We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Nice rooms, Pleasant Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
san diego
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Value, Nice rooms, Pleasant Staff”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Have stayed here a few times. Rooms are clean. Newer rooms are very good size. Staff is very pleasant. Given the price point and proximity to the beach and restaurants a very good deal. Will definitely stay here again! Make sure you ask for one of the "newer" rooms as they appear to be larger in size with more amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    7
    1
    10
See reviews for
12
14
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

In times past, this was a pretty nice property and, as its name suggests, a good value. Not any more! Rooms and especially bathrooms in terrible shape. 1. past "guests" have carved names and slogans into the furniture! 2. no telephones (either stolen by guests or not provided). 3. dirty blankets 4. insufficient towels 5. no clothes hangers 6. drawers don't operate without tugging 7. tv remote cracked and missing doors 8. toilets sometime do not flush 9. drains sometimes drain very slowly 10. grout in bathroom dirty and/or missing 11. rooms not cleaned every day of stay... just fresh towels.

We gave this place a couple of tries because the folk are very pleasant... but we gave up because the owners will not put penny one into the many many problems. Something is wrong and the environmental health folk need to take a look.

Room Tip: Oh yes... to choose a good room, go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJM921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neeta P, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are pleased to announce that a number of our rooms have new furniture, bedding, and baths.
You make have visited us during this transition and we do apologize. I brought your comments to our housekeeping department and we have stocked out rooms with more towel and hangers. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. I did notice that you you have visited us a few times before and I hope that you give us another try when you are out in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very pleasant people who run this motel, even gave us an upgrade! Room was large and very clean. just down the road is the Sea bees museum which is worth a visit. A very safe motel. Although breakfast is included there wasn't a lot to choose from except cakes. Steill well worth the money, very pleased with our stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witcheshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Ok, the place is clean and has a good rate. But strange things seem to be happening.... 1) the laminated paper @ the front desk and on the room door lists some general "hotel rules", only the 2nd rule is NO PROSTITUTION! Ummm, what? Also the room sort of smelled like citrus cleaner @ first, but now smells like animal urine/kitty litter. Not sure what is up w/ that, cuz there is no carpet, but maybe they used to allow pets and just covered up the bad carpet w/ wood tiling? Owner is kind of weird and seems to stalk the grounds a lot. As long as my car dosent get busted into, guess I'm cool w/ it. @ any rate, since it was clean, cheap, and has fast internet, I guess its allright. Most places in Cali are frustrating, and this hotel is no different. Just wish id had a stuffed nose that night!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neeta P, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We have been in business for over 35 years in Port Hueneme. Our motto is to run a reputable business. The sign that you mention is dated from over 35 years ago. And thanks to your feedback, we have removed it from our property. Since your visit, new carpet has been installed in the rooms. We certainly hope to see you back at our property very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I travel to Ventura County several times per week and this is the best deal in town. Direct t.v. w/ internet acces, you can't beat it. Close to the beach w/ restaurants and fast food within walkimg or driving distance. The staff is pleasant and helpful also. Keep up the good work y'all. I suggest America Best Value Inn to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapone93033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I have to admit, I was skeptical. I had booked a reservation at A.B.V.I., then came across a post that was less than sterling. Well, it was to late to change my reservation so I checked in. What I experienced was nothing like the derogatory review I had seen.
The hotel is clean, well run and safe. I had a couple of opportunities to speak with the manager and his wife, and found them friendly and accommodating. The rooms have been recently updated, and house keeping is reliable and I didn't have to worry about my property.
Fortunately, I didn't take the disgruntled guest advise. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennisball_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I had a nice one night stay here. My room was upgraded to a larger room with a king
sized bed. The room was clean, had a mini-fridge & microwave. Motel was very
convenient with a Thai & Vietnamese Pho restaurants closeby. Couch in the room
had seen better days. Staff was very cordial & accomodating. Only negative for me was
the breakfast was not available until 8am. Very quiet & restful.

Room Tip: Join the ABV
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hplunkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hueneme
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inn at Oxnard
Inn at Oxnard
#10 of 14 in Oxnard
178 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Oxnard Inn
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme
Address: 340 E Pleasant Valley Rd, Port Hueneme, CA 93041-2746
Location: United States > California > Port Hueneme
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing