We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Have Great Pies Here”
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #1 of 104 Restaurants in Porterville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
421 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“They Have Great Pies Here”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Always had great service and great food at this Black Bear. But they have the only pie crust I have ever liked. The pies in Tulare are good but the crust is not as good as in Porterville. I wish the baker would share there secret with all the Black Bears & Ryan's Place. There all great for breakfast, Lunch or Dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carnutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the worst meal I've ever had.”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I know, I know. It is 100% my fault. Why would anyone in their right mind order Steak and Lobster at a Black Bear Diner? Well, it was the 'special' of the evening. I was thinking the lobster tail would be a typical, low budget, frozen tail. But the steak should make up for any short-comings. Was I ever wrong. The tail may have started as a average frozen tail, but by the time they had overcooked it by a factor of ten times, it was nothing more than a tasteless piece of shoe leather. The steak was just as bad. It was maybe 1/4" thick BEFORE the cooked the last bit of moisture from it. I ordered medium, but I think their cook chart goes something like: rare=well, medium rare=extra well, medium=cooked beyond recognition. I'd hate to see how they do well done. The green beens were cooked down to basically a green soup. Maybe if the cook didn't spend so much time over-cooking, the food would come out in a more timely manner.

After the meal the cashier asked what I thought of my meal. I told her it was the worst meal I ever had. She said "Oh, that's too bad", and then took my money.

If you really enjoy having to work to chew your food (think beef jerky) you might really like this place. If not, well, their pies do look good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MadDog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Comfort Food”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The food here is excellent. The portions are gigantic. There is always enough for two meals. They have a great special daily on steak and eggs and the chicken fried steak is the best anywhere. The servers are always friendly and the desserts are wonderful.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good eats!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a good restaurant to eat whether it is just one person or you are there with your whole family. The food is great and the pies are delish! Also, it's a fun place to eat with all of the bears in the restaurant and the fun menus.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberlynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“for what it is it is very good”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

picture a denny's type of place but with better food - sure its not super epicurian delights but good comfort food AND PLENTY OF IT!!!

it seems most things here are supersized (not that I am complaining) such as a chicken fried steak that is as big if not bigger than the plate, and the huge burgers (there was a saying somewhere to never eat anything bigger than your head - well then you may just starve at this place)

of course they have smaller portions available and great baked items (the warm berry cobbler with 'nilla ice cream mmmm)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 
Porterville, CA
Porterville, CA
 
Porterville, CA
 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing