We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but needs some uplift”
Review of Abalone Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Reyes Station
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abalone Inn
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming but needs some uplift”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This very charming place that has its shortcoming for sure. Among others it was dusty and not very well isolated.
The good stuff:The owner is very friendly. She asked us to take our shoes off before entering. In the apartment is a small radio that was playing some very relaxing but alternative type of music. It did fit the picture and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maarten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    6
    7
    17
See reviews for
9
49
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My sister and I found this an ideal location for forays into varied habitats: the marsh at the base of Tomales Bay, Bear Valley, Limantour and drives out to the Pt. Reyes peninsula. Donna, the proprietor, was friendly, available, and helpful, and was able to suggest local spots in addition to the more well-publicized ones in the park. We were thrilled by our views of not only the hovering white-tailed kites, but by an unexpected pair of hunting short-eared owls.
The inn is in Inverness Park, a very short drive to Bear Valley Road and the town of Point Reyes Station.
The inn is a 100 year old farmhouse, "simple" without pretentions of a luxury inn. Donna is up front about the inn's quirks. The elderly septic system cannot digest toilet paper, but the container provided was cleaned daily and posed no problem for us. Our private bathroom was in the hall next to our room (the Mountain Room) and robes were provided for modesty, but all the other rooms had en suite baths.
The comfortable living room had a wide-ranging collection of interesting books and some board games, good for a relaxing time without the intrusion of a blaring television. The soft music created a warm atmosphere.

Room Tip: There are very few rooms here. Reserve one early. If you absolutely need an ensuite bath, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia-Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Abalone Inn was the perfect place to stay for a quick “girls getaway” trip to Pt. Reyes last weekend. We drove up from the South Bay without hotel reservations but luckily the Pt. Reyes Station Chamber of Commerce directed us to the Inn, which was in a central location with convenient access to both Inverness and Pt. Reyes. There was no two-night minimum stay like other places but we chose to stay a second night anyway. Donna, the proprietor, made every effort to make sure our stay was enjoyable and provided very helpful information about local sites, hiking trails, and restaurants. The rate was extremely reasonable and very good value for the money. The property is charming. An old Victorian home with a farmhouse, feel, casual and comfortable. Our room was just off a common area with ready access to tea, coffee, cookies, the morning paper, and WiFi. Breakfast baskets were provided each morning with a selection of items like muffins, fruit, cheese, and bagels. We even had bowls full of cherry size plums fresh from the trees outside to snack on during our entire stay. There is a hot tub and a shaded seating area at the rear of the house. This lovely home and the endearing owner made our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I understand that recent visitors have had a good experience but it has not been mine. I stayed in the back room with noise (love making) from the upstairs, no heat and complete and utter freezing cold to the bathroom which required toilet paper to be deposited in the waste can rather than flushed. This may be ok for urination but not for feces. The worst part was an unwise recommendation to walk in the dark to what was said to be a "short walk" to the deli to get a sandwich. There was a ditch and I severely sprained my ankle, unable to see it. It took five months to recover. Owners indignant. There was supposed to be help with luggage which there was on the way in but not with it easily on the way out. Not my cup of tea. Funky, great. Also dirty. The negative factors greatly outweighed the positive.

Room Tip: have no idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Point Reyes Station hotels

san francisco
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The inn was the perfect place to end a long bike ride--a hot tub set in the lovely gardens surrounding the inn and a room looking out over the gardens and the surrounding fields. The inn keeper was charming and welcoming and the inn located a very short bike ride from Pt. Reyes Station. My daughter and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albathion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just came back from our stay at Abalone Inn , a charming old farm house in Point Reyes. We stayed in the Attic Suite . It has a beautiful, peaceful view of Tomales Bay. Side windows overlook trees and gardens . The proprietor obviously has a vision of offering alternatives to bland hotels and business suites. Charmingly furnished, with a well equipped kitchen ...and a spacious bathroom . Blessedly t.v. free ... but streaming lovely music, and w/ WiFi available... We loved it ! A hot tub, gardens , which provided fresh fruit, chickens whose eggs appeared in our breakfast basket...

A central location, not far from town , and on the road to the Pt Reyes National Seashore.. we will definitely come back !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susanna171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

WEIRD. Earning a 2 only because of convenient location. We stayed in the top room, which had I imagine the best views of the bay, but you could only see out of the single window if you were standing--so any kind of relaxing indoors was claustrophobic. We couldn't flush toilet paper, and the sink water was cold...which seemed downright unhygenic. Hot tub was not hot enough to be enjoyable. The road was distractingly loud. Certainly not worth $220. I would go anywhere nearby instead of choosing the Abalone Inn again. (Note: I have only ever given 4s and 5s to lodgings on TripAdvisor--this one was truy sub-par).

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalflat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
2.9 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
20.4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,437 reviews
17.9 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
87 reviews
21.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
550 reviews
16.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Inn

Property: Abalone Inn
Address: 12355 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between San Francisco and the Wine Country on a hillside overlooking Point Reyes Wetlands, pastures, and Black Mountain, the Abalone Inn welcomes you with hospitality and old-fashioned ambiance. The restored Victorian has three unique guestrooms and a congenial atmosphere. A perfect retreat for outdoor enthusiasts and those who appreciate efforts toward living in a more eco-friendly manner. In partnership with the Point Reyes National Seashore, the Inn's proprietors are the coordinators of Sustainable West Marin and are working toward a simpler, greener lifestyle. We are conveniently located in the village of Inverness Park, half a block from dining, groceries and picnic supplies. Minutes from the redwoods and beaches of the Point Reyes National Seashore and just two miles from Park Headquarters. Abundant outdoor activities await you: beach walks, kayaking, bicycling, hiking, birding, and horseback riding. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing