We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“"WHO WOULD WRITE A REVIEW AT 2:20 a.m. (no typo here) YES A.M. ."” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Porterville
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
372 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“"WHO WOULD WRITE A REVIEW AT 2:20 a.m. (no typo here) YES A.M. ."”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

"I" ....

WARNING!!!!!
"IF" you happen to be a light sleeper you may want to keep looking!!!
Trip reviews did NOT mention a train LITERALLY next to the hotel building :/ The NOISE & VIBRATION in the room feels like you can stick your arm out of the window & touch it! Very annoying not to mention enormously distracting!

I have tried everything!!!
Sleeping under the covers, placing the bed pillows on top of my ears, attempting to drain out the train rattling & vibration by increasing the t.v. volume. You name it I have tried it ....to NO AVAIL :(

If you have NO choice due to the limited accommodations in this area bring EFFECTIVE earplugs IF NOT you too will feel the NEED to pull your hair OUT!!!! Not fun!

The service here is BEYOND excellent!
NOW-I comprehend why!

Verdict:
If you can sleep through a tornado this place is GREAT if you wake up with a fly buzzing the room think twice!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billionsandnocure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear billionsandnocure,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I sincerely apologize apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    38
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
26
28
3
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Second time to this area, the previous year I had stayed at the Best Western next door and this was a night and day difference. Holiday Inn had locking security doors that actually had the latches installed, breakfast was more than just cold cereal and fruit, room was clean and well kept, the whole place had the feel that the staff actually cared about the business

Room Tip: stayed on top floor far from elevator and it was extremely quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXPorterville, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear BILL S,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the complimentary breakfast. We look forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Between the cleanliness of the rooms and hotel in general, and the complimentary breakfast, this hotel will be my go-to choice on the rare occasions I have business in the Porterville area. My stay here was also a first at a Holiday Inn Express, anywhere. So thanks to them and the impression they made with me, I now look to HIEs first when having to travel for business purposes.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boroski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adjasj, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our goal to leave the best impression and make your stay memorable. We have Holiday Inn Express hotels all over the world so you shouldn't have a problem finding us. Thank you again for your comments and your stay. Travel Safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

It was a very nice and clean hotel. We came to Porterville for a family member's wedding and it was the closest to the event. Right off of 190 so you can't miss it. We liked the Burger King in the parking lot for a late night snack and the market across the street for some drinks. The beds weren't the softest, but we were just there one night so it didn't really matter to us. Fresh baked cookies in the front lobby, and although we ate breakfast at the Black Bear Diner down the street, the breakfast there looked a lot better than most hotel chain breakfasts. Overall, good stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellilynn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adjasj, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad you were able to stay with us while celebrating with your family. We appreciate your honest review and hope you stay with us again next time you are in the area. Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was truly a nice, modern, comfortable, hotel, at a great price. The room and bed were very quiet and comfortable. Climate control was hi tech, easy to regulate and quiet. Had a really nice nights sleep, after a long travel day.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Met45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

very nice hotel, kinda in the middle of nothing. Clean, nice quiet rooms, good shower/water pressure. Front desk reception was very friendly & the girl working the breakfast buffet was super sweet. During breakfast I watched the hostess as she chatted with every guest taking a genuine interest in everyone. She even made me a little to-go bag (banana, apple, muffin & bottle water) for my long road trip. What a pleasant little hotel. Not much in this area so food choices are limited but the pancakes on the breakfast buffett were pretty good

Room Tip: request a room facing the back to reduce road noise (not that it was bad anyway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M00seM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chables, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Send a night on my trip from LA to Sequoia. Front desk was very friendly and profesional. Room was great and quiet, I had a great and relaxing night after a 5h road trip.

I spend 21 nights, mostly in HI facility during my US vacation, and this one was on the top three (and was one of the less expensive)!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebul0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adjasj, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for such a kind review. We appreciate it when our guest take the time to review our property and we are glad to be in your personal top 3! It is always nice to hear that you had a chance to rest and relax at our property. Thank you for choosing our brand while visiting the US. Enjoy the rest of your summer and Thank you Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porterville
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn
BEST WESTERN Porterville Inn
#2 of 4 in Porterville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Porterville
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Town & Country Lodge
21.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tulare
21.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tulare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville
Address: 840 S Jaye St, Porterville, CA 93257-5914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Porterville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Porterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Porterville, CA. A warm and friendly staff awaits you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Porterville, California. We are minutes away from Lake Success and Eagle Mountain Casino. Our prime location will put you with in minutes of famous attractions such as the Sequoia National Forest, Kings Canyon National Park and California Hot Springs. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar, served every morning, complete with our Signature Cinnamon Rolls. Hotel features include: an outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, business center, fitness center, complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the entire hotel. All of our spacious guest rooms have 32' flat screen TVs, ultra comfy pillow top mattresses, convenient desk space, microwaves and refrigerators. Visit Porterville, CA and Stay Smart at The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Porterville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Porterville
Holiday Inn Porterville
Porterville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Porterville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing