We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Family Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Porterville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Family Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Above average food and service. Went for breakfast. Large portions and coffee cup never empty. Family atmosphere. Definitely a good choice when taking kids and grandkids out to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krdrury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    33
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

This place is good for the value. My husband's steak was cooked perfectly - medium rare. Mine was supposed to be the same, but it was overcooked. Veggies were also overcooked. The service was great. I would return, but don't order the steaks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
374 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“They Have Great Pies Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Always had great service and great food at this Black Bear. But they have the only pie crust I have ever liked. The pies in Tulare are good but the crust is not as good as in Porterville. I wish the baker would share there secret with all the Black Bears & Ryan's Place. There all great for breakfast, Lunch or Dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carnutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the worst meal I've ever had.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I know, I know. It is 100% my fault. Why would anyone in their right mind order Steak and Lobster at a Black Bear Diner? Well, it was the 'special' of the evening. I was thinking the lobster tail would be a typical, low budget, frozen tail. But the steak should make up for any short-comings. Was I ever wrong. The tail may have started as a average frozen tail, but by the time they had overcooked it by a factor of ten times, it was nothing more than a tasteless piece of shoe leather. The steak was just as bad. It was maybe 1/4" thick BEFORE the cooked the last bit of moisture from it. I ordered medium, but I think their cook chart goes something like: rare=well, medium rare=extra well, medium=cooked beyond recognition. I'd hate to see how they do well done. The green beens were cooked down to basically a green soup. Maybe if the cook didn't spend so much time over-cooking, the food would come out in a more timely manner.

After the meal the cashier asked what I thought of my meal. I told her it was the worst meal I ever had. She said "Oh, that's too bad", and then took my money.

If you really enjoy having to work to chew your food (think beef jerky) you might really like this place. If not, well, their pies do look good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MadDog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Comfort Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The food here is excellent. The portions are gigantic. There is always enough for two meals. They have a great special daily on steak and eggs and the chicken fried steak is the best anywhere. The servers are always friendly and the desserts are wonderful.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 
Porterville, CA
Porterville, CA
 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing