We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pinoy taste @ Porterville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lorlyn's Kitchen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lorlyn's Kitchen
Cuisines: Filipino, Asian
Restaurant details
Vista, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pinoy taste @ Porterville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

The place was clean and the food is great. My class went in there for lunch. We have different races in our class...and they loved the food!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bornok_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
previse
Level Contributor
165 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Hard to find, closes early”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Their small artful sign makes the restaurant difficult to find. Look for a reddish rectangle on a long concrete facade in a series of much larger signs. At 6:30, when we finally found the place, they were closing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank previse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore
1 review
“professional taste of P.I. food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I took my wife there and we really liked it , very clean restaurant. service is great.we eat chicken adobo, chicken afitada, mungo bean soup. soon I can't wait until they start serving chicken larp,beef larb yun nua

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best Filipino Restaurants I've eaten at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I brought my family to Lorlyn's Kitchen from a friend's suggestion and we weren't disappointed. The place has a new ownership and the food and service were outstanding. The three of us were treated to a dinner of oxtail, fried rice, 2 kinds of lumpia, pork/chicken adobo and menudo. The portions were plentiful and they were more than happy to box up what we couldn't finish to take home and enjoy another day. Seeing as it was a little slow that evening, Lorlyn and her husband (Mike?) sat down at the table next to us and started chatting. Very friendly couple and we're certainly glad we made the decision to eat there. Price was reasonable enough for a family of three with big appetites and some leftovers (<$30). I spent several years overseas in the US Navy and many of those in the Philippines, so I know authentic Filipino food. This is the real deal. I highly recommend Lorlyn's Kitchen.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Troutinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lorlyn's Kitchen also viewed

 
Porterville, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing