We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Good Time”

Up and Under Pub and Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Inland Empire, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Nice local pub atmosphere - definitely championing the sport of rugby (hope I got that right). Interesting decor - including a giant sized king's chair. We were there for dinner and to celebrate a special birthday. Service was a bit slow, but we were having a nice time and enjoying drinks, so it didn't matter. I got the impression that our server was just filling in, as he was a bit preoccupied, but it wasn't an issue. Food was good and plentiful. Dessert was out of the question since we all ate too much, but the server came up with a nice dish of ice cream with a candle to celebrate the birthday. Perfect. If we return to Point Richmond, definitely, the Up & Under will be on the agenda. Get one of their shirts - if you can handle the slogan!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WineTourFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    25
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Point Richmond, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slooooow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We moved to Pt. Richmond about 6 weeks ago and have been checking out the local pubs and restaurants. We gave the Up & Under a few chances - more than a few actually - five. 4 of those 5 visits we had to wait at least 10 or 15 minutes for either a beer or menu. There is nothing special about the food. If you go there to eat, make sure you are not too hungry. If you go there to drink, make sure you are not too thirsty. The service is inconsistent. There are a couple female servers who are very good and quick. Most of them act as if they are doing you a favor by letting you in. A few locals have mentioned the owner has a reputation for being a jerk. Keeping customers happy is obviously not a high priority for him. Guilty as charged.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mercury79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
“awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

bad food, bad service, bad manager and owner! All overpriced!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veryyuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good local pub, with great beer selection and decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just went for a small meal. Wound up with a big hamburger and great tasting beer. Service a little slow, but in the long run it didn't matter.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Richmond, CA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“another reason to frequent Point Richmond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

If your travels take you to the "poor man's Tiburon" (aka Point Richmond, CA), time it so that you'll be there on a Tuesday evening. Then head over to the Up and Under Pub for Trivia Night. Make sure that you're there early since tables fill up fast.

The food is hearty pub fare with the burgers and pulled pork sandwich especially good. Often there are BBQ specials and you'll know it when you see the trailer grill parked outside the pub. there are many beers on tap and the Lagunitas IPA is always a great bet.

If you are a current or former rugby player, there is the added bonus of walls and ceilings full of international rugby memorabilia and, if there's rugby on cable tv, at least one of the pub's flat screen TVs will be tuned in (as was the case with the recent championships).

Before dinner, take a stroll through the best kept secret in the SF Bay Area - Point Richmond. Quaint shops and a terrific ambiance with a small village feel that you'll imagine you've visited before (as you actually may have in a wide variety of motion pictures such as Robin Williams' Patch Adams").

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlatbushFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up and Under Pub and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Up and Under Pub and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing