We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Certificate of Excellence
San Dimas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

It is advertised as a newly renovated facility, however, the hallway has smoke odors, the wallpaper in the room was peeling, the tub was dirty, and we found a half eaten cookie on the carpet int our room probably from previous guest. The breakfast buffet was average. Not worth the price. Will not recommend or return again.

  • Disliked — Old facility and dirty
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    63
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
57
45
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

Nice hotel for families with kids. We were able to walk to the beach and watch the 4th of July fireworks. Great rate for being next to the beach and a holiday weekend. The eating area was roomy. Staff was friendly except for when they closed the pool a half hour early. Location was far from the interstate. But in a nice area. Rooms were roomy too.

  • Liked — dinning room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank desertchick27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2008

This place really lives up to its reviews in all respects. Safe, friendly staff, excellent facilities - even the pool and fitness center equipment is in great condition for a hotel in this price range. The breakfast is always fresh and cheerfully served. Nightly hospitality for two full hours gives you a good chance to get there.

Speaking of which, be sure to get there on Tuesday evening if possible when a local restaurant will supply a tray of hot hors d'ouvres.

Housekeeping and front desk staff were very helpful. Evening walk to the ocean and then up and down the beach was a treat. Local restaurants are okay, and it is not that far to Ventura for a couple of really good options.

  • Liked — Clean, convenient, helpful staff.
  • Disliked — This is picky - the hall carpets were a little soiled.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stubbs1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2008

Due to business I had to stay in Oxnard, CA for 3 weeks. I stayed in the Country Inn Suites Port Hueneme. I arrive at Oxnard Airport very early and I call the hotel to see if I could leave my bags there. They had my room ready by the time it took me to drive there (15 minutes) The staff is super friendly (just nice people). My room was not super fancy but it was clean and the bed is so comfy and soft. The cleaning lady was just a sweetheart and they took care of my room everyday. There is free breakfast in the morning and I am talking eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit and if you don't have time for that just grab a bag.
The Hueneme beach is just 2 minutes walk distance and is just amazing. So, if you are there for business and want to feel welcome go to the Country Inn. It's not fancy but the service is 4 stars.

  • Liked — The Service
  • Disliked — Needs to be remodel
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelingemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2007

Super friendly helpful and efficient staff!

Great location to walk to the beach and a fantastic Mexican Restaurant across the road with great food!

Room was okay, older, well used linen but certainly clean and perfect for our family of 5.

Breakfast was your basic hotel breakfast, nothing exciting but adequate. We missed the free Managers evening appetisers, but could save you $$ on dinner out with kids :)

Kids enjoyed the small outdoor pool - enough for a play but not a place to hang out all day.

Good deal for the price. The room had a coffee maker, fridge and free wireless. TV channels were fine, mix of English and Spanish - welcome to California :)

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — older bedding (torn), no view
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2005

The Country Inn and Suites in Port Hueneme is anything but sweat. It has a crusty carpet in most of the rooms. The hot tub is continually broken, and the TV choices are great if you speak only a foreign language. Not recommeded to anyone unless they are looking for a cheap crusty place.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2005

The four of us stayed here on Saturday night to pick up my son from boot camp. For 119.00 it was a good deal. They let us check in early as we needed room for my sons seabag in the car. I originally just wanted to check bags but our room was ready. It's not near the town but a bus does stop out front. The beach is about 2 blocks away. They have a nice evening reception with snacks and complimentary cocktails. They also have books for free which you can drop off on your next visit. The room was nice with hbo and easy chair. The pool area ajoins the dining area where you can enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast...a good deal for four people in my party. The hotel was fully booked on our visit but we did not have to wait for food or use of pool area.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank sallyhess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
Dear Sallyhess,

We at the Holiday Inn Express appreciate your nice comments about our hotel and the many things we have to offer. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to assisting you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Reanna Santiago
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hueneme
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
10.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme

Property: Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
Address: 350 E Port Hueneme Rd, Port Hueneme, CA 93041-3209 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Port Hueneme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Hueneme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express, Port Hueneme, California. Port Hueneme, the "Jewel of the California Coast" is situated between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara and is within walking distance to the beautiful, pristine beaches of Port Hueneme. Our spacious, newly renovated guest rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves in every room and a complimentary Express Start breakfast served each morning. For exploring the area, the Holiday Inn Express is unmatched among hotels in Port Hueneme. Stay with us and you're just a short stroll from beautiful beaches, great shopping, excellent restaurants, fun attractions and local nightlife with Santa Monica and downtown Los Angeles under an hour away. Time your visit just right and you can join us for exciting annual events such as the Point Mugu Quiksilver Surf Competition, Port Hueneme Beach Festival, Ventura County Fair, Point Mugu Air Show, California Strawberry Festival, Banana Festival or Salsa Festival. Our government or business travelers will enjoy our close proximity to the main entrance of Naval Base Ventura County, the Port of Hueneme and many major businesses. The 24-hour Business Center and complimentary wired and wireless HSIA offer convenience, and our spacious meeting room is perfect for hosting meetings or events. This Port Hueneme hotel is also located just a few blocks from the new U. S. Seabee Museum and three miles from the Ventura County Maritime Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme Hotel Port Hueneme
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Port Hueneme
Country Inn Port Hueneme
Port Hueneme Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing