We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A million dollar view and lots of privacy”
Review of Black Heron Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Reyes Station
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Heron Inn
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A million dollar view and lots of privacy”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in the Grandview Suite at the Black Heron Inn. Clean and comfortable accommodation and very well provisioned. This property adjoins protected wetlands and has a wonderful view of the wildflowers, rolling hills and lagoon. Our unit had a sunny private deck with Adirondack chairs, an expansive wet bar with refrigerator (pre-stocked with breakfast items), a sitting area below and a bedroom loft with a comfortable king-sized bed. One caveat -- if you have any difficulty with stairs, you should reserve one of the two lower units instead since the bathroom and bedroom are located on different levels.
One of the nicest things about the inn is the privacy and quiet, yet you're only 5 minutes from Point Reyes Station. If you go, make sure to reserve a table at Osteria Stellina for dinner. It has the best local food.
The binoculars, selection of books and dvds, bathroom amenities and full-sized coffeemaker were definite pluses.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    30
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
98
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pinole, California
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2011

My friend and I had a lovely stay. The extra blow-up bed on the floor worked just fine for two friends in a room with just a bed for couples. We were warmly welcomed and enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bay Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schristy2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We enjoyed the laid-back, restful feel of the establishment -- in which guests scarcely notice there is a management and cleaning staff. The facilities are well designed and location is splendid. However, the laid-backness is backward to the point of neglect: there was no one to greet us, the room was not prepared for arrival (even though we got there at 4pm). About 45 minutes after we had moved ourselves in (doors are not locked and we knew the name of the suite we had booked) one of the owners drove up and, on our enquiry, brought us the fruit, milk, orange juice and bread that was promised us in a letter that was supposed to have been, but wasn't, awaiting us in our room. The bread was frozen; we never did get the promised butter, and the ice cooler outside was never filled throughout our two-night stay -- and after our first meeting with the owner we never saw anyone in authority to ask about anything again, for two days. The hands-off approach is fine -- it matches the faded hippie ambience of the Point Reyes environs -- but hotels and lodges must beware of letting that approach slide into lazy neglect. After all, the asking price is pretty steep for a near-total lack of service (yes, the bed was made -- but badly, with ill-fitting linens). A shame, really; all it takes is a bit of effort. We will not be ripped off there again.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Malsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheroninn, Owner at Black Heron Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
We were disappointed in this review, because we value our guests' privacy and provide our phone numbers in case they need anything extra. We have now purchased a small ice maker so that guests will have access to ice at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We found the stay very enjoyable in all respects. The room was neat, clean and had a very nice view. We spent much time just watching the wildlife including a coyote, California quail and deer, It has a nice pond. You feel somewhat secluded even though only about a mile from the highway and a couple of miles from town. We highly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Tomales Bay is just two hours from home and is our favorite weekend-away destination. This was our first time at Black Heron Inn, and it did not disappoint. Everything is pretty much as represented on their website. We stayed in the Grand View Suite, which is the only unit upstairs and therefore is pretty private.

The view of the south end of Tomales Bay is incredible. We were treated to the sounds of coyotes, owls, frogs, hawks and the ubiquitous cows. The Inn is close to great hiking trails (you can access several from the back of the Inn) and is a short drive to town.

The unit was clean, comfortable, and well provisioned with coffee, tea, juice, milk, cereal, breakfast breads, and fresh fruit. Not being a fan of the B & B, this was perfect! We could eat - or not - on our own schedule and really enjoyed the solitude.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace Carr L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Recently stayed at the Black Heron Inn in the Bayview room. The Inn is located just outside of Pt. Reyes Station in a residential area, but is within a couple of miles drive to the small town of Pt. Reyes Station. The Inn is in a very quiet area overlooking a pasture. It only has 3 rooms so there are not a lot of guests coming and going. The Inn is perfect for couples looking for a quiet retreat. My husband and I are from the city of San Francisco, so the silence at the Black Heron Inn was almost deafening (in a good way). I loved that there several recent issues of the New Yorker in the room. Overall for the price the Inn was a good deal. I have a couple of very MINOR complaints: 1) check out is at 11AM - I realize this is a small inn and rooms have to be cleaned for the next guests however I really enjoy staying in my room until 12PM; 11AM seems too early. 2) I was disappointed by the paucity of the 'breakfast', which was basically a few slices breakfast cake (delicious) and some almost past its prime fruit (apples, 1 orange, 1 banana). We were provided only a pint of OJ for 2 people for 2 days in the in-room fridge. Also, I was disappointed that in the middle of dairy oriented West Marin county the Inn provided a pint of mass produced Lucerne milk instead of spending a couple of extra cents on the locally bottled milk, which is available at the grocery in town. This would have been a nice touch. Overall a good experience and I would definitely go back for a weekend retreat.

  • Liked — Location, quiet area
  • Disliked — In room breakfast not great
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travel_nut_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We have traveled to many places abroad as well as in the USA and usually stay in unique places with either special ambience or places that are off the beaten path. We have stayed in the finest and the simplest hotels, humble B&B’s, as well as a rustic log cabin in the woods. So far we have been fortunate in our choices, because all have been clean and accommodating.
However, we made a POOR choice when we selected the BLACK HERON INN. The website shows a scenic, idyllic spot on Tomales Bay and that was our deciding factor. We selected the Grand Suite, which was the best the Inn had to offer. Entrance to our suite led through a small, slightly lop sided kitchen door. The first thing that drew our attention was the dark, deep purple dingy looking carpet. Then the living area, which was filled with old outdated, shabby furniture, reminiscent of cast off stored in an attic or bought from a thrift store. The only drawers available were found in the old office desk and they were dirty.(We decided not to unpack). There was a glass door which separated the owner’s quarters from the Grand Suite. A spider clung to the curtain covering this doorway. Superficial dusting had been done, but it was evident that the place was in dire need of major spring cleaning. The bathroom towels and rugs were the same color as the deep, dark purple carpet. We were unable to determine whether they were soiled or clean. they certainly did not smell fresh. The bathroom window screen was laced with cobwebs and particles of dead insects.
The upstairs loft housed more dated, dusty furniture and a king size bed which was covered with old discolored linens and bed covers which consisted of a mish-mash of textures, colors and patterns none of which seemed to blend with the non existing décor. An extra twin bed in the living area only served to make the place look more cluttered and small.
A glass enclosed porch offered a view of the meadows and the Bay in the distance. Even though the view was pretty, it was marred by the dirty glass panes and the blazing afternoon sun made it impossible to sit there. There is no A/C at the Inn. The pair of shrunken home-made looking white curtains which separated the glassed-in porch from the living room was not enough to ward off the afternoon heat in the Grand Suite.
We were told that the fridge would be stocked with 3 days worth of breakfast items. The skimpy provisions were an embarrassment not worth mentioning. All in all, the Black Heron Inn was not a pleasant place to stay. We contemplated leaving, but could not find a suitable place over the holiday weekend. For the mandated prepaid cost of $852.50 (their “discounted rate”), at a minimum, the owner should have provided, clean white linens, fresh white towels, a tastefully decorated, dust free environment and clean windows. We hope that this review will initiate a change!

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — DINGY OUTDATED ATMOSPHERE
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WORLDWIDETRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheroninn, Owner at Black Heron Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2010
We were disappointed in this review since we had newly renovated the room. The entrance was to their personal wet bar area that had a sink, microwave, refrigerator. The purple carpet was a Laura Ashley brand and was brand new, as were the towels, and the bed linens. This goes to show no matter how hard we try we are not able to please everyone. The stressless recliner chairs were black leather. This room may accommodate three, we have a lot of requests for couples traveling with a child and this way we can accommodate them, as well as those who do not want to share a bed. We have addressed the oak desk and have plenty of good sized redwood dresser drawers in the bathroom. We have wi-fi and therefore have replaced the desk with a writing table. If you read the other reviews, they are mostly consistent for what we have to offer. We often clean the windows to accommodate the views. Having a spider in a guest room is understandable since we are located in the country with all sorts of wildlike. We do try to dust and de-cob all the time. We are disappointed that these guests couldn't see past the little things to the big sky outside. Also, since Point Reyes is near the coast, there is no need for AC. Breezes blow frequently to cool off any hot weather. We also have skylights which open to let fresh air in. The breakfast we place in the room is continental and guests are welcome to bring any food they wish or request additional supplies.

This review did upset us and turned our attention to improving our guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
3.1 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
20.3 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,434 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
502 reviews
21.0 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
550 reviews
23.9 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Heron Inn

Property: Black Heron Inn
Address: 51 Cypress Road, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Heron Inn, features sweeping views of Tomales Bay and the majestic Inverness Ridge, is located next to the Point Reyes National Seashore and is one mile from Point Reyes Station and about one hour away from both San Francisco and Napa. The location makes Black Heron Inn the perfect Northern California getaway. The Inn has 3 guest rooms. In the Grand View Suite you will enjoy a 270°panoramic view, two floors to spread out in, a cozy upstairs loft featuring a king size bed, and a three-sided glass enclosed tower lounge perched high above the landscape below. The other guest rooms have great views, private entrances, spacious decks, and are furnished with queen size beds, sitting areas, private baths, robes and marble wet bars. A continental breakfast is provided in your guest room on your arrival. Get away from it all and take a relaxing trip out to Point Reyes and the Black Heron Inn."Lodging at Point Reyes includes some of the rarest settings in California...the beautiful Black Heron Inn with bluff-top views of Tomales Bay and the Inverness Ridge"...Tom Stienstra, Outdoors, San Francisco Chronicle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing