We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of El Tapatio

El Tapatio
Ranked #6 of 104 Restaurants in Porterville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Monterey, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The mexican food is excellent! We eat here everytime we are in Porterville. Best salsa & margaritas! Very popular restaurant with the locals which is always a good sign

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnTerraBella_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best in town!”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our family loves this place! When the kids & family are home, they always have to have at least one meal at El Tap. The portions are large, the prices very reasonable.
The salsa, tostada compuesta, junior super deluxe burrito, chicken quesadilla, & flautas are our favorites. Almost every dish can be prepared with ground beef, shredded beef, chicken, or pork. You'll love it.
Family owned & operated with very attentive servers.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliQzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Choice for Mexican Food”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

It's not fancy, but the food sure is good. Their signature sweet mole sauce is featured in several dishes including the Junior Super Deluxe Burrito (one of my favorites). Their fresh made chips and salsa alone is worth the visit. This is a place we make sure to bring all our out-of-town guests to experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DGriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

If you want good Mexican Food - this is where to go!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BootsGalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in town!”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Every time I go back home to visit family, I ALWAYS stop in! Their chips and salsa are unbelievable and so are the enchiladas. Great atmosphere for any occasion!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank L0ve2seeTheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tapatio also viewed

 
Porterville, CA
Porterville, CA
 

Been to El Tapatio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing