We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of my favorite American Cheese producers”
Review of Cowgirl Creamery

Cowgirl Creamery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of my favorite American Cheese producers”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

worth a visit while in Point Reyes, Cow Girl Creamery makes some award winning cheeses; this was their first facility, and now makes the acclaimed Red Hawk. They sell some cheeses here that they do not otherwise distribute. Great stuff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nuncpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    85
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
566 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Best Cheese in California”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was first introduced to Cow Girl Creamery cheese while working in Restaurants in Atlanta back in 2006, and fell in love with them. I knew while visiting California, I had to stop by. While in San Francisco at the Embarcadero Farmers Market building, I ran into a Cow girl Creamery shop which was a double bonus, so I bought some cheese, to include my favorite from them, mount Tam, a nice creamy Brie that I could live off of. I decided to wait until I left San Francisco, driving up to Point Reyes to enjoy the cheese. I ate part of it while at the lookout point on the summit of mount Tam, which added to the flare of enjoyment. When I reached Point Reyes, the tours for the creamery were booked, so I will go again in the future when I return to California. In the meantime, I will continue to enjoy Cow Girl Creamery cheese.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great locally made cheese”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a wonderful local dairy and the cheeses are very sophisticated and reasonably priced. We have been here several times over the last few years and despite the fact the business appears to have grown considerably (you can order easily online) the quality and the service has remained very high. They also have irresistible, freshly baked French baguettes and a cafe. The dairy is located in a small building off the main drag of Point Reyes Station. Anyone in town can direct you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vincent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Must stop for cheeses”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

An excellent fromagerie, with cheeses from the whole N. California region and beyond. About 10 years ago, Neal's Yard Dairy in London even sent one of their workers over to learn about high-end California cheesemaking. Humboldt Blue my favorite. . .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“tasty stop”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

You can observe them making cheese as you dine. A causal welcoming atmosphere with tasty selections.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FLGrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowgirl Creamery also viewed

Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Inverness, Marin County
 

Been to Cowgirl Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing