We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gloria Ferrer Wine Dinner was Perfect”
Review of Hotel Mac

Hotel Mac
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Point Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mac
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Richmond
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gloria Ferrer Wine Dinner was Perfect”
Reviewed March 31, 2009

As in the Title. Perfect dinner with wonderful wine and service.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fruncdodo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
16
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

My family and I had stayed at the Hotel Mac in Point Richmond on previous occasions without problems. On our most recent visit, I booked 3 nights in a suite room in the Annex building across from the main hotel. The decor was wonderful,exotic, and tasteful. However, when entering the room, there was a chemical odor that was literally unbearable. The irritant made my eyes burn and exacerbated my asthma to the point that I was not able to sleep and contemplated going to the ER in case my inhalers and antihistamines did not work. The following night, one of my relatives had a similar reaction.

Upon informing the management of the situation, we were told that the malodorous room was simply due to Downy fabric softner, Windex, or PineSol cleaner. I clean my house with these common cleaners and the problem was not caused by these agents. This was an obvious attempt by the management to make excuses and downplay our very serious concern about the irritant in the room.

The room was aired out but this made no difference on the pungency of the chemical odor/irritant. Additionally, our request to repair the bathroom sink was not completed and it was noticed that housekeeping had gone through a suitcase. Furthermore, the electronic key card stopped working on the third night of our stay, resulting in a relative being stranded out on the sidewalk. Because no managment is available after 7pm at the hotel, this would have been a disaster if someone did not drive out to Point Richmond to bring the second key.

I would not stay at the Hotel Mac again or recommend it to family and friends after this experience. We should have checked out the first night of the problem but we didn't because of the lack of higher quality hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dh5alpha25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasota Key
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

This is the best kept secret in the Bay Area. We live in Sonoma and were meeting friends at the Hotel Mac Restaurant. We all decided to spend the night at Hotel Mac. Pt. Richmond is not a place of destination but what a fabulous little hotel to stay in. Totally remodeled, charming, immaculate, quiet, secure parking lot directly across the street, just perfect. We've paid well over double the price for a lot less in the Bay Area. Hotel Mac sends you across the street in the morning to Little Louie's for one of the best breakfasts ever. Irene does a fabulous job for greeting and check-in. If you need to be in Oakland or SF, give Hotel Mac some serious thought. Minutes from the Richmond-San Rafael Bridge.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurtleBayCondos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2007

My wife and I were very impressed with Hotel Mac, exceeded our expectations in every way. We booked one night in the Country Garden room (other rooms were booked out), fearing it might be a bit frilly for our tastes, but were pleasantly surprised when shown in by the gregarious manager. Decor was simple and tasteful, not at all flowery like we expected. Bed was exceptionally comfortable with quality linens and pillows. Room was very well-equipped: fridge, vcr, large TV with good cable, a couple of warm terrycloth robes, iron/ironing board, safe, large closet, and a very warm gas fireplace. Windows open and have good wooden shudders for privacy. Bathroom was huge and sparkling, with skylight, tub/shower, hairdryer, nice tiles, quality amenities, and spotless. The website photos of the hotel and rooms do not do them justice at all, much nicer in person (our room had been updated since the photos were taken). We had a look at the Tally Ho Suite on our way out-wow! Huge, homey two-room suite with jacuzzi tub for a very reasonable rate. Point Richmond is an interesting place to explore for a day or two and makes an excellent weekend getaway from anywhere in the Bay Area. Miller-Knox Regional Shoreline has some primo hiking opportunities with panoramic 360* views of the entire bay, and the tiny Keller Beach is a hidden gem. Lots of history here as well. We will certainly be back!

  • Liked — everything, this place is a absolute charmer
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about, we loved it!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CunningMcFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 24, 2004

We were looking for a place for Florida friends to stay, and were considering a Quality Inn, but decided to check out Hotel Mac, and glad we did.

It changed a normal experience to something to talk to friends about for years. The rooms are not just tastefully, but intensely decorated, spotless, furnished to the hilt, and have free breakfasts across the street at a hotshot restaurant.

And downtown Pt Richmond, all 600 feet of it, has restaurants, library, small supermarket, video store, Starbucks, galleries, doctors, lawyers, nightclub, bars, and is about a mile from one of the secret beaches to die for, Keller Beach and Nichols Knob, from which you have a 360 of the Bay Area.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 17, 2004

We've been going to Hotel Mac for over 30 years now. We started going here when my husband and I were dating and just recently celebrated our 30th anniversary there. The staff is fabulous; always courteous. The food is remarkable! The Honey Lamb Chops are to die for! We've never been disappointed! Somewhat pricey, but the service, the staff and the food are more than worth the prices! The town of Point Richmond is a great place to visit too!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 14, 2003

On a tip from a travel book, we stayed at this renovated historic hotel in late Feb. 2003; we had one of the lower-priced queen rooms. From making the reservation onward, everything was very good to excellent; staff friendliness, room features and furnishing, directions/free map, and robes. The wonderful night manager got the kitchen to stay open so we could get something from the bar menu. Continental breakfast (or a $10 credit) is given to the very good cafe across the street. A recommended inn/b-and-b choice in a scenic town that's nicely located between SF and Wine Country.

  • Stayed February 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Richmond
4.8 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Berkeley
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mira Vista
Hotel Mira Vista
#1 of 5 in El Cerrito
234 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pablo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
5.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,414 reviews
6.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac

Property: Hotel Mac
Address: 10 Cottage Ave, Point Richmond, CA 94801-3917
Location: United States > California > Point Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Richmond
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Mac Hotel Point Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing