We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty darn fabulous spot”
Review of Windsong Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Reyes Station
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windsong Cottage
san francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pretty darn fabulous spot”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This beautiful but simple yurt had anything we needed for a wonderful, restful vacation. Large windows on practically every side gave amazing views of the ever-shifting Point Reyes landscape. The king-size bed was unusually comfortable. The location on the end of a secluded drive was private and quiet. The woodstove gave a warm, cozy atmosphere during the storms we were lucky enough to experience. The hot tub in the back was the perfect temperature for lazing under the stars. The owner, Anthony, was kind and gracious whenever a small need or problem came up; he took care of anything promptly.

What more could you need for happiness?
We'll be back.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tigressa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Ok, I like yurts, they feel cozy and romantic.
You must visit Winsong, I can't wait to go back. We made the reservation with Anthony, the owner who was very friendly and helpful. He suggested places to eat which turned out to be right on. Hiking suggestions according to the time of day, weather patterns, degree of difficulty which only a local would know.
The cottage was very clean and nice, not too much 'stuff' on tables so it had a feeling of elegant simplicity. The hot tub was clean and felt good after a long day on the trails. The cost was below most places in the area, a steal in my opinion. They could charge more but don't.
The only thing is they book up fairly far in advance so you need to plan ahead.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ridgerider3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We had a lovely time. Went for a walk on the beach nearby to watch the sunset and had the full moon streaming in the skylight late at night. Very restful, peaceful, and serene. The hot tub was secluded in the garden, and made a perfect ending to the day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Napalachia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

My Parents just came and visited me from Ohio and we decided to leave San Francisco for a few nights and visit Point Reyes. My mom found Windsong on line and we ended up staying there for two nights.
It was so convenient to get there from the city but we felt like we were transported far from the city environment. The area around the yurt and cottage at Windsong were green rolling hills and it made us feel a sense of relief from the suburbs.

The hot tubs were just right and sitting out at night in the tub was one of the highlights of our time there. Both cottages had tons of privacy and the fireplaces were really a nice touch...

I would wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone looking for an escape to Point Reyes. The whole experience was great and I give it my highest marks...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank makesitokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We just spent the weekend at Windsong Cottage, and for us, from the amenities to the view, it was absolute perfection. We decided on it because it looked beautiful on the website and the price was very reasonable compared to some of the other cottage lodgings in the area. We arrived and let ourselves in, and were soon greeted by Tony, the proprieter, who warmly welcomed us, showed us the basics, and left us to our privacy. The view, out of 3 large windows, is of a 4-horse pasture with Tomales Bay and hills in the background. It is calming and mesmerizing. The bed is extremely comfortable. Here are the amenities: kitchenette - table, stove, sink, well stocked cupboards & fridge, including fresh fruit, homemade banana bread, english muffins, milk, juice, coffee, eggs, butter. Microwave, coffeemaker & toaster. Tap water is delicious to drink. Big, tiled shower and big showerhead, fluffy towels. Wood burning stove. Big, clean, private hottub with view of stars. Big windows that open to let in the breeze.Comfortable, big couch. Rocking chair. Small TV & telephone (in case you must).NO INTERNET & LIMITED CELL RECEPTION - YEAH!! Plenty of lamplight - or not. Small, newish weber BBQ. Walking sticks and information about what to do in the area, books. Plenty of closet space and extra blankets. Small table & chairs outside. Since it is a yurt, it is a round cottage with a big round skylight right over the bed - sublime! The space is roomy and the decor eclectic. The attention to detail to provide every comfort was amazing. It is almost one mile north of town on Hwy 1, very easy to get to. We had sunny weather, but are returning when it's not - this place is great, rain or shine. We also had great meals at Stellina, Olema Inn and Olema Farmhouse, and also a great picnic with cheese, bread and deli stuff from cowgirl Creamery. We ate at the picnic tables at Drake's Beach - the visitor center there blocks the wind. Hiking at the Lighthouse, Chimney Rock and Limantour was windy but worth it. And Tony was a great host. This is a place for people who don't want everything new and matching, or maid service. This is not a hotel. If you stay, remember - this is someone's home - just not attached. Pick up after yourself, do your dishes and leave it better than you found it. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank avalon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyRagona, Owner at Windsong Cottage, responded to this review, May 17, 2009
Windsong and Emerald Cottage both have Wifi internet connection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Emerald Cottage was perfect for our one year anniversary. After loving small stand alone places we found on our honeymoon in New Zealand, we were hoping to find something similar and close to us. Emerald Cottage was perfect - the star gazing from the hot tub, watching deer romping around in the grass just outside, close proximity to awesome hiking, homemade banana bread and fresh squeezed OJ, and the friendliness of Tony, the owner, made for a relaxing and enjoyable weekend. And Point Reyes Station is close enough for yummy dinners and sandwiches for our hike. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalGal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2008

What a sweet place to kick back and relax... We had wanted to stay at the Windsong Cottage but it was booked on one of the nights we wanted so stayed at Emerald Cottage instead. We were so comfortable and content there, we chose not to move to Windsong (which is also very nice) when given the chance. From the welcome basket of fruit and nutloaf to the hottub under the stars, there were no complaints. Basically, the cottage is one large room with lots of windows and lots of light with a super comfortable reclining loveseat, gas stove with a realistic and very warm fire, table and chairs and a warm, comfortable bed. Outside is a little patio where we watched the sun go down over the Point Reyes Hills and were entertained by the birds and grazing deer family that came by every evening. It's quiet, peaceful and a perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the rest of the world. Small TV and wifi for those of you can't make the escape complete ..

  • Liked — Comfortable, friendly, with great hot tub under the stars
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CC_Dreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
3.3 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
20.2 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
#5 of 15 in Point Reyes Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
4.0 mi away
Point Reyes Hostel
Point Reyes Hostel
#1 of 2 in Point Reyes Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsong Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsong Cottage

Property: Windsong Cottage
Address: 25 MC Donald Ln, PO Box 84, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956-9759
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay in our 'Yurt,' a round cozy cottage nestled in the hills of Point Reyes Station. Private hot tub, California king bed, kitchen. Truly a wonderful experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windsong Cottage Hotel Point Reyes Station

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing