We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money on these dirty, run down rooms with rude service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your money on these dirty, run down rooms with rude service.”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My husband and I checked in and went to the room. The room was small, the curtain didn't close completely, their was writing on the wall and scratched into the furniture. We were tired and decided to put our bags down and settle in anyways. Then my husband tried to turn on the TV. It didn't work and that was enough for us. We were only in the room 2 minutes and were charged $25 for the 2 tissues my husband used to blow his nose. If that wasn't enough, the guy at the desk was rude when we told him we were taking our business elsewhere and that the TV didn't work. He kept implying that there was something illegal going on in the 2 minutes we were in the room. That right there tells me that he must run into that type of illegal activity on a regular basis. Ewwwww! If you are a Navy family hoping to stay near base, don't. Scrape up a little more cash and stay at the big hotel down the street. It's much cleaner, comfortable and you get a good breakfast, in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14Navymom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neeta P, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Unfortunately, your visit was before our remodel. The rooms now have beautiful new furniture and flat screen T.V.'s. I apologize for your unsatisfactory customer service from the front desk. I assure you that we have taken appropriate action so this does not happen again. Our rooms do include breakfast in the morning and we hope that you give us another try when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    7
    1
    8
See reviews for
10
14
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I have been here several times and each time I find a clean room, friendly staff and a place to get away to. Sam, in the front office, has been particularly helpful to me in the past and I look forward to his help each time I come. I use the place as a personal retreat spot and it is perfect for my needs.

Room Tip: The Queen bed room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

...Hotel is very clean. Close to a supermarket, liquor store, restaurant and fastfood. It's on the bicycle route of the Pacific Coast, so no extra miles to go.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biggi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed at the end of our trip down the Pacific Coast Highway when LA was just too far away for the day. Found the place to be great value. The lovely guy behind the counter very kindly upgraded us for free from a double to a king room and the room was absolutely huge! The room was in very good condiiton, had a fridge and microwave and lovely hot shower. There were hundreds of channels on the TV and the wifi worked perfectly. Slept really well.
Close to plenty of restaurants and the diner on the corner of the motel was perfect for a cheap and hearty breakfast.
Overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leebee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Clean .. nice people .. std. class rooms .. marginal TV reception .. lots of towels, etc. .. WiFi. Make sure you get directions from hotel people as GPS will take you out of the way if you are coming from LAX. There are much nicer/more expensive motels on the N. side of the base .. but beware of some real hell holes further away from the base in Port Hueneme. If you need to work - then sleep - at a reasonable cost, this works. Jim/Salisbury Maryland

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesCancil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2009

“The staff was friendly, hard working and very accommodating. There was a nice and clean carpeting all over but the room I was given was bit smaller than I wanted. Upon request, I was moved to the newer wing with a larger room without any hesitation. Microwave, coffeemaker, and little refrigerator came real handy. The hotel’s restaurant was our favorite place during our stay for great meals at budget prices. What a difference, from my previous visit, five years ago, when it was being renovated.”

Robert Zimmer
Chicago, Illinois

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimmer_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We, family of four stayed in Americas Best Value Inn, Oxnard/Port Hueneme, California for our vacation during July 4th holidays for five days.
Our stay was very pleasant. Rooms were very clean, staff was very friendly, courteous, and very helpful.
The rooms were newly renovated with taste and comfort. The location was within walking distance to pacific ocean, clean beaches, and great restaurants.
We will certainly recommend to anybody to stay who is coming for vacation or business trip.
A.Patel
Houston, Texas

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASPHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hueneme
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme
Address: 340 E Pleasant Valley Rd, Port Hueneme, CA 93041-2746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Port Hueneme
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Oxnard / Port Hueneme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing