We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet simple enjoyment of nature near Point Reyes Station”
Review of Knob Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Reyes Station
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knob Hill
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet simple enjoyment of nature near Point Reyes Station”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Cozy, quiet, close to nature. Simple, thoughtful, comfortable rooms, lovely views to Inverness Ridge across ravine from cottage or master room, owls hooting at night, stars aplenty, low key, short trail downhill to town, privacy. Peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I loved Knob Hill, it's walking distance to town, basic amenities were provided and the "quiet" was perfect. The host was kind enough to provide lists of places to go and have Thanksgiving dinner, very helpful advice...
I did see the dog, who was very friendly. For the price charged it's more than one would expect considering Point Reyes is not an inexpensive place to go to.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SjABA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I've stayed at Knob Hill several times, and have been in all three of her rooms.
They are all different, but all cozy and simple, the way Point Reyes is.
It's friendly and casual, and if she is not there, Janet will leave instructions for you on the door. I personally like the cottage the best, having a real county feel to it.
Her cat and dog will probalbly appear, and Sophie, her dog, a beautiful wolf/husky mix of some sort, is very laid back and trained not to bother her guests(unless you offer to pet her, at which she happily rolls over on her back for you!)
It's kind of nice there is no breakfast, so you can plan your day as you want, early or late...and a short walk to town cures the munchies.
All in all, I recommend Knob Hill for a relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Suite has a lovely view, cottage is cozy and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We loved the cottage - it was cozy, private, sunny, and well appointed. Quite a bargain. Janet was more than helpful with directions, suggestions, even reservations. It was a short walk to the town, easy to get to the National Seashore.

Room Tip: The cottage is delightful, with its own private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LykinsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

After marathon work schedules and a four-day conference in San Francisco, my husband and I looked forward to a 4-night stay in Point Reyes where we could unwind and relax. Based on the features listed on its website, we selected Knob Hill's master suite as our vacation "home".

Upon arrival, we found a note on the front door directing us to the rear of the house where we could enter our suite. An old dog was in the front yard, but no sign of anyone else on the property was evident. The suite overlooked a large meadow, there was a deck with chairs, it was very quiet, which is what we were looking for. Inside the room it was a different story however. The room was large, but the living room, bedroom and bathroom were all essentially a single room. There was no bathroom privacy other than a folding screen to be placed next to the toilet. While described in the literature as "elegant" we found the sheets, pillows and other bedding, as well as bathroom linens to be old and threadbare. Only two thin towels were provided. The bed was a very hard mattress placed on top of a platform bed. A good night's sleep was impossible. The jacuzzi tub was in place of a shower, not in addition to a shower. There was a handheld shower in the tub, but using it was very awkward. Coming in for a hike and grabbing a quick shower before heading out to dinner was not possible. No hair dryer. The "kitchen" was actually a shelf in the closet, with a toaster-oven but no microwave, 2 small saucers, but no plates. While we never expected to cook there, just heating up restaurant leftovers was again, awkward. As advertised, there was wi-fi connection, but our cell phones couldn't pick up service. There was no landline or emergency number posted, in case of an emergency.
We had pre-paid for two of the four nights, but on the very first day we knew we would not get what we wanted in this location. Because we had reserved for four nights we agreed to cut the difference out of fairness to the proprietor and stay for three before moving on. During the three days we never saw another person on the property, nor did we meet the proprietor. We assumed she lived somewhere else, or was away at another job during the day. On the third day we went to the front door to see how to pay for that day and tell her we were not staying for a fourth, and the proprietor came to the door. She had been there all along. We told her what the problems were and she was either defensive or indifferent. Impossibly hard bed? It's only people who are used to memory foam beds that feel that way. No microwave? She discourages cooking in the room. No landline? All we had to do was ask. When we said we thought nobody was there, she said if the dog is in the yard she is there. We said we had no way of knowing that. Cell phone? If we had gone around the corner we would have gotten it. Her lack of presence of any kind? People like privacy. Well, yeah, that' true. But to not be greeted, asked if there is anything we need, leave a brochure in the room explaining about landline, cell phone coverage, really, any kind of contact at all, would have been very helpful.
Of course, we will not return to Knob Hill. And it's too bad, because with some upkeep, a change of attitude and basic information about procedures and the policy, this could have been just what we were looking for. But the basics of what any traveler looks for - a comfortable place to sleep and shower were not here. The view did not make up for this oversight.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sedona9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knobhill_11, Owner at Knob Hill, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
I am so sorry that the Master Suite was not what you had expected. If you had knocked on my front door (this was the one which had the note which directed you to the Suite), I would have given you a land line, hair dryer and anything else you needed. Or.... on hearing of your concerns, I would have of course refunded you your money.

Looking at the dates you were here, I know that I was home practically all of the time, and therefore available to answer any questions. However most of my clients (many of them repeats), come to my place knowing that they can enjoy the peace, beautiful surroundings, birds and wildlife, serene in the knowledge that they will not be disturbed.

If you are ever in California again, and would like to come back, (I think the Cottage would be more suitable for you), I would gladly offer you a free night.

Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

this is the first time i've ever stayed anywhere without an online reservation (does that say something about my generation?) we stayed in the cottage, which was a great value at $130/night, and after calling for availability, i mailed a check to janet to confirm our reservation. she promptly confirmed by mail, providing directions.

the place was easy to find and so close to town, but i wasn't clear on how to 'check in.' our timing ended up being great, as her son was outside and mentioned that we should head straight to the cottage - janet left a note for us and it was all ready. the place is no frills (no TV, tiny shower), but that's exactly what we were looking for - most of the time we were out hiking and kayaking the beautiful point reyes area. it's easy to get an early start in the cottage, because the sunlight steams in through the windows, waking you up in the morning. i do wish it was a bit less spider-y, but that comes with the charm of being out in a gorgeous field, i suppose. the place has charm with a wood stove, comfy sitting chairs and nice patio.

i'd highly recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet respite in point reyes - it was really a lovely stay and an excellent value!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maylingkuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, or
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

This is a wonderful place to unwind, especially if you've just spent time in the city. Beautiful scenery, very quiet, private. Not a lot of frou-frou, which is just as we like it. Excellent location from which to explore the National Seashore.

Room Tip: Reserve early, there are only 3 rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gertie_Gerten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
2.5 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
20.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,378 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
496 reviews
1.4 mi away
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
#5 of 15 in Point Reyes Station
19 reviews
3.5 mi away
Point Reyes Hostel
Point Reyes Hostel
#1 of 2 in Point Reyes Station
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knob Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knob Hill

Property: Knob Hill
Address: 40 Knob Hill, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing