We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dry-Aged Ribeye Hamburger!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marin Sun Farms

Marin Sun Farms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Dry-Aged Ribeye Hamburger!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great spot to buy meat for cooking later, and a great spot for food and drink. We had a lovely day so sat outside on hay bales and enjoyed our lunch. The dry-aged ribeye hamburger was truly a great experience. Came with home made pickles and plenty of arugula salad. Limited but sufficient wine list, same for beer. You can find something you like.

And don't miss the onion rings if you think of yourself as an aficionado!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    31
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

A lovely informal cafe-style spot attached to an incredible butcher shop. We had the pork sandwich and the black & blue burger plus fries. All delicious - the pork sandwich was maybe the best I have ever had. Which means a lot coming from a Brit - we like our pork. Perfect with a glass of Sean Thackery Pinot.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GingeTrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unassuming appearance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Recommended by a family member. This place made 6 foodies & 2 toddlers happy, full, content.
Turns out everyone had something different-goat burger, lamb burger, chicken sandwich, filet, grilled cheese. The fries were also excellent. Big portions. Excellent quality. The only down side is that there wasn't room for dessert. Farm to table experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank oneidaelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
333 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Good burgers, took too long”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We popped into Marin Sun Farms for a quick burger. We were seated right away but there was limited seating since the restaurant is quite small and doubles as a butcher shop. The menu is also limited but the items all sounded delicious. We decided on a goat burger and bacon burger. That is when the prolong wait started from the time we ordered until the time the food arrived on our plates. It was also difficult to get the attention of our server since we were seated in a corner and there was only one server available. The goat burger was pretty good but the bacon burger was just average. Not worth that long of a wait. However, we did buy frozen bratwursts for dinner the next night and those were wonderfully meaty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
642 reviews
453 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I went on a day trip to Point Reyes and decided to stop here for lunch, the burger was out of this world. I had the goat burger, which had goat cheese, mushrooms, and onions I think and it was one of the best burgers I have ever had. I sat outside which was nice on a warm day. I wanted to purchase somethings from the butchers area but found the prices to be on the high side. A dozen eggs for 8 dollars?? The restaurant food and drinks were reasonably priced so I left very happy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyDot24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marin Sun Farms also viewed

Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 
Inverness, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 

Been to Marin Sun Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing