We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here to escape the heat!”

Point Reyes Hiking Trails
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Californie
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go here to escape the heat!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We drove from the Central Valley to Point Reyes to hike for a day in order to escape the heat inland. We were not disappointed. The area is so huge that even though the parking lot seemed very full, we never felt crowded on the trail. We hiked the 13.1 mile loop and were not disappointed. It was a wonderful day hike which we topped off with dinner in Point Reyes Station before the drive home.
We give this place 5 stars even though we could have used a few more benches placed strategically along the trail. No big deal, next time we'll just bring a little mat to sit on for lunch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fonduelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    22
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Went yesterday for a 10 mile moderate hike in Point Reyes. Wild flowers in full bloom, elk grazing, hundreds of caterpillars on the trail, ocean views, whales in the Pacific Ocean- what an amazing experience! Definitely one of the best Bay Area hiking trails!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shobha t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An endless array of beautiful hikes”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Point Reyes is made for hikers. There are easy, relatively flat hikes, mountain hikes and shore hikes. All are beautiful and without many other hikers

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank psychjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bear Valley to Sky Trail to Mt. Wittenberg Trail back to Bear Valley”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Gorgeous, perfect hike. All of the things you hope for.....ups, downs, sun, shade, views, trees, well-maintained trail, not too many people if you time your visit well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“peaceful...serene”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

miles of trails to explore. Hills all around you, Redwoods, streams. high sensory as one can hear the birds, smell the ocean and the trees.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusanWPetaluma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Reyes Hiking Trails also viewed

Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 

Been to Point Reyes Hiking Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing