and uninviting. With no light above the sink and mirror in the room, any activity requiring attention to detail (shaving, for example) was a challenge. The shower, although modern and large, contained no area for setting personal items. Therefore, soap, shampoo, etc. had to be placed on the shower floor, which, disconcertingly, was very slippery. The bathroom also lacks an electrical outlet. On a positive note, and as mentioned by previous reviewers, the hotel staff were pleasant and personable, and the breakfast service was good.

Room Tip: I suggest travelers avoid the room in the Coach House, especially if a quiet room is desired. The C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeBull, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Many thanks for taking your time to review your stay with us and I am pleased that you enjoyed meeting our team and of course our delicious breakfasts. With regard to your room, I have checked your booking you were advised upon making your reservation that you would be allocated into the Coach House as we had already sold out in the main hotel, we do always advise guests and then of course they have the option to check out our website where you will see images and descriptions of all our rooms. The coach houses are our most "affordable" rooms and of course its no secret that they are not our best rooms but also to reflect this they are by no means the most expensive either. Our feature rooms are available from just an extra £30 a night but unfortunately the dates of your stay these were all fully booked as advised at time of booking. With regard to the small maintenance issue with the light bulb, this could have been resolved in an instant had we had it reported to us, and I can only apologise that on this occasion our housekeeping team missed the bulb out. The shower cubicle has a small shelf by the valves and again this could have been explained had you needed. What I am trying to get at is that we can always put the majority of niggles right straight away if we know about them - so please talk to us if you stay again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
1.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
666 reviews
1.7 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
851 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,127 reviews
19.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Property: The Bull Inn
Address: The Street, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barton Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bull Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn is not a B&B, it’s not hotel, but it is an award-winning boutique and quirky modern day coaching Inn, located near Mildenhall, Bury St Edmunds and Newmarket in the picturesque county of Suffolk. The Inn and its dedicated owners simply radiate character, style and an eccentric passion, which is simply infectious to all those who visit. Think funky and fresh within an amazing 500 year old coaching inn. The owners have created 15 individually designed boutique bedrooms, a 1 AA Rosette Restaurant, cosy pub with great wines, real ales and an open log fire for those cold winter evenings. There is also a fantastic courtyard to while away many a summer's day with family and friends. Improvement and refurbishment never ends at The Bull, with the passionate owners always seeking and trying new, exciting and sometimes crazy ideas! The Bull has a whole wall of accolades to boast including "Best Small Hotel in Suffolk," "Best Freehouse in East Anglia" and "Best Sunday Lunch" to mention a few and the whole business simply oozes character and a unique charm created by the hands-on owners. The team work hard to host events throughout the year, from live music nights, murder mystery dinners, charity evenings, themed Christmas parties and lunches with Santa. This unique destination inn is located in the picturesque village of Barton Mills, just 2 miles from Mildenhall. Barton Mills is just on the edge of Thetford Forest with the towns of Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Cambridge and Newmarket all within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Bull Hotel Barton Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing