We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California spirit (Erlantz and Kristin/spain and SF)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coast Guard House Historic Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Point Arena B&B and Inns
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“California spirit (Erlantz and Kristin/spain and SF)”
Reviewed March 20, 2007

we were looking for a nice and quiet place to spend some days and we found this B&B on the net, it looks so nice and peacefull, and when we arrived there ... it was too much better than we thougth.
the rooms are nice, it´s a really clean place, the breakfast is so good (thanks Mia), the town is little but with really nice people, and the innkeepers of the Coast Guard House Inn are really nice and they help us with everythig; reservations in restaurants, sugestions about places to see there arround and much more. They make feel us like at home.
we recomend this place to everyone that want to see the real spirit of california.

  • Liked — the place
  • Disliked — not so much nigth live in the town
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
27 Thank erlantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    20
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2007

We love B&B's and stay in one whenever we can. Part of the ambiance is to visit with other guests and talk to the owners about their home. Sadly that didn't happen here. We maybe saw the owner three times. The room itself was clean and tidy - no frills and no extras - "Japanese-style" tub could have been cleaner.
Breakfast was not served until 9:30 a.m. although coffee was made available at 8 so we grabbed coffee and walked to the beach which is close by. The "beach" is under a fishing pier and near a commercial building rather far from town.
It was quiet aside from another guest checking in on the phone right outside our room - no locks on the doors except from the inside so anything in the room is open if you go out. Evidently the other guests who stay in cottages don't "mix" with those in the main building as we saw no one else and when asking the owner we were made to feel as if we were prying. It was all rather odd - a "No Vacancy" sign was hung out and the owner said it was because they didn't want the "type of people" who just drove up. The breakfast was good but by the time we finished and wanted to say thank you and goodbye the owner was no where to be found. When we booked it we mentioned it was our anniversary and we kind of expected a warmer welcome. At any rate, we'll try something else next time.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Malcolmsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2006

Originally we had planned a fall weekend to the Great Lakes region and a night in a historic lighthouse this was a last minute call and we were lucky to get a room !! We are from the Los Angeles area and have never ventured this far up the coast. What a GEM! Our room had a window with a view out to the ocean and the harbor, a sunken japanese tub and a fireplace!!

We were lucky to enjoy a glass of wine with the owner and another couple in front of the fireplace. It turned out to be a quiet evening. The room was comfortable, not luxurious but bear in mind this is a historic property and we were pleased that the owners have taken great pride in keeping it in that era. Also linens and wall decor were kept to a bare minimum which again was appreciated. My husband and I get tired of bed and breakfasts that are smothered in victorian wall papers and pink lacy things. The bed was a tad on the soft side but the peace and quiet of the place put me to sleep quickly. We both felt warm and secure!

Breakfast is served about 9:30 am which allows sleeping in or a walk. Mia served fresh fruit, fresh blueberry muffins and a potato like casserole. All was very nicely presented and really good but my husband and I must have worked up an appetite because we ate it all and still wanted a little more.

No TV'S or in room phones, a wonderful treasure on a quiet part of the California coast. The owners, Kevin and Mia were very helpful in suggesting routes in and around the area. They also steered us to a wonderful restaurant down the coast a bit that was well worth the stop. We very much enjoyed our conversations and in fact I felt bad for leaving and not staying another night.

My husband and I are already talking about when we will go back to the Coast Guard Historic House Inn. Thank you Kevin and Mia for a wonderful stay at your special Inn. !!

  • Liked — Location and the owners!
  • Disliked — The bed.
  • Tips/Secrets — Go for relaxing, not clock watching. Talk to the owners they are wonderful and full of information!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
27 Thank BackRoadsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2006

My husband I just returned from a California coastal trip. We were looking forward to the Coast Guard House for all of the historic, atmospheric, and romantic details that other reviews led us to believe. If isolated, grotty and just plain weird is your idea of whimsy then the Coast Guard House will be a treat! The rules, regulations and strangeness met us at the door when we were confronted with the "instructions" on how to check in. The owner then met us and went over rules again, just in case the posted policies were not adequate. There are no locks on any of the doors so be advised that if you leave the building your room is basically wide open. We stayed just after the Sept. long weekend so we were one of three rooms occupied--the place was not busy. Too bad that the owners did not have time to clean the bathroom (extreme bathtub scum) before we arrived or fix the shower head -- non-functioning. We were also privy to the owner's sidebar on how nice it was that "all manner of humanity" had now left the area, with the end of the long weekend. Tourists can be such a bother. Yeah, the CGH is a great old building but it is in the midst of a very isolated area -- with very little to do or see unless you count the local drag racing from the harbour bar, past the building, in the middle of the night. For comic relief you may enjoy perusing the copious volumes of past guests, waxing poetic over the whimsical sights and sounds of Point Arena. I'm not sure how long they had been subject to house arrest prior to their stay at the Coast Guard House.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sarahej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the boathouse last month for our suprise anniversary weekend. It was fabulous. I had contacted Mia beforehand to set it up and my wife was blown away by the weekend. The delivered breakfast each morning was fantastic and far better than what we've eaten at the multiple other B&Bs. We ended up eating it out on the patio overlooking the ocean - the view was stunning.

The whirlpool in the the room was very nice as well. I heartily recommend you visting the Coast Guard Inn!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
38 Thank sanjiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

We stayed here recently in the Cypress Cottage. The price ($250 per night) was a pretty good deal for a whole cottage separate from the house that can sleep 3 people. The place was cute, with a downstairs area with a fireplace and couch, bathroom, kitchen, and amazing tub that can easily fit two people. There's a switch you can turn on right by the tub to warm up the whole area. You go up the stairs and on your left is a room with a captain bed (very comfy) and a few chairs. On the other side is the single person bed. Really cute thing to notice, if this is still here when you go, is that there is a nest right by the front door with baby birds. It was cute to watch. We also had a frog enter the house somehow, which was cute, and we let it out. The dog on the property will follow you down on the pier and back(-: And there's a kitty too.

As far as breakfast, I think we've been spoiled in the past. It was straightforward both days, with an egg dish, a bowl of fruit, and freshly made muffins. I loved the muffins! The breakfast is served at 9:30.

As far as amenities, you will find a hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, a fridge, and whatnot...but really not too many extras like robes you might find at the fancier bed and breakfasts. The lack of extras is the only negative thing I have to say about this place. Otherwise, it's a great price for what you get!!

On a side note, we went to St. Orres for dinner. It was pretty good, but note that the menu has strange things on it like rabbit, quail, venison...so if you're not into that, don't go!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank zeppgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2006

We were looking last minute for a place to stay on the 1st of July (Point Arena celebrates with fireworks on a different day than the 4th so they can get more "bang for the buck" (literally). Most places were full, and while the Coast Guard House (CGH) normally has a 2-night minimum policy, the day before (after 5:00pm) they let us book just a single night. The hotel was a bit more expensive than some of the others in the area, but it turned out to be well worth it for several reasons.

The building is set on a slope overlooking a little cove with a pier. It is high enough up on the hill that you can see quite some distance out on the water, though the sides of the cove prevent it from being a 180-degree panorama.

The day we were there it was the annual independence day celebration, and there was a "block party" down at the sea-side (a stones throw from the CGH) which consisted of live music, booths with food, and several very interesting performances and displays. The music was never unpleasantly loud, and it was done by about 11:30pm, so we had no trouble sleeping that night. We heard that this is pretty much the only night of the year there is so much excitement at the waterfront and the other 364 days it is a pretty sleepy site (which we could believe).

The rooms are very tidy and clean, and they decorations were quaint though very fresh an clean. It wasn't by any means overly frilly (there was only a very small amount of lace in the room). The rooms had natural gas powered radiant heaters in the corners that made a very pleasant toastiness to counteract the chilly night air.

The inkeeper told us the night before that breakfast would be at 9:30, and that coffee and tea would be available somewhat before that. My reaction was that it is a little late for breakfast, but we didn't mind because we had no plans to get out and about before 10:00am. The breakfast itself was very nice and plentiful, served on a very nice mission style dining table. We had bowls of fresh fruit and berries, spiced apple and nut muffins, and quiche, and some other little bits. The food was very tasty and well prepared, but not in my personal-top-10 breakfasts-of-all-time.

I think in the end we paid $205 for a suite with two rooms (including breakfafst for three adults) and a very large bathroom, and $155 for an upstairs room with a private bathroom with two adult breakfasts. It was definitely more than we had intended to pay on this trip (we were visiting family), but having seen what our alternative was, I'm glad I spent the extra money.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen98125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
22.0 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
769 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
293 reviews
10.2 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
235 reviews
23.0 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
618 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Guard House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Guard House Historic Inn

Property: Coast Guard House Historic Inn
Address: 695 Arena Cove, Point Arena, CA 95468
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Point Arena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Guard House Historic Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coast Guard House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing