We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A premier northern California outdoor destination.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Point Reyes Seashore National Park

Point Reyes Seashore National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$279.00*
and up
San Francisco 1-Hour Seaplane Tour with Shuttle Transport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The 100 square miles of this spectacular coast are home to over 400 species of birds.
Petaluma, California, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A premier northern California outdoor destination.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Woodlands, wildflower meadows, fern walls, elk herds, scores of bird species, bobcats and mountain lions on thousands of acres studded with great hiking trails, next to ocean, and all within an hour of San Francisco, this is Point Reyes National Seashore. I've been coming to this magical place since high school (back in the sixties). There are hikes for all levels. The Bear Valley Trail is four miles out to the ocean without much elevation change. The walk along Limantour Beach is exceptional, making it hard to believe that such a remote and wild place is so close to the city. The Sky Trail is more strenuous, but its not mountain climbing and gives great views of the whole park. You will not regret spending a day at this park.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    114
    17
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Redwoods, meadows, cliffs, and surf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I just completed a 11 mile walk here on a beautiful but busy Saturday afternoon. My loop took me up the Mt Wittenberg trail which was a gentle but constant rise to about 1000'. Then the Sky trail to the coast. Wow. Beautiful. It wasn't until I got to the very popular and crowded Bear Valley trail did I have to share the serenity with lots of people. There were many backpackers on the trail. I can imagine sleeping at the Coast campsite must be spectacular!

The drive up from San Francicso was on the beautiful and winding CA 1. The many bicyclists made this a long drive and a bit nerve wracking. The road is extremely narrow and there are no shoulders. Take your time and let the bikers use the road.

No fee at this park but the hours are supposed to diminish a bit at the visitors center until the government can fix its budget.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mooselookmeguntic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Whale Close to Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We walked along beautiful Limantour Beach and saw a whale no more than a hundred yards away, a tremendous sight. Later we saw an osprey carrying a fish and many wild flowers growing out of the sides of the cliffs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HOPEFULLY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Took a day trip to Point Reyes from Marin County with the girls, ages 5 and 7. We headed out early, and got to teh Cowgirl Creamery at 10AM for openeing. Tried some yummy cheese, and purchased a sample pack for picninc lunch. Then off to the seashore. We drove straight out to the lighthouse. Make this your first stop, and make it early. Parking is VERY limited. We arrived at 10:45 and got one of the few spots left. It's a but of a hike out to the point, but is very picturesque with it's sweeping trees and views. My 7yr old and I hiked down to teh actual lighhouse, 310 steps down. Not for the faint of heart! But, teh walk down is worth it. Great little museum, and great views.

On the way out, we stopped at Drake's Beach for our picnic lunch. Lot's of parking here, a restaurant open in summer, and one picnic table.

The drive out is pretty bumpy, very rough/damaged paved road. So plan on driving slowly for a bumpy ride! Certain months you can't drive out, and have to pay for bus transportation, make sure to visit the website.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ORmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views near the lighthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Be sure to drive all the way to the lighthouse (30-40min from Point Reyes station, or 2hrs from San Francisco). The views are absolutely spectacular.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank steigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Reyes Seashore National Park also viewed

Point Reyes Station, Marin County
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 
Point Reyes Station, Marin County
 

Been to Point Reyes Seashore National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing