We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coast Guard House Historic Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Point Arena B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for 6 fantastic nights during September and will certainly stay again. We had a whole Cottage to ourselves, which was great. The bed was great, the service fab and the breakfasts some of the best we've ever had. Kevin and Mia helped to make our stay very special - suggesting restaurants on day 1 and even lending us a torch! We were visiting friends who lived in the area, but even if we weren't this is a great base to explore the coast or Anderson valley wine!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THH434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    20
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in early October in the Boathouse cottage. It is a lovely one bedroom cottage with an extra room with a table, chair, wood stove and large tub. Outside, there is a small terrace with a table and two chairs. You have a lovely view of the ocean and pier from the windows. The queen bed was very comfy. The decor is simple and charming. If you are looking for a rustic, quiet place with breathtaking scenery, then this is the place! The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and filling.

The hosts Kevin and Mia were friendly and helpful. We toured the area nearby including Manchester Beach and the Point Arena lighthouse. Mendocino is nice drive up the coast. You can also drive to the Anderson Valley wine area or even Sonoma if you don't mind the windy mountain roads. Overall, a great location and a fabulous B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our second visit to the Coast Guard House Historic Inn. We first visited 15 years ago, and we enjoyed it then. I had always wanted to return, and we were finally able to for an anniversary weekend. The house has a wonderful feel, and quite a history in the Point Arena area. I found a photograph in the Pt. Arena lighthouse museum that clearly shows the Coast Guard house in 1909. The house is virtually identical today (except for the tasteful addition of some decking and gardens and one small room that serves as the delightful seating area for the Flag room which was added sometime in the past 100 years), and obviously well maintained and cared for. Mia and Kevin are warm and friendly hosts with lots of good information about the Point Arena area. The short walk to the Chowder Taproom is worth it just for the amazing Bloody Marys made with wine, but the calamari and the view was great too! Breakfasts are hearty and delicious, as is the coffee. Very peaceful and a true retreat but close to the attractions of the northern California coast.

Room Tip: The Boathouse is great for privacy and views, and the Flag room is special because it is so cozy. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our third and last over night stop on our drive from Portland, OR to San Francisco. Our son (17) was happy to have his own room just sharing the bathroom. We were well adviced to just pop down to the harbor restaurant (2 min walk), great meal with fresh crab! Breakfast (including a hot dish) was equally good and served in a beautiful setting. It came with lots of personal guidance on what to do in and around PointArena. Wish we could have stayed another day!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teenage_family_of_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend to celebrate our 3rd anniversary. We stayed in the Boathouse cottage and had a wonderful view of the cove from our room and patio.
It was very quiet here, hardly saw or heard the other guests (or the inn keepers for that matter). My husband tends to be rather boisterous, and the quietness only magnified it.
Everyone was very friendly, even the local fisher folk at the cove! Kevin and Mia were both very nice and accommodating (especially with our last minute schedule changes we had to make), however you don't really see them. Make sure if have any questions or concerns, you either address them over email before your stay (Kevin is very helpful and quick to respond), or during check in or when breakfast is delivered.
Breakfast is delicious! The down side is it doesn't come until 9, as early morning people it was rough to wait so long for breakfast, but coffee from the local coffee shop is good. Our first morning we had a spinach and cheese fritata, with homemade banana nut muffins, and a bowl of fresh fruit. The second day we had delicious oatmeal pancakes, yogurt and granola, and fruit. So good!
There were a few bugs in our room, but when you have windows with no screens, that is to be expected. The hot tub is great!
Cell reception is spotty, but they have free wifi available.
We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svigil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This property was a pleasant surprise after finding it on the internet and making a last minute reservation online. Our room, Flag, was very nice and quite comfortable although there's no shower - only a hand held shower in an old fashioned tub which was a bit awkward.

Full breakfast is served - at 9am so you have to plan your morning around that - and it was delicious!

There's a nice lobby with comfortable chairs and a fireplace but, on a chilly evening and morning, the innkeepers did not have a fire going. Maybe we were expected to start it ourselves but it was not obvious how to accomplish that.

My only other complaint is that the wifi signal is very weak and did not reach our room. We had to go into the lobby to get internet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fosmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood, florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our stay at Coast Guard House precedes this posting by a few years, however, a photo trip down memory lane reminded me of the relaxing visit we had, and that a rave review was necessary to thank Mia & Kevin for the wonderful accommodations and delicious breakfasts we experienced. We were lucky enough to stay in the Cypress Cottage with its warm fireplace, jacuzzi tub and the sleeping "quarters" overlooking the wharf and ocean. From the beautiful sunsets to the rolling fog creeping into the night, everything was magical. We especially enjoyed the delicious breakfasts Mia lovingly prepared every morning. Eating in the library or out on our little porch was a perfect start to each morning, and the best breakfasts we can remember in our travels. Thank you Mia and Kevin, we'll be back one of these days, we promise! Steve & Josias, Hollywood, Florida

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extraclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Arena
22.0 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
769 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
293 reviews
10.2 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
235 reviews
23.0 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
618 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Guard House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Guard House Historic Inn

Property: Coast Guard House Historic Inn
Address: 695 Arena Cove, Point Arena, CA 95468
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Point Arena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Point Arena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Guard House Historic Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coast Guard House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing