We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Cone Diner - CLOSED

Pine Cone Diner
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This little diner was quite nice. I had pancakes my wife had trout. Both were great. The mocha milkshake hit the spot as well. Great service. Nothing too fancy, but a solid breakfast/brunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SFTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    43
    23
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Felt like a movie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I'm from the UK and visited Point Reyes to stay with friends. I woke one morning wanting to have breakfast in a genuine American diner. We looked this one up and the waitress was reviewed as rude. It sounded perfect. So we went down late and sat in a booth. The waitress recommended bread type, egg type etc (it's just too much choice for us Brits), the food was great (I had corn beef hash, eggs over something or other). Coffee flowed. As we sat there a sheriff walked in, his handcuffs rattling and his gun in his holster. I felt like going to the rest room and climbing out the window! There wasn't a window. It was a Hollywood experience with good food. My only real complaint is the waitress was really helpful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Finest kind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

After seven years of dining here a dozen or so times a year, it's time to update my 2006 review. Food here shines with quality ingredients and terrific preparation, mighty tasty. As for pricing concerns, in addition to quality sourcing of ingredients, workers here are above the norm so they actually can have a life when not on the job. True, you would not come for obsequious service but that's not a restaurant feature I value. I do appreciate prompt goos service which is a strength here. Finally, I love that it is open seven days a week so I need never be disappointed when reveling yet again in Point Reyes environs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CatalinaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento,Ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We visit this town about 4 times a year and had not eaten here yet so we tried it this morning . We won't be back. Husband had chicken fried steak that was so over fried it was about black and tasted like it went thru the dishwasher. I had eggs over med that we're over super hard with soft bacon. The biscuit was cold and the gravy did not have any flavor.. 36 bucks later we were so upset we ate there. Oh 1 pancake was 4.25 really for some flour! Lesson learned there are much better places to eat when you visit this town. Oh and no one even asked us if we like our meal . I did over hear them complain that someone did not leave a big enough tip tho, pretty tacky!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Hollytravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waitress couldnt of been ruder!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Took my son to breakfast at this diner. The waitress could not of been more rude, or unprofessional with us. I will never go back and eat there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Romy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine Cone Diner also viewed

Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Inverness, Marin County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing