We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, older motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Via Mar Inn and Tennis Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed just one night but it's in a very good location, the motel itself was very clean & our king room very spacious. Lots of older people here because the price is very low, and many of these people are playing tennis. The grounds are very pleasant. Breakfast was free, but more of a continental type. Just down the street from many good restaurants & shops.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelers1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 159 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel was located perfectly for us. We were traveling the Pacific Coast Highway on motorcycle from Los Angeles to Washington. We chose this hotel based on reviews and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It was conveniently located for sight seeing. The breakfast was wonderful. All the help was very friendly and helped with all our questions. We had a kitchenette area in our room and it was some what dated but very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This motel is really good value for the rate. We had a kitchen unit which was spacious with a large table, full couch and small separate fully equipped kitchen. We stayed a week and found nothing to complain about. The housekeeping service was excellent and the housekeepers all worked very hard. The hot breakfast is plentiful and a good variety of hot and cold breakfast items. Nothing fancy, but should have something for everyone. The happy hour is really good value and fun to visit with the bartender and others. The location is close enough to walk to the Channel Islands harbor. There are plenty of smaller restaurants close by and Roxbury Deli is less than a block. MacDonalds is across the street for families. Located on the main boulevard which is a busy road, but that did not bother us. The WiFi was a bit slow in the morning, and I know they are working to improve it. There was fresh coffee and donuts in the lobby in the morning and a free LA times. The pool area was very clean and the tennis courts looked great. A really good buy in Ventura County.

Room Tip: I would request a 2nd floor room with a balcony....views not great, but nice to enjoy the wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Altagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ilya M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

After checking in and having to wait for almost 20 minutes because the lady behind the counter was alone and took 4 phone long phone calls, we went to the room to find it a mess and not made up. We were given another room that was shy of a few pillows. We were given one pillow, without a pillow case and told that was all they had. We will not be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debiwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were in 128 which was in the main block of rooms - no balcony, windows that couldn't open, and thus very little fresh air. There are some however with balconies, overlooking a moderately trafficked road. The room we had was roomy and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate, and Ralph's grocery is just up the road.

Room Tip: room overlooking the road have cute little balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silentjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We needed a place to stay while we attended the County Fair in Ventura, but prices in that town were sky-high. Casa Via Mar was half the price of comparable motels in Ventura and looked good on the internet, so we thought we'd take a chance. We weren't disappointed. Our room was everything we were promised and more. We had two comfortable queen size beds with a comfortable easy chair, a small table with three chairs, and a kitchenette with a small fridge, a microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and sink, as well as dishes and silverware in the cupboards. The room was bigger than most motel rooms, and it was clean and nicely furnished and comfortable, with a very efficient air conditioner, as well as a ceiling fan. The $77 rate included a full hot breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful, even bringing in an extra easy chair for our second night when we asked. Though we didn't use them, the pool and tennis courts looked very nice. The property is nicely landscaped and well-maintained, Casa Via Mar is an easy 8-mile drive from Ventura--even closer to the harbor. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janb546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hueneme
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Inn at Oxnard
Inn at Oxnard
#11 of 14 in Oxnard
180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Oxnard Inn
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Via Mar Inn and Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Via Mar Inn and Tennis Club

Address: 377 W Channel Islands Blvd, Port Hueneme, CA 93041-1722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Port Hueneme
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Price Range: $82 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Via Mar Inn and Tennis Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Via Mar in conveniently located in Port Hueneme, next to the Port Hueneme Naval Base, and only minutes to beaches, variety of shopping, dining, and entertainment. 74 beautifully appointed rooms that contain many unique amenities. These inclusive in one low price. * Complimentary hot breakfast, Complimentary T-1 wireless internet access, Heated pool and Spa, Six Championship Tennis Courts, Free movies with popcorn, Refigerators, hair dryers, iron and ironing board in every room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Via Mar Inn and Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Via Mar Inn And Tennis Club Hotel Port Hueneme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing