We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast”
Review of Pine Cone Diner - CLOSED

Pine Cone Diner
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Corned beef hash is out of this world. Choriso/eggs are excellent. Bring a coat in the winter because the diner isn't well heated.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    43
    23
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best pancakes ever”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

What a marvelous little diner! The pancakes were ENORMOUS and out of this world. Friendly staff, and felt local instead of touristy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AMS37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Try their corned beef hash--melt in your mouth wonderful”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Breakfast spot that you could go to every day. French toast is delicious. Corned beef hash is hands down best I've tasted in years, maybe better than my Mom's. Real homey diner with lots of fun stuff to look at. Coffee is endless.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Knitrunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quaint 50s diner with good old fashioned breakfast”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stopped by for a Saturday breakfast in early November. We arrived @ 9am which I think was before the morning rush so our breakfast arrived quick. They only accept cash so be prepared. The waitress was not very friendly but not rude either. I had the Basil, feta cheese and sun-dried tomato egg scramble, the combination was wonderful and the hash browns were perfect. The decor is vintage 50s, very cute. I would definitely come back here for breakfast again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank terriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herald, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Borderline greasy spoon”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Pine Cone Diner is located on 4th Street, one block off Highway 1 in Point Reyes Station. There are pull-in parking spaces in front of the building and additional parking on-street. The place seems locked in a 50s time warp with formica tables, little round counter stools, and cheesy decor. There are several booths and a counter inside as well as an outdoor patio with umbrella tables. Open for breakfast and lunch only, food is typical diner fare. Payment is by cash only. Other reviewers have raved about this place, but we thought it was only so-so and dangerously close to greasy spoon territory. My turkey burger, for example, was overcooked and not very flavorful, and my companion said her tuna salad sandwich was more mayo than tuna. We later heard that breakfast here is better, but didn't bother to test that theory. Service was indifferent. We must have stood at the door for 10 minutes before anyone bothered to show us to a table, and it didn't get any friendlier after that. Since it was busy, we also had to wait quite a while for our food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine Cone Diner also viewed

Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Inverness, Marin County
 
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing