We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk Agent- Rude” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Porterville
Clovis, United States
1 review
“Front Desk Agent- Rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

The front desk agent- Minnie is so rude and short with me even though I stayed at this hotel many times (10-12 days). First she tells me I don't need the exempt form, even though I know I'm a government employee and exempt from tax. Then when I go back to the office to get reimbursed the tax is on there, she says I didn't fill out the form upon arrival- this is so frustrating and she is gets all short with me again, it's a terrible process and I've had to do it at least 3 times. I decided to have my travel preparer to start having me stay at Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    74
    47
    13
    9
See reviews for
63
38
12
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very clean, comfortable rooms with massage and beauty shops on site and a Denny's attached at the back. Free parking and internet, pretty good breakfast. Would definitely stay here again. Note, if you're visiting to see the National Sequoia Monument, check with the forestry, ancient sequoia monument office; we did and the very helpful staff there advised the winter roads were still closed. Saved us hours and showed us the best route for getting to the National Sequoia Park.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had to stay in Porterville because of convenience, not by choice. Stayed at the Best Western based on price compared with the Holiday Inn. Location is ok with easy access from the highway. Rooms were actually pretty good, large and clean and we had an inner room which looked out to the pool area. This seemed much nicer than the outside facing rooms. I had continued problems with my swipe access card, but the lady at reception was always polite and helpful.
Dinner at Denny's was terrible so I suggest eating somewhere else in Porterville. The only good thing was that it is next to the motel. Breakfast in the motel itself was average, again I'd eat elsewhere.
Served it's purpose as a stop over point but I would be looking to stay elsewhere, preferably not in Porterville.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme_Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I am staying 2 nights on business. I come regularly to this hotel to work on a project nearby. The competing Holliday Inn was pricy and about the same.
Everything seems to work, the bed is comfortable and the room clean. Only they forgot to stock any shampoo or conditioner, which I did not notice til I was in the shower, too bad.

Room Tip: I chose a room towards the (inner circle) overlooking the pool - much quieter (#253). The outer roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnietheEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Porterville Best Western Inn - wish they had dinner as dinner at Denny's left a lot to be desired. The value of the room was worth the stay. The breakfast was terrific! The staff was great and very accommodating! The bed could have been better - it wasn't as plush and comfy as the other Best Western's we stayed at on this trip and it's the ONLY reason we rated this "very good". all else was great! We felt safe and secure with the security system in place.

Room Tip: I would stay here again - just didn't like the food at Denny's so if you're looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Room #1, the toilet would not flush. Room #2, night stands had not been cleaned, bathroom counter had not been cleaned and the bedspread was dirty. The dust ruffle was pulled out on the bottom so I believe the sheets may not have been changed either. Room #3 was acceptable so we stayed. When moving the car closer to the room, a drug deal was witnessed at the end of the parking lot. The show water was warm but not hot.
This was certainly not what we expected from a Best Western. The other 2 nights we had planned to stay were canceled and we stayed in a nearby town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C3Boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Porterville hotels

Sacramento,
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Got this on Priceline for $65/ nt. Great value. Clean and modern. Great staff. Breakfasts were solid: Eggs, waffles, cereals, bread, pastries, etc. Free Newspaper.We will be going back. Parking lot was pretty safe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sacstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porterville
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Porterville
17.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulare
24.4 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn
Address: 350 West Montgomery Avenue, Porterville, CA 93257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Porterville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Porterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and inviting staff welcomes you at the BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn. Experience small town hospitality and charm where the local scenery and beauty will captivate you and invite your senses to awake with pine trees and fresh country air. The possibilities of adventure and relaxation will draw you in with a short drive to Sequoia National Park and Yosemite National Park. The BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn is located in the heart of Porterville with easy access to everything. We are less than a half mile from Porterville College and Downtown Porterville. The McDermont Field House and Porterville Municipal Airport is just a few minutes away. The BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn provides both business and leisure travelers a comfortable and pleasant experience. By providing an unsurpassed degree of service, we are dedicated to ensuring our guests the utmost level of comfort. The BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn is a quaint hotel with all the comforts of your home away from home.For an intimate setting, guests can enjoy breakfast each morning in the casual ambiance of our breakfast room. The BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn offers an extended continental breakfast with an abundant variety of fresh items along with "make your own Belgian waffles." Guest can also enjoy the 24-Hour Denny's Restaurant on site. Guests can relax in our outdoor pool, whirlpool, and sun deck. All of our guest rooms feature full granite showers and vanities, television with pay-per-view movies, Nintendo, extended cable channels, and complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, private voicemail, hair dryer, coffee and tea service, and iron and ironing boards. Our new signature bedding includes triple sheet bedding, pillow tops, feather pillows, and soft duvets. Ample parking is always complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Porterville Hotel Porterville
Porterville Best Western
Best Western Porterville Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing