We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GET- A- WAY”
Review of Windsong Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Reyes Station
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windsong Cottage
Hayward, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GET- A- WAY”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

As a surprise for my wife's birthday I booked the Windsong Cottage. My wife wondered as we got off Hwy 1 onto a dirt road. Finally found the sign on the fence. She was very pleased to find the very comfortable accommodations. A bowl of fresh fruit, a great view of Tomales Bay and an assortment of breakfast goodies. Tony had things in great order. Nice and clean with various utensils and dishes so you could cook if you want. He had the makings for great coffee, which we enjoyed. But we went into town and ate at the Station Cafe. A most relaxing couple days away.
We recommend this.

Room Tip: Has only 1 bed. But has a sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RAY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

this is the second time my wife and i have stayed at the beautiful windsong cottage and it was just as beautiful as ever - visitors have many excellent accommodation choices in this stunning area, but it's hard to top wsc, we just love it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent only one night at the WIndsong Yurt, but felt welcomed and enjoyed our stay. It was a cool night but the Owner had left firewood and the woodstove fire lit easily. We cooked a nice dinner in the well-equipped kitchen and enjoyed watching the fog roll in over the bay below. Terrific location a few minutes out of town, highly recommended - we'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank modernhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honokaa, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We started our 2 week Northern Cali road trip with 2 nights here. What a find! We loved every minute. The cottage is down a quiet lane. Comes equipped with so many extras like eggs, butter, OJ, English muffins, bananas, pears, apples, coffee. tea, etc. Full kitchen, We had the eggs and some bacon we picked up in town after a day of hiking and exploring. The fire place is ready to light when you arrive and feels so nice in the evening when the sun goes down and the Spring night chill sets in. We even spent an hour in the hot tub... oh yeah there is a hot tub. Do not be put off by the manager/owner Tony requiring a check up front for your stay. He does not take credit cards but I found that refreshing and was not a problem at all. We mailed the check and he sent an email confirmation right away. I cannot wait to come back here. The location is ideal for exploring Point Reyes and all its natural beauty.

Room Tip: There is only one on earth like this one..... take it before someone else does!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingTina54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a weekend stay at the Windsong Cottage and I have to say it was an extraordinary experience. Not only did we appreciate virtually everything about the yurt we also really enjoyed the service we received from the owner.
The yurt provides a comfortable, clean, quiet and private environment. During our stay we visited Point Reyes Station and we cruised around Limatour Beach, but we could have just as easily never left the yurt and still had an awesome weekend.
Prior to our arrival our communication with Anthony was excellent. He is truly concerned with everyone having a positive experience during their stay and does his best to see that it happens.
There are journals in the yurt with comments and reflections from guests going back more than two decades. These posts are evidence of his caring approach.
If you're looking for something a little different in an area that offers a unique experience this yurt is well worth looking into. Plan ahead though as he typically fills the calendar on his site months in advance. The planning will be worth it.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask Anthony for insights on the area and local eateries...he gave us some outstanding rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldNorCalGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed at Windsong for a quick getaway. Looked interesting (they have a good website) and love the area. Good communication on my reservation w/ directions. At first was a little uncomfortable paying up front w/ check but no big deal. Followed the directions and found this easy enough - would recommend if you do not know the area - don't arrive at night. We got there late afternoon before completely dark. Was a little chilly, so checked out the place and started up a fire - nice. The next morning cooked up a nice breakfast (we had some food to add to what was left by the host - but he actually left plenty). Went exploring a few times during our stay - we went Drake's beach & Petaluma - not too far away. Other than that, enjoyed time together w/ my wife, watched the sun come up (and down), watched deer outside and we just hung out played guitar and read books. Very relaxing (bed is very comfy) and cool place to spend a few days. Next time will check out town of Pt Reyes Station. If you are into quiet time and spending time together go here. Forget your thoughts of a Yurt being basically a structure - check this out!

Room Tip: Spend some time just sitting in the chairs looking out the window and watching life w/ your special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenLeCreate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Windsong is a yurt, but it is made of wood, so it felt like a cabin. It has a very rustic feel and is surrounded by horse ranches with a view of the bay in the distance. It is well stocked with kitchenware, towels, books and even light breakfast fare (coffee, tea, milk, orange juice, english muffins, eggs and fruit). Everything except the couch and the bed was a little outdated, but hey, it's a cabin, and it was kind of cute that way, to be honest.

Pros:

- The sounds of silence...it is so quiet and peaceful. All you will hear are birds chirping and the occasional horse whinny. Great for couples who want to be completely alone (unlike a B&B).
- The hot tub. It was so relaxing to sit in there after a long day's hike. The temperature is set perfectly, not too hot, so you can stay in it for hours. There were also a few little green frogs that liked to hide out under the cover, and they even kept us company for a while before they hopped off into the bushes :)
- Location. It is a short drive to downtown Pt. Reyes Station (restaurants, shops, farmer's market, gas station), Tomales Bay Oyster Company, wine tasting, and the Tomales Bay trailhead. It's was also cool for a city mouse like me to see horses through the windows!
- Anthony was easy to deal with and friendly

Cons:

- For me, this is a con, but may not be to others: the skylight is directly over the bed, so if you are visiting during summer, be prepared to get a shot of daylight in the eye early in the morning. I am sensitive to light and prefer to sleep-in past 6am, so if you are like me, bring a sleep mask. My fiance slept fine.
- There was no shampoo available during our stay, only conditioner and antibacterial liquid soap. I'm sure they just forgot to restock the shampoo and it was a one-off.
-Dead plants in the kitchen, should be removed.
- It felt a little strange paying in full, up-front, by check. But the transaction went smoothly.

Really, the pros definitely outweigh the cons, and I admit to being a very picky person, but they are things I did notice that bothered me slightly. But overall, our stay was a good one and we would recommend it to others as a great homebase to explore the area!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank babybear_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyRagona, Owner at Windsong Cottage, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thanks for noticing the plants and shampoo.
We are very interested in keeping Windsong up to date and comfy and really try our best to make sure everyone is happy.

The mattress. I personally pick out the best mattress available that most people will like. This is such a subjective opinion on how comfortable a mattress feels. The mattress is only a year old, most remark how comfy it feels as in other reviews, but as this reviewer states, it wasn't a good match for them. The couch is a Room and Board pull out, a very high end piece of furniture. I just sat it it today and it seems fine, again, my personal opinion.

We recently upgraded all electronics.
Stronger router for wifi.. downloads usually between 7-12 Mbps
Bookshelf sound system with ipod dock.
Flat screen monitor/TV.

We always encourage any feedback, thanks for your observations!

Anthony Ragona, owner of Windsong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
3.3 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
20.2 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,437 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
504 reviews
23.9 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
21.0 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsong Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsong Cottage

Property: Windsong Cottage
Address: 25 MC Donald Ln, PO Box 84, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956-9759
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay in our 'Yurt,' a round cozy cottage nestled in the hills of Point Reyes Station. Private hot tub, California king bed, kitchen. Truly a wonderful experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windsong Cottage Hotel Point Reyes Station

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing