We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older, but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Pomona
Washington state
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Older, but nice”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Fairplex for one week in late October. Our suite was comfortable, large enough and clean. The furniture could have used some slight updating (small tear in couch cushion, very small hole in leather armchair, mattress on my side was a little worn) but was definitely sufficient. Two giant TVs. Staff were very helpful and quick to accomadate. Hotel has many meeting rooms, also outdoor pool and an exercise room. Only ate in the restaurant once, but it was good, if somewhat expensive. It has a breakfast buffet. There are other restaurants within a 10 minute drive. Room had a frig, micro, "bar" sink and coffee maker, very handy. There is a park across the street, altho locals told us it has a somewhat shady reputation after dark. We never saw anything going on. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room that does not look out over the main entrance, as that is where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLHbigfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilbertGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear SLHbigfoot,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. At the Sheraton Fairplex, we strive to provide our guests with warm and comfortable accommodations and I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Also thank you for shining light on the furniture tear. We will have our rooms inspected closely and repair any damages immediately.

Again, thank you for your time and kind words and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
John Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    147
    43
    24
    12
See reviews for
102
55
25
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I found this hotel to be a very good value, particularly given the location. I don't mean that as a put-down but as a business reality. Hotels that cater to the business traveler run a considerable range. If there's a significant draw, the hotels are nice because they compete. This hotel doesn't really have a significant draw except the county fairgrounds. Yet, it provided very good service; very decent meals; very clean rooms and a friendly and professional staff. I recommend it to the business traveler who finds themselves in that area or to families on vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvabalos50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilbertGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Greetings jvabalos50,

We, at the Sheraton Fairplex and Conference Center, greatly appreciate the positive comments that you have left about your stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to offer this feedback.

Our staff always aims to provide our guests with the best experience possible and I am pleased that you were welcomed during your stay. While we do draw crowds for events at the fairgrounds, we are also pleased to announce the opening of our conference center located directly behind our location. Here we will be able to cater to large events and business meetings. We encourage you to return and enjoy our new attraction.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Warm Regards,
John Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

There is nothing exceptional about the breakfast, the restaurant or the service. I still rate the hotel as "Very Good" because it has very spacious and comfortable rooms and a relaxing pool area with a little hot tub next to it. I did enjoy my stay in this hotel. Everything was convenient and went smoothly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lullabymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilbertGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear lullabymoon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write these positive comments about your recent stay with us. At the Sheraton Fairplex, we strive to provide excellent service and a friendly environment. I am pleased that we met your needs during your stay. Again, thank you for your time and your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
John Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is a very nice hotel and we have stayed here 4-5 times. We attend an event every year at the Fairplex next door called the Off-Road Expo. It is pretty much our annual trade show. So even years that we don't stay in the hotel, we still utilize the restaurant and lounge. We live about 90 minutes south of the hotel, so it's a nice treat to not have to drive back and forth for 3 days in a row. The rooms are lovely and all of the rooms are suites. You can close the doors to the "bedroom" with pocket doors and have guests over. There is a couch with a hide-a-bed and a nice sized coffee table as well as a desk for business needs. Both rooms have a nice sized flat-screen television. The shower has a lot of pressure and the towels are softer than most hotels. They offer both shampoo and conditioner and a nice hair dryer that is not attached to the wall and has a little more power than those that are. Rooms have a small refridgerator and a microwave. The bed is pretty soft, but not as soft as mine at home. There are extra pillows and blanket in the wardrobe, that is always nice.

Now, for the restaurant. The food is good, the menu is extremely small. I felt the food was overpriced for what I got. Breakfast buffet is $15 and just as crappy as Laughlin. Cold food, out of eggs, only syrup for the waffles, cream cheese, but no bagels, etc. My breakfast burrito the next day was very good, though. My biggest complaint with the place is they are consistently so slow it makes me insane! When people have to get to the Fairplex to open a booth by 9 a.m. and show up at 8 for breakfast, it shouldn't take an hour to feed them. The place is always empty, so there is no need to make reservations, but I don't think they could be much slower. They don't get tables ready until you show up (most places are setting up tables in between customers), and it literally takes 5 minutes for the waitress to come back to tell you a table is ready. Really? I can see 10 empty tables from where I'm standing! I just don't know why they can't seat you right away. I have NEVER been seated right away there. They are in no hurry to take your order or come by and check on you. I usually have to ask for my check so I can leave and get to work. So, the food is pretty good, but don't go if you're in a hurry. We ended up just ordering room service for dinner and it was at our hotel room in 20 minutes, which is much faster than we would have received it downstairs. So that is my recommendation to you. Also, the bar menu has a good burger on it. No burgers next door in the restaurant. Service is a little better in the bar, but only at the bar, and not at the tables in the bar. They usually have one waiter/waitress working the tables and it is wall to wall people at this event.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilbertGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Greetings Angie12345,

Thank you very much for your positive and detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I appreciate that you took the time to write these courteous and constructive comments.

At the Sheraton Fairplex, we pride ourselves in providing our guests with a warm and comfortable experience. In regards to your stay in particular, I apologize that we were not able to seat you in a timely manner. We always make the greatest effort to provide our guests with quick, yet pleasing service. I assure you that we have taken steps in improving this expectation.

The Off-Road Expo is always an exciting event and we thank you for your loyalty. We hope to see you again soon and we get the chance to show you improvements in your areas of concern.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write this detailed feedback of your stay.

Warm Regards,
John Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of night while in town on business and the hotel was perfect for that purpose. Rooms are spacious, clean and quiet - key factors when I am traveling for work. Would have gotten a higher rating if it weren't for the dated lobby, and dreary rundown hallways. In the end, it's the room that is important, so I would definitely stay here again for a business trip - not that there is much selection out in Pomona.

PROS - Large suite-like rooms, quiet and clean.
CONS - OK restaurant, not much food selection in the area. Lobby is rather dated and hallways need to be redone - lots of bumpy carpet and torn/stained wallpaper with dark lighting

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltrotter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I gave this hotel 4 stars because it was clean and quiet and the personnel were very nice. However, our top floor king suite was small and the fold out sofa bed was pretty torturous. The attached restaurant (McKinley's Grille) was not very good. We ate dinner there the first night. The clam chowder was strong tasting/smelling and the chopped salad was really nothing - pretty much a bowl of lettuce. The eggplant ravioli was good, however. The complimentary breakfast was just ok. The TV check-out didn't work after 6 tries Sunday morning, and you do have to check out at this hotel. (Some hotels give you the bill under the door your last morning and you just leave the keys in the room - here you actually must either check out via the TV, or at the front desk.) If you are not out of the room by noon, they charge you 75% of a day's rate! The pool and jacuzzi area were nice, but I never saw any personnel around to ask for the scaldingly hot jacuzzi to be turned down a couple of degrees. The jacuzzi was almost never being used, and this was probably the reason. Parking is normally included in the room rate (room was not cheap - $200/night with tax, etc.,) but because of the LA County Fair we were charged an additional $8.00 per night for parking. I thought that was unwarranted. What is the message there? We would prefer to use our lot for Fair Parking for a day rather than use it for our registered guests?

Room Tip: Top floor room was pretty quiet. Our room overlooked the back of the hotel and the view was really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelaunt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton so we could attend the 2011 Los Angeles County Fair. The suite was quite spacious and very clean. The "Sweet Sleeper bed" was a joy to sleep on, as the both of us did a lot of walking around the fair every day and were ready to hit the hay when we got back at night.
The fridge and microwave are a nice touch. Hotel staff members were friendly and courteous. We splurged for room service for two nights in a row and it was certainly worth it! The food was quite delicious! (steak and caesar salad one night, next night: club sandwich and a cheeseburger) Yum! Our server was very prompt and polite. Our AAA package included the breakfast buffet at McKinley's Grille. They offer a very nice selection of breakfast goodies, including a very tasty sausage!
In closing, you can't go wrong by staying at the Sheraton Fairplex.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Route66USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilbertGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Greetings Route66USA,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write these positive comments about your recent stay with us. At the Sheraton Fairplex, we strive to provide our guests with a pleasing and memorable experience and I am pleased that we met your needs during your stay. Again, thank you for your time and your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
John Gilbert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pomona
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Pomona
Comfort Inn Pomona
#2 of 14 in Pomona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pomona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western San Dimas Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casa 425
Hotel Casa 425
#2 of 5 in Claremont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Dimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 601 W McKinley Ave, Pomona, CA 91768-1635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pomona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Pomona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center is ideally located in a park-like setting near the 10, 210 and 57 freeways in Pomona, CA. Just a few short miles from the LA/Ontario International Airport, our Pomona hotel offers easy access to all of the Southern California excitement in Los Angeles, San Bernardino and Orange Counties. This convenient location provides a perfect setting for family vacations to Southern California or company meetings and retreats. Enjoy our state of the art fitness center or additional benefits and amenities when you book a Club Level room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Fairplex Hotel Pomona
Sheraton Hotel Pomona
Sheraton Pomona
Pomona Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing