We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and Pleasure in Point Reyes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Point Reyes Schoolhouse Compound

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Reyes Station
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point Reyes Schoolhouse Compound
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfort and Pleasure in Point Reyes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

I have organized an annual event for several years at the Old Point Reyes Schoolhouse for friends and family to enjoy a weekend away (but not so far away!). The close proximity to the Greater Bay Area is the first positive aspect of this lovely property. Its closeness to Point Reyes Station means you can abandon the car for the weekend and walk into town for an enjoyable day and/or evening. The Point Reyes area is quite beautiful and the region offers a variety of getaway activities such as kayaking, hiking, beachcombing, dining (oysters!), shopping and enjoying the Saturday farmer's market in the Station. The property has a diverse set of accommodations - all of which are comfortable, charming and well-maintained. Here you will find a labyrinth of private patios, beautiful gardens and walkways. If you are looking for room service and valet, this is not your place. The compound is somewhere that you can enjoy and relax on your own without any outside disturbances. Our weekends generally include enjoyable dinner parties, day trips around the peninsula, bocce ball tournaments and oyster barbeques. Karen Gray (the proprietress), her family, and staff are welcoming and accommodating in all ways. It is such a pleasure to return to the Old Point Reyes Schoolhouse for repeat events and it's something our group looks forward to each year. I would highly recommend this property for parties large and small for an easy, comfortable stay in one of California's most beautiful locales.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank InuitPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    8
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Charming, Bucolic, Peaceful. We thoroughly enjoyed Gray's Retreat at the Old Point Reyes Schoolhouse. Our stay was all too brief, considering the accomodations at our disposal and beauty surrounding us. John McPhee books, children's toys, spacious rooms, equipped kitchen, outdoor fireplace, picket fence, all in a quiet setting just a short walk from the town. Perfect for us. Thanks for the hospitality and making sure we had arrived safely.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhnharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

The Schoolhouse Compound is a unique and lovely spot for a stay. Easy access to my favorite things in life: the beauty of West Marin, a quick walk to downtown coffee at Bovine Bakery, a quaint bookstore, and the most excellent cheese at the Cowgirl Creamery.

The Innkeeper provided a pack-n-play, baby jogger, and high chair for our little one, as well as access to a bocce ball court and bbq patio. Just so relaxing. A full beautiful rainbow graced our stay.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank maheen33007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

The Point Reyes Schoolhouse Compound consists of several distinct units (see their website for details). We stayed at Jasmine Cottage when we only had one child, then when our second son arrived we moved up to Gray's Retreat. We've been returning every year since, and the boys are now both teenagers.
The location is perfect (off the highway, beautiful views in all directions, walking distance to downtown Point Reyes Station), the rooms are very pleasant, the proprietor is very friendly. Gray's Retreat has a master bedroom, two beds for the boys in the living room, and a full kitchen and dining area.
Our only gripe: each year there seem to be one or two small details wrong, either a housekeeping mistake, or an important kitchen item missing. This year we found several issues, we pointed them out to the owner, she was very apologetic and remedied the situation.
So if you are looking for a pleasant place to stay and your trip won't be ruined by glitches like these, you are likely to really enjoy Gray's Retreat and the other units in the Schoolhouse Compound.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldGuyfromBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
13.2 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
21.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
14.4 mi away
Inn Marin
Inn Marin
#3 of 6 in Novato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
3.6 mi away
Point Reyes Hostel
Point Reyes Hostel
#1 of 2 in Point Reyes Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Reyes Schoolhouse Compound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Reyes Schoolhouse Compound

Property: Point Reyes Schoolhouse Compound
Address: #11559 Scenic Coast Highway #1, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After ten years of hard work at night and on weekends, with not much more than our carpentry skills and determination, we had a home. We raised children, chickens, vegetables, fruit trees and honey bees here, making blackberry jam every summer. We built the wood-fired oven in the garden, a pond, Jasmine Cottage, Gray's Retreat and the Barn Loft. I was a professional artist for many years, then commuted from the Schoolhouse to U.C. Berkeley to become a landscape architect. Twenty-five years ago I converted the carriage house to Jasmine Cottage. It was the very first cottage open to visitors as a Point Reyes vacation rental. Point Reyes area lodging at the time was just a few traditional bed and breakfasts in Inverness with a couple small motels on that side of Tomales Bay. Inverness was the place for holidays then; Point Reyes was a working cow town. Nobody thought visitors would want to stay in the little town of Pt. Reyes. Because I offered a secluded garden cottage with an invitation to bring the children and the family dog, Jasmine Cottage was instantly popular as a romantic get-away and a family retreat. Sixteen years ago I designed and built the barn that houses Gray's Retreat and the Barn Loft, intended as places for our extended family to visit and as part-time vacation rentals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing