We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coast Guard House Historic Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Point Arena B&B and Inns
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful time!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband and I were on a 30 Anniversary trip to Northern Cali. This was our 1st of 3 places we were visiting. This was by far our favorite and was an outstanding Inn. It was extremely clean, simply furnished with no TVs, just a lot of peace, quiet, tranquility and a friendly atmosphere. The inn keepers were very accommodating to our needs. The breakfasts were really delicious. We even got the recipe for the buttermilk oatmeal pancakes that we now make for our family. We have nothing but accolades for this B&B and can't wait to return. We stayed in The Surfmen Cove room. It had a very comfortable king bed, gas fireplace, large bathroom, fresh flowers and the room has beautiful views of the ocean and fishing pier. We live on the east coast and all we can talk about is when can we go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gipperland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    20
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I hiked the coastal trail from the CGHI to the lighthouse. In a word - SPECTACULAR!! We've traveled to many parts of the world, and we ourselves live on the bluffs of Solana Beach (San Diego), but this coastal hike is over 12 miles of uninterrupted, unspoiled, undeveloped land/oceanscape. Mia is a great host. She provided a hearty breakfast for us for our days hike and has good knowledge of the area. She, herself, is well-traveled so it's fun to exchange our own varied and many travels with her. We will likely return here again... and life is short that for us to return to destination is BIG!! Despite what your smart phone says, the drive up the coast from Oakland or SF airport is closer to 4 hours and not 3. The roads are in very good condition and they are banked. That said, it's very scenic - so long as you do it during daylight hours.

Room Tip: The flag room has wonderful views of the ocean and wharf; and when the fog rolls in it is quite magi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolanaBeach2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Kevin and Mia helped us out in many ways.. they were flexible about our re-scheduling a visit (we did give them lots of notice!) and they made us two restaurant reservations. They were very good hosts... suggestions about things to do, history of the area, great full-on breakfasts and they've done a wonderful renovation job of the inn. There are thoughtful little touches everywhere: an antique or two, a raised ceiling and working gas fireplace in our room, a woodstove fire and coffee before breakfast in the common room. We left our window open and could hear the ocean-- it was pretty fierce! but so calming. Haven't slept so well or felt so taken care of in a long time. My ATT service was mostly on, and our internet worked just fine in the room. We had dinner in the Pier Chowder House & Tap Room (a short walk away) where the locals go... great wines and beers... good pub food. Relaxing. We drove to Mendocino one of the days along Route 1... gorgeous.

Room Tip: We were in the second-floor Surfmen's Cove... ask for it. Ocean views, high ceilings, comfy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is nothing like any other inn we have stayed at.

The property is historic -- age is not the thing that makes it interesting (we have stayed in much older inns), but its former life as a Coast Guard life saving station was certainly unique and I got a kick out of that.

We booked the Cypress Cottage on the basis of other reviews and the property's web site. While I loved the main building (and some of the unoccupied rooms that I snuck a look into), I can't say I was as taken with the cottage as I expected. The bedroom is charming -- you feel like you're in a storybook cottage bedroom, tucked up into the rafters. The location is terrific -- we cracked the window open at night (despite the chill outside) and fell asleep to the sound of the surf nearby. Breakfast was delivered to our cottage each morning and the food was delicious -- homemade muffins, fresh fruit, something yummy for a main course each day.

One very nice touch that I loved was the handmade lavender soap they provided. I've never seen this at another inn and I really enjoyed it -- so much that I nearly made off with a bar or two for home. (But I didn't!)

However -- and I'm sorry to have to say this -- the cottage was described as luxurious and it was just not a bit luxurious. It is carpeted in 70's shag carpet, furnished with comfy but not elegant chairs, sofa, etc., has a funky (although very functional) full bath. There is a gas fireplace next to a 2-person hot tub, but again while we enjoyed the functionality, you could never describe the tub or its setting as luxurious.

The one thing that was luxurious (besides the privacy) was the price. This was not small compared to other places in the general area.

If I came back to the area I would certainly consider staying here again, but probably in a less expensive room that offered more for the money.

Room Tip: The Flag Room is adorable -- would probably go for that next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NM_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Can't say enough about this place. Location, service, value, gourmet breakfast, history... you name it it is here. Their glutton free options were wonderful. The rooms are quaint and well done. Internet is an issue and AT&T is no where to be found. Just unplug and relax a couple days - it'll do you some good. Walk down to the pier and watch them launch the boats from a hoist - never seen that before. We used this as our jump off place to go hiking all over the place. Great meals close by as well. Will differently be back.

Room Tip: We were in the Cypress cottage - loved it. If you have problems getting up and down stairs I recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for 6 fantastic nights during September and will certainly stay again. We had a whole Cottage to ourselves, which was great. The bed was great, the service fab and the breakfasts some of the best we've ever had. Kevin and Mia helped to make our stay very special - suggesting restaurants on day 1 and even lending us a torch! We were visiting friends who lived in the area, but even if we weren't this is a great base to explore the coast or Anderson valley wine!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THH434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in early October in the Boathouse cottage. It is a lovely one bedroom cottage with an extra room with a table, chair, wood stove and large tub. Outside, there is a small terrace with a table and two chairs. You have a lovely view of the ocean and pier from the windows. The queen bed was very comfy. The decor is simple and charming. If you are looking for a rustic, quiet place with breathtaking scenery, then this is the place! The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and filling.

The hosts Kevin and Mia were friendly and helpful. We toured the area nearby including Manchester Beach and the Point Arena lighthouse. Mendocino is nice drive up the coast. You can also drive to the Anderson Valley wine area or even Sonoma if you don't mind the windy mountain roads. Overall, a great location and a fabulous B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
22.0 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
10.2 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#1 of 7 in Gualala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
23.0 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Guard House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Guard House Historic Inn

Property: Coast Guard House Historic Inn
Address: 695 Arena Cove, Point Arena, CA 95468
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Point Arena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Guard House Historic Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coast Guard House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing