We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply, the best B&B I have stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lord Mayor's Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Barton Mills B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quite simply, the best B&B I have stayed at”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

My mother and I were made to feel part of the family at this wonderful place. A tranquil garden, charming rooms, a superb breakfast, and a warm welcome from the owner, who showed unbounded generosity and kindness towards two weary travellers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenviaferrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
24
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed here last week and were made very welcome by the owners. The cottage is absolutely charming and the rooms comfortable. Nice little touches lilke a flask of proper milk for your monring tea! Breakfast was great and the night before we walked over the road to a pub restaurant. We'll be going back again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise503775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We were welcomed by the owner Victoria, she showed us around and instantly made us feel welcome and relaxed after our journey. Nothing was too much trouble she, was discreet and managed to look after all our needs effortlessly. The cottage and grounds are stunning with gardens running down to the river, where her partner Kelsey has a private punt moored and can take guests for an evening river trip in the summer (one of the reasons we would like to go back!) The rooms were lovely, spotlessly clean with pure cotton bedding, quality mattresses and pillows, t.v. tea and coffee making facilities, books, magazines all you could want or expect in a good hotel. The English breakfast was first class set in a dinning room with beautiful antique furniture. Homemade jams and jellies were a lovely touch. We cannot recommend this B and B more highly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Pilgrim-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2011

when me and my partner stayed in lords mayor cottage, it was very quiet as the house is far from the main road. Our bedroom looked out onto the beautiful garden, which was very relaxing. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Barton Mills is a beautiful and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky20061990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton Mills
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
295 reviews
1.6 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
466 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
693 reviews
7.1 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Mayor's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Mayor's Cottage

Property: Lord Mayor's Cottage
Address: 53 The Street | Barton Mills, Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Barton Mills
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barton Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Mayor's Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We now except Credit and Debit cards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lord Mayor's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing