We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

This hotel is almost next to a really nice beach, I was pleasantly surprised how near it was. I was on business and enjoyed a nice run along the beach and pier that was less than 500 yards away. The hotel was fine, I didn't have any problems with the room, and got a good price over Hotwire. They had a good breakfast and the chef there was very nice and attentive.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank status88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviaflaaten, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed running on the beach that is only 2 blocks away.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Nichole Pinkard
Front Desk Manager
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
805-271-2672
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    66
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
58
47
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

While visiting a family member stationed at Oxnard Naval Base, we stayed in the Country Inn Suites for a week. The beach was a nice walking distance through a safe and quiet neighborhood. The accomadations were very clean and their food was excellent. We had a delicious hot breakfast every morning and apples and cookies throughout our stay. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohio26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I'll keep this short and sweet - staff inattentive, rates not as booked, noisy, rooms dirty (the carpet was very very very dirty) and glad to leave (earlier than planned).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooksy502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA Central Coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

I booked this hotel room on Priceline for $50. A friend and I were staying after a 100 mile bike race. We needed to wake early the next morning to bike 60 more. The reason I say this, is because we were tired! We found the hotel to be a bit far from the freeway. This was my fault, as I should have studied maps a bit clearer. A day before check in I called to secure the room. They said they only had king rooms available. I asked for a roll away bed, and I was informed it would be an extra $10. When we arrived, we noticed the surrounding area was not the best. It gets better as you near the beach. But the grounds were very nice, and you feel safe on the property. The lobby was nice and bright. I immediatly noticed we were the only non military guests, being that the hotel was next to the Navy base. But this is certainly not an issue, just an observation. It was an honor to meet these men and women.

We went to the room, and found it to be very large, including a couch and living room furniture. Also, the roll away bed was already in the room. This was a nice touch. My friend and I went downstairs to the "evening reception" It was located next to the lobby in a "fireside" room. It was like a cafeteria with living room furniture. We had our choice of basic alcohol beverages and some light snacks. It was a nice touch to unwind. Nothng fancy. The cups were plastic and the snacks were nachos, pretzels, and carrots. But its included in the room. And its nice to see folks laughing and having fun together.

That evening I went to use the jacuzzi by the pool. The pool is very small, but it fits in the small patio they have out back. The jacuzzi was a welcome event after such a tough day. Going back to the room I noticed a few things of note. The room and building are definatly old and have seen a lot of use. But it is well maintained. The tub/shower had a cracked floor which is not bad but a bit unattractive. As I said earlier the room was very large, especially for a king. In the living room seciton I found a VERY clean refrigerator and microwave. I usually find these tacky and dirty. But here, they were out of the way and displayed on an attractive stand. The cleanliness made them a nice addition. And just before bed, I discovered the free wireless internet. Great!

We woke at 6:30 to race again. We went downstairs for their free breakfast. Served like a cafeteria. And nothing fancy. I missed the bacon, there was none. But a fine selection of other things, and a friendly staff. Checkout was a breeze, with only the rollaway to pay for. Overall a nice hotel. Nothing fancy, but nothing lacking. As stated in the title, it did the trick, and for the rate I recieved, I was very happy. Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ant4fatony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2009

I got in from NY on the 14th of June and as there was no space at the time on the Navy base I went to this hotel instead.
Warning. If you have a government travel card, STAY AWAY. Imagine the huge coronary infarction I about had when I looked at the projected price for a 2 -week stay : $2000!!! Plus they will put a hold on your GTCC for another $500 "for incidentals". I bit the bullet and said ok. Then about a week later, after I had to have another 2 grand added to my credit limit so i could EAT, (between the rental car and the hotel they both murdered my freaking card!!!) I get another bill from them ($1000)

URGH!!! I paid up the balance and I packed my stuff and left.

The hotel itself is nice, to be fair. They have a nice swimming pool and continental breakfast, plus a staff that is fairly nice and not borderline psycho or bipolar. Like I said in the title, if you want to stay a night or two its good. If you want to stay longer you had better be made of money else they will be knocking on the door...wanting to bend you over and... you get the picture.

$3 for a bottle of water, WTFO?

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conster74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

For what I paid for the room, it was a good value. The hotel options in the city are limited, but this one was worth the stay. The food was good and the hotel made a point to have evening events, offering complimentary drinks and snacks. It was nice to get to socialize in what appeared to be a business-traveler oriented hotel.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rileigh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I was too late to book a hotel in santa barbara for the UCSB commencement. and everything within 30 miles was booked. so i used hotwire and ended up with this hotel. i wasn't expecting much in oxnard. but it turned out to be okay.

on the plus side: it was a good price, the rooms were quiet and mostly comfortable, the beds were pretty comfortable, it came with free breakfast (and was actually fairly tasty), and it's close to the beach.

on the down side: it's way off the freeway, the beach that it's close to is huge, but not popular at all (that may be a plus for some people). but for a 3 star, it's hard to complain. especially at the hotwire price. i wouldn't go out of my way to stay here. but if you're in the area for a night or two, you could do much worse.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottSD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hueneme
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Oxnard Inn
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
10.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme

Property: Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
Address: 350 E Port Hueneme Rd, Port Hueneme, CA 93041-3209 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Port Hueneme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express, Port Hueneme, California. Port Hueneme, the "Jewel of the California Coast" is situated between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara and is within walking distance to the beautiful, pristine beaches of Port Hueneme. Our spacious, newly renovated guest rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves in every room and a complimentary Express Start breakfast served each morning. For exploring the area, the Holiday Inn Express is unmatched among hotels in Port Hueneme. Stay with us and you're just a short stroll from beautiful beaches, great shopping, excellent restaurants, fun attractions and local nightlife with Santa Monica and downtown Los Angeles under an hour away. Time your visit just right and you can join us for exciting annual events such as the Point Mugu Quiksilver Surf Competition, Port Hueneme Beach Festival, Ventura County Fair, Point Mugu Air Show, California Strawberry Festival, Banana Festival or Salsa Festival. Our government or business travelers will enjoy our close proximity to the main entrance of Naval Base Ventura County, the Port of Hueneme and many major businesses. The 24-hour Business Center and complimentary wired and wireless HSIA offer convenience, and our spacious meeting room is perfect for hosting meetings or events. This Port Hueneme hotel is also located just a few blocks from the new U. S. Seabee Museum and three miles from the Ventura County Maritime Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme Hotel Port Hueneme
Country Inn Port Hueneme
Port Hueneme Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing