We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time totally disappointing”
Review of Osteria Stellina

Osteria Stellina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Third
Description: Located in the picturesque West Marin town of Point Reyes Station, Osteria Stellina offers a delicious, intimate, farm-to-table dining experience. Known for our strictly local and seasonal cuisine, we strive to showcase the bounty of West Marin on every plate. Our ingredients are sourced from the surrounding regions many farmers, ranchers, and fisherman; each dish reads like a sophisticated blue plate special, comprised of what's close and plentiful on a given day. The result is a creative, clean, farm fresh menu we like to call "Point Reyes Italian". Osteria Stellina's daily lunch and dinner menus include house made pastas and bread, organic salads and soups, pizzas, sustainable meats and seafood, an array of satisfying desserts, and a carefully edited and affordable wine list featuring local vineyards and Italian favorites. Local beer is on tap and additional beers are available by the bottle. The restaurant's gracious dining room is ideal for diners of all ages and any occasion.
FREMONT
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Second time totally disappointing”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Returned in Aug. after an exceptional meal in May but things were totally different. It started with a watered down brodo soup and continued with a disappointing beef entree with a very small portion accompanied by a veggie substitution without telling us and it was one we never would have ordered. Then the dessert cookie was nothing like the May one. It tasted more like the frozen ones sold by kids doing fun raisers. We had ordered a pizza with light cheese, also, and it came with thick cheese instead. We paid $75 for a meal and left unhappy. Service was the only good part of it. I wrote to the manager in Aug. about this and received no reply, so I guess they carry on based on all the good reviews. Maybe there was a substitute chef that day. Would like to try again but at that price, will pass.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANNMARIESFREMONT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    136
    53
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“West Marin Favorite”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

West Marin farm to table with an Italian flavor....what could be better! Their oyster pizza is a classic. Great service too!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Unusually kind and service oriented”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had unusual circumstances and arrived at the restaurant later than we planned, right at closing time. The staff went out of their way to serve us and make us feel very special. The food was excellent and the entire evening with be a special memory. The gourmet pizzas and desserts were wonderful. Kudos to all of them.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethelandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fresh, local, delicious, beautiful”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to be able to get a seat immediately on a Sunday at around 12:30 for lunch. We had the shaved brussel sprout salad and margherita-like pizza. The crust was perfectly charred on the bottom with a bit of a sourdough edge so mostly thin with that nice roll on the end. The toppings were simply perfect - fresh, local, delicious tomatoes, basil, cheese. The brussel sprout salad has just the right amount of pine nuts and a bright lemon vinaigrette which is near-perfection. They had some excellent red wine choices by the glass which is appreciated. The ambience is nice; a little plain but that is kind of the town too. The oversized loaves of rustic bread hanging are a nice touch. The bread is served shortly after seating and is delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Midwest2West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Local Food, Good Service”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The food here is grown locally and tastes fresh and flavorful. We had the broccolini, the beans and greens (cannellini heirloom beans) and a pesto pizza with heirloom tomatos, pumpkin seeds and delicata squash- really yummy. The pizza was $15 (10 inches) and the other dishes were $7 (I think) and $9. Maybe a little pricey, but worth it. I recommend getting there early, as this place tends to fill up. We arrived at 5:30; it opens at 5. There were about 3 tables full at that time. In sum, great taste delivered with good service made for a lovely evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Stellina also viewed

Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Inverness, Marin County
 
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Olema, Marin County
 

Been to Osteria Stellina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing