We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Tapatio

El Tapatio
Ranked #5 of 103 Restaurants in Porterville
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good mexican food”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

great little series of mexican restaraunts in the local area (two in town one out by ducor)
can get a bit noisy inside
they have good food, love the huge chips (lol) and great pico
their enchalada sauce is either a love it or hate it thing some think it is too sweet some like it - personally I like it

oh and their chili relenos - love them

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great portions”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

An abundance of food but the sauce was a little to sweet for my liking but everything else was good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lookingskyward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get the guac, salsa & chips!!!!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband, daughter and I went here while we were visiting our niece and I crave it now that I am back in Ohio! This is the BEST guac & salsa I have ever had. I also managed to finish my chicken burrito because the food was delicious. Also, the staff were all very friendly and accomidating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you don't know good mexican food, then this is your place.”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Didn't like their sweet enchilada sauce, the food was greasy, and generally just not tasty mexican food. Sorry, but I have been here about 3 times and still cannot see why people like it? Would rather go to Exeter or Visalia for some great mexican food, worth the drive!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmshafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food !”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This restraunt serves good meals at affordable prices. Porterville has a bar. Going for dinner ? Always packed. Worth the wait.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeanettemtngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tapatio also viewed

 

Been to El Tapatio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing